Japan Rugby LogoSouth AfricaJapan (10) 34 / 32 (12) Springboks (Final Score)

Japan and the South African Springboks did battle in the Rugby World Cup at

The Brighton Community Stadium, Brighton at 17:45 SA Time (16:45 BST, 15:45 GMT).

This was the live match discussion Article.

The match was broadcast LIVE on SuperSport 1 on TV in SA.

Japan:

• Penalties – Ayumu Goromaru (5)
  • Tries – Michael Leitch (1), Ayumu Goromaru (1), Karne Hesketh (1)
  • Conversions – Ayumu Goromaru (2)

• Penalties – Pat Lambie (1), Handré Pollard (1)
  • Tries – Francois Louw (1), Bismarck du Plessis (1), Lood de Jager (1), Adriaan Strauss (1)
  • Conversions – Pat Lambie (2), Handré Pollard (1)

Japan
South African Springboks
19 September at 17:45 SA Time
  • Team: 15 Ayumu Goromaru, 14 Akihito Yamada, 13 Male Sa’u, 12 Craig Wing, 11 Kotaro Matsushima, 10 Kosei Ono, 9 Fumiaki Tanaka, 8 Hendrik Tui, 7 Michael Broadhurst, 6 Michael Leitch (Captain), 5 Hitoshi Ono, 4 Luke Thompson, 3 Kensuke Hatakeyama, 2 Shota Horie, 1 Masataka Mikami
  • Replacements: 16 Takeshi Kizu, 17 Keita Inagaki, 18 Hiroshi Yamashita, 19 Shinya Makabe, 20 Amanaki Mafi, 21 Atsushi Hiwasa, 22 Harumichi Tatekawa, 23 Karne Hesketh
  • Team: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Schalk Burger, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Lood de Jager, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Eben Etzebeth, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Fourie du Preez, 22 Handré Pollard, 23 JP Pietersen

Referee: Jérôme Garcès (France)
Assistant referees: JP Doyle (England), Federico Anselmi (Argentina)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

552 Responses to Rugby World Cup 2015: Japan vs South Africa – Live Game Article

sounds like a WWW wrestling highlight…

449 @ cane:
    We can’t even last 80 minutes against Japan, now you expect us to believe De Villiers will make it through extra time as well?

@nortie you didn’t know? – the time clock is Japanese !

Sushi in SA wrote:

@nortie you didn’t know? – the time clock is Japanese !

Ha ha, you mean a knock off Breitling?

kind of… slows down when Japan has possession and speeds up when the opposition is trying to headbutt their way down the field..(induces more stress)..

cane wrote:

I have mentioned some of those by name in the lead up groot.

But not Alberts and Oosthuisen.

We too have Pensioners in Our Squad.

Loyalty/Promises made years ……………………………these could come back to haunt us as well.

Cane, there is a huge difference between your “pensioners” and ours.
    Guys like McCaw and Carter etc have all played SR and RC test as well.

HM gambled by picking guys who haven’t played any rugby, let alone test match rugby.

Even younger guys like PSdT has hardly played this year.

He put all his eggs in one basket, we have seen that a long time ago, and now some of those eggs are rotten.

I believe, that just out of this weekends CC we could pick 2 squads of 23 players that would probably have beaten the Japanese quite comfortably.

Hansen has a plan and he has the players, our coach doesn’t have a plan and he selected the wrong players.

He will come on as a replacement for an injured Allende in the 67th minute of normal time.
    Thus, he will only need to last 13 minutes of normal time before getting as breather.

cane wrote:

He will come on as a replacement for an injured Allende in the 67th minute of normal time.
    Thus, he will only need to last 13 minutes of normal time before getting as breather.

Ha ha, ok, he might last that long.
    Did you see my message about Fern to you?

@ Sushi in SA:

Farkit but you are multi talented.

Movies, fishing industry ..and now rugby Happy-Grin

@ robzim but wait! there’s more…

On any given day, (and I mean this, in no way, to be disrespectful to Japanese Rugby),
    any Curry Cup Team should give them a really good game.

And any SA Super Rugby Team. should nail them by 15 points. (minimum). IMHO.

And the Boks should put 50 points on them.

Should, should and should.

But someone forgot to tell Eddie and his Team of Kamakasi’s.

@ cane:
    Coaching, preparation and players with heart…..sadly we lacked in all 3

so solly Meyer-san..we no speakie bok

Yes Naughtie,
    and I did ask that pass on my good wishes to Fernly.

I also said, I assumed the curry was a good one.

😳

and if we did… we wouldn’t tell you anyway!

@ Sushi in SA:

@ Sushi… I wont be surprised if there is a lot more Wink

Hope you are well and nice to see you are still in SA.

goodnight all.

And it’s not the end of the World.

When a man hits the bottom……………………………………there is only one way to go.

I’ll see you Okes in the final.

thanks Robz… sunshine, people… now only if there was a rugby team here..!

Let’s all mosey on over to the Wales / Uruguay thread… come on, gather your butts… and move over!

couldn’t resist

Attachment:

Springboks captain Jean De Villiers and coach Heyneke Meyer said they don’t actually know why their team lost against Japan in their opening RWC2015 match. Well guys, as a Bok fan and passionate South African, I will try and help you find some answers.

Like many other rugby fans, I watched that match from start to finish waiting for the Springboks to actually step up and play like a team ranked 10 places higher than Japan, but as the game wore on, the only class on show came from the supposed tier 2 nation.

The Boks have never conceded this many points in a World Cup match, and the way in which they did so was just woeful. The Boks always go to World Cups with at least discipline and defense in their corner, but the 34 points that Japan racked up against them yesterday suggests they no longer have those attributes as a ‘factory setting’ in their team.

And it’s not like they have forfeited these attributes for scintillating attack play. Two of their tries came from rolling mauls, the other two from one-off runners being in the right place at the right time to capitalize on some rare frailties in the Japanese defense.

Naturally you want to take nothing away from Japan who created a rugby spectacle to savour for eternity, but this was the lowest moment in Springbok history since they were all naked in a swamp trying to pump up their balls.

And the fact the coach and captain can just sit there and say ‘they don’t know what happened’ makes it even worse in the aftermath.

I don’t mean to take pot shots, but answers seem to be scarce right now, so let’s break that match down and give Jean and Heyneke some things to think over:

Reason no.1 why the Boks lost – braindead decision making.

There has been lots of talk about the Boks treating each match like a final. Right, so Heyneke are you telling me that you are going to decline five or six shots at goal in a final?

That’s what you did yesterday. Sure, two kicks to the corner led to try scoring mauls which was positive, but that strategy wasn’t persisted with. The irony is that when things got desperate the team reverted to ‘finals rugby’, but by taking the shots at goal late in the game, it raised a white flag that the Japanese pounced upon.

With 10 minutes to go, Pollard made a great break, Boks came close to scoring by finally stretching the Japanese defense. With tones of front foot momentum, a penalty accrued, the shot at goal was taken. It was a brain dead choice, declining an opportunity to shut the game out, and giving Japan the motivation to press on in the final minutes. They did just that.

Reason no.2 why the Boks lost – Clueless when it comes to testing a defense.

The Japanese did their homework on the Boks. In fairness, an 8 year old with ADD could do the necessary homework on the Boks.

They rely on big guys to run straight at the opponents. Heyneke Meyer has had the team for four years, and that is all he really has to show for all his ‘smarts’. So all Japan did was tackle low and cut down the attack with direct tackling.

How did the Boks counteract this?

By doing the same thing over and over! Schalk Burger essentially played flyhalf the whole match, with Victor Matfield all but swapping jerseys with Jean De Villiers too. Pat Lambie never had the chance to direct the match and use the backs, and Japan just kept getting up to make more front on tackles. They will be hurting today, but a crushing upset win will make them feel okay. You need to test defenses in international rugby, whether you are playing the 1st ranked team, or the 13th ranked one.

Reason no.3 why the Boks lost – Meyer well and truly on the wrong track.

Heyneke Meyer says that despite the loss he still backs his players. Meyer, often the definition of insanity as he likes to do the same things over and over again, is losing credibility by the day now.

I have lost all sympathy for the guy, and will gladly jump on the social media joke bandwagon as he just can’t be taken seriously anymore. You don’t know what happened? You still think the team can win the World Cup? You still back the players and the gameplan?

A home loss to Argentina, and now a loss to Japan which saw the Boks concede their greatest points tally in the history of the tournament? You are on the wrong track mate! It’s that fuckin simple.

At least have the balls to say so, and try do something about it with the time and players that you do have. We all feared something embarrassing would happen to the Boks this World Cup, well it has, and Meyer must use this as a wake up, as his ‘plan’ or lack of one led to this defeat.

Reason no.4 why the Boks lost – Sentiment trumps logic.

Enough with the sentiment and ‘die for your country’ bullshit now. It’s 2015, rugby is a professional sport, and Bok fans deserve a little more than ‘players’ hearts being in it’.

The body on the line approach was needed in 1995, and it worked then, but rugby has moved on a great deal. A bunch of virtual nobodies just out-thought and outplayed the Boks yesterday, because they went to this World Cup to play good rugby, not to do their country proud, or die for their country – to simply play good rugby!

Jean De Villiers is a lovely story, how he came back from a career-ending injury to lead the Boks to the World Cup, but he isn’t a merit call. By all means go and make a movie about it and cast Dennis Quaid as Jean, but don’t drag all that sentimental junk into the Boks actual playing team.

It isn’t winning us anything, and is looking nothing more than a self-indulgent PR campaign. Jean is playing like a man who knows he doesn’t deserve to be there, and that panic in his play is spilling over into his leadership which provides further reason why he shouldn’t be there.

The fact Damien De Allende and Willie Le Roux weren’t in the match day 23 shows the Boks don’t seem to know what modern day rugby is. You need to create chances, every team is doing it, every team except the Boks.

So there is four reasons why the Boks lost, reasons that are apparent to the naked eye. If this still isn’t enough for Heyneke and Jean, well let’s throw in two stats:

Penalties conceded: 12
    Missed tackles: 16

Discipline and defense, that to me says so much. A Bok team without those aspects is no Bok team at all.

And those stats come from pressure created by the 13th best team in the world. 13th.

http://www.thebounce.co.za/articles/sports/rwc2015-sa-vs-japan-what-actually-happened-here/4170

nortie for Bok Coach…nortie…nortie…nortie…

@ Sushi in SA:
    Ha ha Sushi
    I didn’t write that piece 😆
    Some of us here have been quite critical of HM, and usually that doesn’t go down well, but I guess even his biggest fans and disciples can now also admit that he is not an international coaches’ arse and is dragging the Boks to unseen depths

Ou Grote Rugby
    21 hrs ·
    Retweeted John Goliath (@JohnGoliath82):
    Heyneke has aged about 10 years in the last 10 minutes. He is now the same age as Victor Matfield…

Where is Nama? Is his interweb down? He would be loving this.

The best advice to the Boks is to put this defeat behind them as quickly as possible. And move on.

Just re-focus on the next one. That is all.

Came back from Upington at about 17H30 last night. As I was under the impression that the game would start at 17H00, I was prepared to only catch the 2nd half. On my arrival I saw that the kick off was actually 17H45. But then I had to get busy making a fire, prepare a snoek and some steak for the braai. Hence I only had the occasional glance at the TV as I was busy doing my thing. Always expected the Boks to “kick in” and ran away with it but as the game went on, and the Japanese stayed within reach, I realized that we were in a real battle. Then the Japanese scored that try from a line out and the Bok players looked at each other like in: “whaddafuck just happened here?”

That’s when I knew, Eddie Jones is busy outsmarting that dumbell of a coach that we have.

@ IAAS:
    Not enjoying it in the least, my friend. You think it is lekker for me to get all those calls from my mates? Wink

In any case, the Meyerites were hurting something awful last night. No need for me to give them more stick. Just hope they opened their eyes now.

If Meyer was a stock on the JSE, your investment would’ve been in serious trouble after losing 5 of the last 6 matches. Wonder what Jurie & Co are thinking atm?

Sorry! Congratulations to the Japanese. What a performance!!

We can say that they played above themselves but that is exactly the kind of performance that the Boks put in last year when they beat the AB. Says something about the gap between the Boks and the AB, doesn’t it?

FFS, we put in a similar performance against the AB (and Aus) earlier this year and still came out losers.

Total 210 users including 0 member, 210 guests, 0 bot online