Dan Carter

Dan Carter, World Rugby Player of the Year 2015

Gregor Paul selects his World XV for 2015 which features 6 All Blacks, 3 Australians and Argentinians, and 1 Fijian, Georgian and Scotsman — and nobody from South Africa, England, Ireland, Wales or France.

15 Ben Smith (New Zealand):

Ben from all accounts had an outrageously good season. He captained the Highlanders to the most unlikely Super Rugby title and then inspired the All Blacks to a World Cup victory. His aerial skills and footwork are unbelievable.

14 Adam Ashley-Cooper(Australia):

Ashley-Cooper is the Wallaby version of Smith. He’s a superb all-round footballer who continually does the right thing. Has pace, footwork, awareness and the ability to covert half-chances. Was deadly at the World Cup.

13 Mark Bennett (Scotland):

A rugged, tough ball runner with innate timing. Picked off the intercept try in the World Cup quarter-final that should have sunk Australia and contributed some big tackling and deft passing.

12 Ma’a Nonu (New Zealand):

Ended his All Black career in the best possible way. Most direct and destructive midfielder world rugby has known. And yet he’s more than bash and dash – throws a cracking long pass, has soft hands and a clever short kicking game.

11 Juan Imhoff (Argentina):

He found his best form at the World Cup and it was impressive. He’s got natural predatory instincts and the pace and power to make good on them. Scored a try against Ireland that was hugely under-appreciated – his timing, decision making and skill were all first class.

10 Dan Carter(New Zealand):

The old class returned once he had the confidence in his body. Vintage Carter. No one else could have snapped those critical goals, or kicked as accurately under pressure as he did. Ten years after he beat the Lions with his running game, he won a World Cup with his kicking game.

9 Aaron Smith (New Zealand):

Was electric for much of Super Rugby and while his passing and running were the headline acts, his kicking game developed into a world-class component of his armoury. Does anyone in the game have a better step?

8 Mamuka Gorgodze (Georgia):

This dude played only 45 minutes against the All Blacks at the World Cup and he was the official man of the match. He’s huge, agile, smashes people off the ball and, despite being the size of a house, motors around and keeps up with the ball.

7 Richie McCaw (New Zealand):

The old master played as well as ever and while some of his Aussie backrow mates won rave reviews, neither David Pocock nor Michael Hooper offered the same range of skills and overall influence as McCaw. He cleaned them both up in the World Cup final.

6 David Pocock (Australia):

He was shown up in the World Cup final for having only the one trick, but it is a magnificent skill he has. No one is as effective at the breakdown as Pocock and his ability to win as much ball as he did had a major impact on the World Cup.

5 Leone Nakarawa (Fiji):

The big Fijian showed an incredible ability to offload and yet not shirk his core roles. He won lineout ball, tackled like a loose forward and carried the ball like an outside back. Was named as the Pacific Island Players’ Association Player of the Year.

4 Sam Whitelock(New Zealand):

The more he played, the better he got. Was a towering force at the lineout and took some critical steals in the World Cup semifinal win over South Africa. What impressed most about him, though, was his tackle count. Whitelock racks up the same sort of numbers as the best loose forwards and he’s also become a world-class ball carrier.

3 Ramiro Herrera (Argentina):

Anchored an impressive Pumas scrum and also thumped about. A huge man but he wasn’t in any way lumbering. Gave the Argentines an air of intimidation.

2 Agustin Creevy (Argentina):

The Pumas captain is a late convert to the hooking role and there is still much of the loose forward about him. He gave Argentina much of their go-forward and added a sparkle to their play with his clever offloads. Threw well at the lineout and got his body into great positions over the tackled ball.

1 Scott Sio (Australia):

A strong, agile, mobile prop with the technical ability and skills to hold his own in the set piece and yet play a meaningful role elsewhere. The Wallabies haven’t had a player likes this for decades.

nzherald

352 Responses to All Blacks galore in Kiwi Rugby Writer’s 2015 World XV

Wandered = Wanderes

Tassies wrote:

@ robzim: just to add some spice to the argument, Bumble (Lloyd) rates it as one of the finest pitches he’s seen in recent times. If catches had been held…………

Howzit Tassies,

Yeah… There are certainly no demons in the pitch but I have to admit the ” if they took the catches” argument is quite valid 🙂

Lets see how it goes tomorrow.. maybe the pitch will take some turn or play a bit ” up and down” on the last day but it will probably be too late to ensure a result.

Its great the Amla got some runs as he has taken a lot of stick lately. Pity that Stiaan ran himself out as this was a huge opportunity for him… they should bat him lower down though.

We should avoid the follow on – under 80 runs. It is then imperative to get to as close to, or ahead of the Poms so they don’t have enough of a chance to put too many on the board for when we bat again

@ nortie: I’ve witnessed some incredible drawn Tests in my time. This one’s not over yet and it’s been totally intriguing. That is; if one understands and enjoys the nuances of this format of the game. For example: I’d reckon that Amla’s unbeaten knock is equally as skillful as Stokes’ given the circumstances. Stokes will get all the accolades because it was highly entertaining and broke countless records. Amla’s was pure guts and determination. I think I know which one of the two batsman will go down in history as the better player.

@ robzim: It’s already starting to show small signs of some turn. That’ll only increase. It will become more tricky to bat on. But I’m not suggesting we wont knock off the 80 to avoid the follow-on. If we’re bowled out for say 500 and England have little time to bat, they might go for a heave late tomorrow and put us into bat after drinks break on day 5 with a 250 lead to entice SA to chase. Cook is not a conservative captain. Stranger things have happened before.

@ nortie: Sorry, to answer your question: No we don’t. Not this one at any rate. But we might have opportunities to pick an entirely different one and you know the Wanderers.

Schalk Burger going to Saracens on a two year contract from next season up here. Big signing by Sarries does he still have two seasons after middle of this year in him?

It seems John Mitchell is the new USA coach.

Great knock by Amla and Faf and long may that continue tomorrow.Could only see the highlights of the game and I think it was said in commentary that Amla was only off the field for 8 or 9 minutes in the match and that only the 2 umpires were longer on the field than he was.Incredible concentration that is Amla,so “kwaai man” not to get troubled by what was thrown at you.Lucky at times though and poor catching by the Pommies,but like Elgar said “we could do with a bit of luck”…and hell yeah we could.

Still as great a player that Hashim is,he shouldn’t be captain imho,cause he just don’t excel there…sorry just my take on it.I’d rather give Elgar a shot at the captaincy,cause it looks like he’s got the brains and guts for it.

Anyway we not out of the woods yet,a couple of quick wickets early tomorrow and we right back to square one,so Proteas please stay focus and see out the draw.I’d rather we go 0-1 down to the Wanderers,than 0-2 down.And speaking of the Wanderers,personally I would like it if they went with 4 seamers and ditch the spinner,Piedt,hit the Pommies hard in what would be our comeback game to level the series.A fit Steyn and Vernon Philander,Morkel and Hardus Viljoen in place of Rabada.

Faf finally getting runs is priceless,now just to occupy the crease until late into the afternoon will be absolutely vital.Proteas are now finally showing they’ve got the skills to bat and more importantly the balls…that which took us to No 1 in the first place.

Pity we didn’t play the first test here at Newlands which would’ve given our batsmen a chance to find form,but no they prepare a turner in Durbs which was the last thing our boys needed.Damn curator and management…ek wil hulle sommer bliksem.

304 @ robzim: Thank Rob. Just knew there was a player from Durban that left notbtoo long ago. So kinda guessed whoever it was had a British passport. As a few guys were I played golf withbthe other day was talking about this Durbs chap that left not long back. Judt totally forgot his name they mentioned. So dont think he is even there for 3 years yet.

How you bud ? Hope well and all the best forvthev
    New Year.

You still riding yiur bike like Tassie? I am just back from a eary morning 8k walk my knee finally coming right. Too hot here for golf or much only walking early before 5am.

Keep well. Cheers.

Everyone just ignore my typos I wil never ever get used too a touch screen. Making mistakes on it for years so it wont change. 🙂

230 @ Puma: Sorry Rob. Rubbish English there from me with all my typos on this touch screen. You know what I am saying there so ignore typos.

Morning Puma

Those of us who know you don’t need explanations on how to translate your unique brand of Inglish.

I also hate these touch screens.

Have great day.

214 @ Tassies:
    Morning Tassies. That batsman is Amla today. Anyb batsman thst comes out and does what Amla done yesterday under pressure will always in my mind be the better batsman.

Still think being the csptsin is not for him its holding him back. Give the captaincy tonsomrone else and I am sure we will see the briliant Amla back. So what he done yesrerday under massive pressure was impressive just brilliant.

Its always easy to come in when Stokes did when your team is firing away and bat with ease not easy to come in and try save a test that looks almost won by the other side, Amla’s batting yesterday was absolutely brillliant. Under that pressure just magnificent. Pity .ab was nit still there he was doing exceptionally well too and does a daft easy shot to get himself out, he too must never ever keep wicket again he is a batsman and a great in the fieldmand wasted behind keeping wicket. Well done to faf too. We need him and Amla to kick on today and make thrm bow and bowl in that heat.

Rememer that test against Aus in 2008 at the MCG? When they were well in the lead? Well was watching the night before and we were falling apart and in comes Dumminy at 5 and others just falling and eventualy comes in Steyn at 8 wellmI thought we were done and dusted then.mso turned off tv about 10:30 pm and went to bed. Woke up before 4am turned in tv thinking Aus would be in a huge lead and there was dumminy and Steyn still batting.mthought for a min it was a replay but damn no it was libe they were still in batting. Steyn got 72 and Dumminy over a 150. They win that test for us and we won the series that day. Now that was the best batting display I have seen under pressure. It was simply the best. We just maybsee something similar here with Alma and hoping Faf stays with him a long time as the others coming in to bat dont really think they have the staying power. So really need these two to stsy in for a long time.

If we draw this test it will be as good a feeling as that day at the MCG when I thought we were totally gone and csme out fighting and won. And who can foeget that one day I knowmits different one days but that huge 434 total we had to chase down was guts displayed out there by Gibbs and Biff making a huge total together and the rest of the team coming in doing there bit. What a fantastic display of fighting spirit that was just like MCG and yesterday at Newlands and may that fighting spirit carry on today.

Batting under massive pressure with huge concentration and saving a test or winning it is always the best you see. Not when your team is already on top and like Stokes you can just go for it.

Go proteas make us proud boys. So far we giving you lads real stick out there now do it for us.

223 @ Scrumdown:

Bwahahaha. Thanks Scrumdown. Hope you well bud. Yip I cant get used to this touch screen and had it for years or the phone drives me nuts.

Was up early too hot to sleep here and too hot for walking later or play golf. So done the walk and swim already. Now just to relax.

Enjoy your day.

@ 220

All well here thanks Puma. Good luck for the new year to you too , I am glad to hear your knees are better. And yes, I am still cycling a lot. I am surprised that you have not given it a go as it is supposed to be a very good knee rehabilitation exercise.

Some call cycling the new golf. They say the newer generation of men are no longer interested to walk around slowly on a large piece of grass and pretend to do something physical (golf) but they would rather cycle and afterwards parade around a trendy coffee shop showing off their Italian racing bikes.

Thinking

Brilliant Hashim Amla. Your very best saved until needed most. Wow, one of the best batting displays you’ll ever see.

So let the debate begin. Who’s innings was better? Stokes or Amla. Both so different, both under such different circumstances, but both absolutely brilliant and both a pleasure to watch.

It is not exactly in the spirit of cricket, but Pranav Dhanawade was given free rein to break every record in the schoolbook, batting to an unbeaten 1 009 in a school game in Kalyan, India.

The 15-year-old from KC English High School is the highest scorer on record, surpassing the highest individual score in an innings record held by an English cricketer AEJ Collins of 628* for Clark’s House against North Town set in 1899.

When Dhanawade ended day one of the two-day Under 16 match against Arya Gurukul School, Kalyan, he had 652, coming off 199 balls with 30 sixes and 78 fours. The team was on 956 for the loss of just one wicket in reply to Arya Gurukul’s first innings score of 31 all out in 20 overs. Teammates Akash Singh had scored 173 and Siddhesh Patil 100.

Day two dawned without a hint of a declaration, and Dhanawade, the son of a rickshaw driver, ploughed on to 1 009 off just 323 balls (59×6, 129×4) as the team racked up 1 465.

Arya Gurukul School coach Yogesh Jagtap was awestruck by Pranav’s innings. ‘That was special. I have never seen something like this. Yes, the ground may be small and he was dropped quite a few times by my players, but credit to him for the way he played,’ said Jagtap.

‘The boys playing for my team were actually from U-14 and most of them playing for the first time. My U-16 team players who were supposed to participate could not come as the principal could not release them due to 10th exams. The boys were under prepared. In fact, such was the impact of his shots that they could not put hand to the ball,’ he added.

– See more at: http://www.sacricketmag.com/schoolboy-tops-1-000-runs/#sthash.2Gu8Dzze.dpuf

Just For Kicks wrote:

So let the debate begin. Who’s innings was better? Stokes or Amla. Both so different, both under such different circumstances, but both absolutely brilliant and both a pleasure to watch.

I guess it depends whether you prefer Metallica or The Carpenters.

Just For Kicks wrote:

Cricinfo commentary said it perfectly… In comparisson, which movie is better? Star wars or Casablanca?

226 @ robzim:
    Bwahahaha. That was funny Rob your last paragragh.

Well still have pain in the damn replacment but not as bad as it was can push now through this pain no problem. Mind is strong with me bud. I was crutch free at

232 @ Puma</bSorry pushed the send button before I finished there. Was crutch free at 3 weeks already walking coukd get a 150 degree bend with my knee already. Worked damn hard on the exercises more so than most. Saw physio for 8 weeks she was just okay so went to see a biokineticist he was brilliant and yes road a stationary bike with 8 kilo weights on. Done it straight away he said I was first to do that sonquick.nhad this huge machine I had to lift my leg with weights on done it even better than. Non op knee. He was impressed and said the reason I could do that was being a ex runner our muckes have a memory for life and they come back as soon as you work them. So why I stayed in pain for almost 11 months none coukd say why. My surgeon said i over done everything. Was walking too far too soon over exerising puts you back he said by many many months. So cut back. But still have pain but like I said iI handle it fine.

Can not ride a bike Rob for so long have a slipped disc in my lower back and it puts pressure there. The stationary bike I just done each time at Bio for 5 min but tough with the weights increasing. Tell you what will never in my life do the other no way on earth will I go through almost a year of pain brutal pain as well. But finally think I am getting there by cutting back. Us ex sportsman are lunatics as my surgeon says.nwe always think we gonna nail this one time and set ourselves back for a long long time.

Enjoying the walking again though even with one bad knee just to be able to domthat is damn brilliant loving it. I dont play a lot of golf because of the lower back but still do from time to time.

So 2016 for me will be a great year and put this 2015 behind me was a terrible year of pain. But finally seeing the end of the tunnel now. Feels great.

233 @ Puma:

Sorry for rubbish English there again. Just can never ever get it right with this dman touch screen drives me nuts. Rather use my lap top easier for me. Also never check my posts only after sending and a load of typos always…. Hahaha.

JFK saw in one of your posts asking which batsman’s batting was the best Amla or Stokes. NO question bud it was Amla. To come in under enourmous pressure and to try and save a test with so much on you and the concentration must have been massive. To get over 200 in thatboosition makes him the winner out the two by miles and miles. Soke never really had pressure on him at all and nerves of a country watching you all the way. Amla was truly brilliant.

Bavuma playing a class innings. Wow.

Meant: in that position. Wont corrct other typos you know what I mean. From now on should use my laptop. So much easier. This touch screen not for me at all…. 🙂

@ Puma: too many typos in one smal post damn, like the typo king here.. 🙂

Meant

Meant: correct

I would tend to agree with you, but I am old school. Another question, then. Who will get Man of the match?

Total 52 users including 0 member, 52 guests, 0 bot online