Lions (10) 44 / 29 (22) Hurricanes (Final Score)
The Emirates Lions and Hurricanes did battle in a Super Rugby 2017 semi-final at
Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg, South Africa at 14:30 SA Time (12:30 GMT, Sunday 00:30 NZ Time).
- Penalties – Elton Jantjies (2)
- Tries – Jacques van Rooyen (1), Ross Cronjé (1), Malcolm Marx (1), Harold Vorster (1), Elton Jantjies (1), Kwagga Smith (1)
- Conversions – Elton Jantjies (4)
- Penalties – Jordie Barrett (1)
- Tries – TJ Perenara (1), Wes Goosen (1), Ardie Savea (1), Vince Aso (1)
- Conversions – Jordie Barrett (2), Beauden Barrett (1)
Emirates Lions |
Hurricanes |
29 July 2017 at 14:30 SA Time | |
Expected weather: Pleasant day, with plenty of sunshine. High of 20°C and a low of 6°C
Assistant Referees: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa), Rasta Rasivhenge (South Africa)
TMO: Marius Jonker (South Africa)
@ cane:
great sport Caner. Ever the gentleman. If ever you visit these shores I don’t think you need bother budgeting for accomodation. Or your ‘dop’ for that matter. That’s local for ‘tipple’.
… and then there are only 2 sides left standing….
1 From New Zealand, 1 from South Africa!
Ant the Final is in South Africa, on Lions home soil!
No 1 on the overall Log vs No 2 on the overall Log!
GB…….think they’ll fill EP next saturday boet? 60,000?
153 @ Tassies:
I think they might!!
I am absolutely gobsmacked that the Lions scored 34 / 7 in the 2nd Half… after trailing by 12 at halftime!!
Next week Saturday will be the Final!!
7 days from now!
I don’t know what Ackermann said to his Lions at halftime… but they came out like men possessed!!
Folks… I am outa here… enjoy the rest of your weekend!
Cheers!!
Personally, I thought they would miss Warren Whiteley’s leadership(before the game) and at half time that was what it seemed. However, this is a Lions ‘team’. In the true sense of the word. Ackers has created a team. Not a bunch of stars. Huge tip of the cap to the coach and his staff.
The 2 finalists need a weeks break, but we cant handle it. What a game coming up.
Go Liooooons
ROAR my neighbors roar
cheers GB. Have a good one. It deserves a decent dop bud.
161 @ Tassies:
Well, I am in a PUB, so I’ll have at it!!
Naas makes the point I wanted to make earlier. NEUTRAL REFEREES. Jaco Peyper is a good ref. But, at this level, you really want neutral refs to eliminate any thought of local bias.
No need to be sorry Bully.
Best Team on the day won.
2nd half they (the Lions) were totally dominant.
They can go all way.
And for their long suffering fans……………………………………………all the best.
I remember with a great deal of respect some of their fans from Voldy……………………………….cab, lionman, katman, fraser, etc……… Best fans ever.
good stuff GB. Dopwn one for me mate. cheers. Now to cross to the cricket. Can we hope for a turnaround at The Oval? Would be nice.
Thanks for the lekker Rugby chat,
again refs are the guys with egg in their faces.
The two teams battled well and played a great game
“Gobsmacked”.
So am I.
But not in quite, the same way as you.
True. Bully…………………………….True.
@ cane:
miss those guys for sure. Good old days.
I don’t know that in this day and age, you need Neutral Ref’s.
You only need the best Ref’s.
And a Rule Book that doesn’t kill a game because of one error, by one individual.
An error made in a split second.
Well done to my boys. Great day at the Park. Win in CC and beating Cane’s boys.
@ cane:
Have to agree regarding the law book.
cane wrote:
So close to the end of the game what a gracious comment from you cane, good one you
Total 128 users including 0 member, 128 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,455,457 Page Impressions