The 2010 Auto & General Super 14 squad reassembled on Monday, 2 November 2009. After a positive and encouraging address from GLRU President, Kevin de Klerk and newly appointed Director of Rugby, Dick Muir, the team began their first gym session.

The squad selected for the 2010 Vodacom Super 14 is as follows:

Forwards:

JC Janse van Rensburg(Prop)

Kevin Buys(Prop)

Wayne Swart(Prop)

Lawrence Sephaka(Prop)

Ross Geldenhuys(Prop)

Charl de Plessis(TBC)

Hans van Dyk(Hooker)

Derek Harwood(Hooker)

Nico Luus(Lock)

Wouter Moore(Lock)

Franco van der Merwe(Lock/Flank)

Jannes Labuschagne(Lock)

Jacques Lombaard(Lock)

Jeffrey Taljaard(TBC)

Willem Alberts(Loose forward)

Cobus Grobbelaar(Loose foward)

Jonathan Mokuena(Loose forward)

Derick Minnie(Loose forward)

Johan van Deventer(Loose forward)

Robert Kruger(Loose forward)

Danie Crous(Loose forward)

Thuliphatu Marole(Loose Forward)

Warren Whiteley(Loose Forward)

Justin Wheeler(Loose forward)

Stephan Kruger(Loose forward)

Mina Nassif(Loose Forward0

Backs:

Alex Kock(Scrumhalf)

Chris Jonck(Scrumhalf)

Herkie Kruger(Flyhalf)

Ruan Boshoff(Flyhalf)

Divan Kotze(Flyhalf)

Jody Rose(Flyhalf)

Allistair Siegelaar(Wing)

Dusty Noble(Wing)

Michael Killian(Wing)

Henno Mentz(Wing)

Johan Jackson(Wing)

Wigan Pekeur(Centre)

Jannie Boshoff(Centre)

Justin St Jerry(Centre)

Pieter Engelbrecht(Centre)

Alwyn Hollenbach(Centre)

Doppies la Grange(Centre)

Rouan Cloete(Utility back)

Shandre Frolick(Utility back)

Warren van Rooyen(Wing)

Walter Venter(Centre)

Marius Delport(Utility back)

Deon van Rensburg(Centre)

Burton Francis(Flyhalf)

Three players from the Leopards, and two from the Pumas will also be joining the squad, but they will only arrive on Monday, 16 November 2009, due to a two week break after their last match. 

The players joining the Auto & General Super 14 Lions are:

Leopards:

Draad Luide

Ryno Landman

Thabo Mamojela

Pumas:

Marius Coetzer

Hannes Franklin

The two Lions Springbok players who are currently with the Boks, Earl Rose and Heinke van der Merwe, will join the squad in December.

The players’ currently injured/in rehabilitation will join the squad as soon as they are declared fit and ready.

Louis Ludik(Fullback) – 3 months

Jano Vermaak(Scrumhalf) – 2/3 months

Earl Lewis(Fullback) – Rehabilitation for 2/3 weeks

Gert Muller(Prop) – Rehabilitation for 6/8 weeks

Tonderai Chavhanga(Wing) – Rehabilitation for 3/4 weeks

Johan Snyman(Lock) – 3/4 months

Whilst Dick Muir, Director of Rugby, is overseas with the Springbok team, Johan Ackermann, Hans Coetzee and Dr. Gerhard Jordaan will act as care taker coaches.

19 Responses to 2010 Lions Super 14 squad

I have not counted the numbers, but it is a large squad.

1 – dWeePer

It is a large squad for sure.

See Alberts and Ludik still there so not sure if they are still coming to the Sharks. For now it seems they are with the Lions.

Gym work already. Hardly any rest for these rugby players.

Lekker diepte hier manne.

Is dit kwaliteit diepte? Die grootste probleem van die Leeus in die verlede was kondisionering, en die tekens is reeds daar dat dit verbeter het. Die ander probleem was swak bestuur, soos gesien met spelerskontrakte.

Ek weet hoekom die Lions moeite doen, hulle gaan in die eerste game van die S14 ons op ons moer gee en dan heel bo eindig. Gelukkig gaan die Kings by WP oorvat in 2011.

#3 Ed, I think you can look forward to a better S 14 season, the way the Lions played towards the end of the Currie Cup was very encouraging, and a different team.

Unlike my WP where we expect so much and they continue to disappoint in the S 14.

Ed, Eddie, Edward – Howzit?
    How is wetalkrugby.com going?
    Were you nice to the Bulls this weekend?

Hi Carol,

How are you ?

Shouldn’t you be milking the cows or ploughing the fields

Hello Manly and Carol. Great to see you here.

I am always nice to everyone Carol. Didn’t watch the game though. hehe

Carol. Wetalkrugby is going great thank you. nice way to meet Lions supporters.

Hey Ed, nice to see Jannes back, how old is he now, I still beleive you need a better flyhalf, what do you think of Francis coming to you guys ?

Manlybok, I am glad that Francis is coming. I think he has a lot of potential. I wouldn’t mind seeing Ruan Boshoff getting more game time. Good talent for the future.
    I am not sure on Janus age. He is still a good experienced player to have in the team.

Hehe, funny, I’m on a train going south of Sydney to Kiama, to collect my mother and her car and drive her back to Sydney, and I just went through a town called Loftus, I got the urge to shout Prooooooooovince out the window.

Bwahahaha, that is funny. Kiama is one off the nicest little old towns I have ever seen. I had great fish and chips there on the beach.

Cheers Manlybok. Enjoy your trip. I am going home now.

Come join my pool in SuperBru England in SA Tour, the ultimate England in SA Tour prediction game! It’s easy – just go to the website and enter the pool code nameteal to join my pool, Vul ENG in SA Cricket.

Pool code: nameteal
    Pool name: Vul ENG in SA Cricket

Is Charl Du Plessis nie die kondisionerings coach nie?…

Check the Cheetah super 14 team. Jacgues Lombard is there as well.

dWeePer, the Lombaard deal only came through monday late.

So, as of tuesday he is a Lions, already been training with the guys. Cheetahs have him there ’cause they were under the impression he’s still with Griquas.

Total 127 users including 0 member, 127 guests, 0 bot online