Japan (10) 34 / 32 (12) Springboks (Final Score)
Japan and the South African Springboks did battle in the Rugby World Cup at
The Brighton Community Stadium, Brighton at 17:45 SA Time (16:45 BST, 15:45 GMT).
The match was broadcast LIVE on SuperSport 1 on TV in SA.
Japan:
- Penalties – Ayumu Goromaru (5)
- Tries – Michael Leitch (1), Ayumu Goromaru (1), Karne Hesketh (1)
- Conversions – Ayumu Goromaru (2)
- Penalties – Pat Lambie (1), Handré Pollard (1)
- Tries – Francois Louw (1), Bismarck du Plessis (1), Lood de Jager (1), Adriaan Strauss (1)
- Conversions – Pat Lambie (2), Handré Pollard (1)
Japan |
South African Springboks |
19 September at 17:45 SA Time | |
Referee: Jérôme Garcès (France)
Assistant referees: JP Doyle (England), Federico Anselmi (Argentina)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)
Yeah, look on the bright side. The Boks got 2 points out of this match for the 4 tries and losing within 7.
But Meyer still remains on a national warning!
“The sun has risen this morning.”
And, in doing so, reminded me that Japan used to be known as Nippon, “The Land of the Rising Sun”;-)
If I were Japanese, and had any musical talent, I’d capitalize on the moment and start a band called “Eddie and the Brave Blossoms”.
Anyway, agree with you that losing a rugby game is not important in the bigger scheme of things.
All this is true but from a rugby perspective it’s a farken disaster, sorry guys no amount of spin can change that.
Peter de Villiers on eNCA, 20 Sept 2015, 07:09 am:
Interviewer:
“You’ve been critical of Heyneke Meyer, do you feel justified now after yesterday, after the disastrous results yesterday as well as in the recent past?”
PdV:
“NO I WAS’NT critical of Heyneke Meyer (huh?). I was critical of how he did things and how dishonest the man is, uhm, the agendas he drives, I was critical about that, and he was the one who drives it so, so, so it’s just normal that he gonna be hit too ….”
“… nobody respects us anymore. If you look at Australia. Australia is a BAD COUNTRY (huh?), but their sport make them look very, very good in the eyes of the people. New Zealand THE SAME (huh?), but their sport make them look good. People respect us for our rugby – for NOTHING ELSE IN THIS COUNTRY (huh?). People all over the years respect us for rugby. What are we respected for now? …”
“… we put ourselves so far back in, in, in world rugby – people don’t respect us anymore FOR THE ONE THING WE CAN DO GOOD (huh?) and that is my biggest problem …”
Interviewer:
“So, if you leave here this morning and you get a call from Heyneke Meyer, for instance, and he asks you for advice what would you do in the situation they are in now?”
PdV (concluding with a smug smile):
“One thing is, and it is the only advice I can give him and anybody, if you are not close to the Lord, if you are not close to your knees, you do not know where your strength comes from, you rely on people around you, you rely on yourself, you’re gonna get worse and worse and worse. You must go back and ask Him, ‘what is my strengths, what made me me, what is Your Will through me?’ And get to that as quick as possible, and get the team to follow that.”
(Huh, so what is PdV saying? That winning teams and coaches are close to the Lord, and that losing teams are not? That yesterday Japan was close to the Lord, but not so the Bokke? Is it PdV’s future rugby solution to select only Christians as Bokke (the new-fangled Affirmative Action?), and to rather appoint ministers of religion than assistant coaches, and to conduct your rugby training rather in a chapel than on a paddock? Is this dude for real? Do people still wonder why he can’t secure and hold down a decent rugby coaching job?)
361 @ IAAS:
Meyer, the coaching staff, de Villier and the other senior players just don’t seem capable of learning from their mistakes.
“Every game will be like a final” said the coach, yet our Captain doesn’t take points on offer.
Like the 2011 game v Aus, we let the opposition get away with murder at the breakdown, and the ref’ blows it like a typical NH official, and we seem not to have learnt that trait by now.
Do we not do an analysis on the referees? If we do, WTF do we learn from them? Because clearly we did not take cognisance of this ref’s past performance.
SA Rugby’s coaching team (and senior players) continually reinforce the definition of insanity.
Unfortunately we make the same errors year after year under different coaches.
McLook and I agree that SA Rugby has failed to evolve. The “moer hulle” mentality is from a bygone era, but the SA Rugby dinosaur still sticks to the philosophy that “bigger is better”.
Ah well, maybe the shock will cause a much needed change.
The weather for Birmingham is forecast for plenty of rain through the week, with Saturday mostly cloudy but dry with a maximum of 16° C.
Not ideal for our glorious Boks to play a mental bunch of Islanders but we live in hope.
NZINCHINA wrote:
Impossible to put any positive spin on it.
As you say, a Rugby disaster.
BUT we continue to support and hope.
364 @ Angostura:So Shinto and Buddists the world over are looking to their Calvanist peers and saying “I told you so”.
I think not.
Yep, i for one will have a good day 🙂
EVERY team in our group now BELIEVE they have a chance to go through.
Scrumdown wrote:
And therein lies the problem.
Boks supporters used to support and BELIEVE
now, under HM we have been reduced to support and hope
South African rugby is a joke, and HM is the court jester. He has turned it into a pantomime with the audience aka gov, cosatu, etc shouting ‘oh no he isn’t’ from the roof tops. Divvy may well have been a clown, but HM is the ringmaster.
Boswell & Wilkie, you have nothing on this act.
MacroPolo wrote:
If the rain hold off, I will too.
Better to play k@k golf than sit and watch Rugby that makes you want to kick the dog.
Thank goodness I’m off the dop until the end of Oct. That display would have sent me dilly if I had been watching with the Captain.
The Lions players, management and coaches must have slept VERY snugly last night.
I wonder how the SA contingent did in Eastbourne?
I’m sure Doc Roberts could have dished out a few pills to take the edge off.
Mind you, judging from the on-field display, maybe he dished them out an hour before kick off!
And what will go down in history? Simple. A team ranked 13th has a chance of drawing a match in the dying moments of a match against a team ranked 2nd. A chance to make history. But what do they do? They go for the win. They shun the easy option of a penalty kick, and go for the high risk option of a win. They did it. And scored. And won. And wrote themselves into the history books.
True blood guts and Glory.
I simply cannot praise these Brave Blossoms enough. That was true rugby, played in the true spirit of the game.
Congratulations to the littlest team with the biggest hearts. You have given us the biggest lesson in rugby.
What Japan has done is make Scotland, Samoa and USA sit up and say “if they can do it, so can we”
This loss, as humiliating as it was, has now opened the floodgates and our team, who on the coaches’ own admission was selected while he knew they are not “fully sharp”, are going to have a torrid time in a pool where it was acknowledged was one of the easiest.
http://www.supersport.com/rugby/springboks/news/150920/Meyer_refuses_to_blame_players
Die Juffrou staan voor haar Graad 1 Afrikaanse klas en vra ” Wat beteken n japtrap”
Jannie antwoord ” Juffrou, op 19 Sepetember het die Springbokke teen Japan gespeel…..
Cape Town – The Western Cape branch of Cosatu has called for Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer to be fired after the Boks’ embarrassing defeat to Japan at the Rugby World Cup.
A statement issued accuses the Springboks of being “a white team”.
“The ‘old’ injured white men were just useless and gave Japan the space to play a great game. In the first half Heyneke had all white players except the back three and they were completely outplayed by Japan. Then, in the second half Heyneke brought on black players to hide behind,” the statement said.
Cosatu offered advice suggesting form players from Super Rugby join the World Cup team.
“There were great black and white players in Super Rugby who are not the rugby mafia favourites. This is a low point for SA Rugby, first we lose to Argentina then to Japan. If this was Peter De Villiers he would have been crucified as being an affirmative action appointee.”
The union added: “These white old players are ‘quota players’ as positions are set aside for them. This should tell our minister that he is bringing us no joy in rugby, and should review his position with Oregon Hoskins and the other apologists for SARU.”
The statement concluded: “We hope that this shuts up – once and for all – those white supremacists who think a white team is better than a mixed team of all South Africans. Viva WP (Western Province) style mixed teams.”
The Springboks lost 34-32 to minnows Japan in Brighton on Saturday.
http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/WorldCup/Cosatu-calls-for-Heyneke-Meyers-head-20150920-2
WOW CONGRATULATIONS JAPAN!
Have only skipped through the recording of the game fast forwarding to watch around the try scoring and some of the penalties after catching the last 10 min live in a pub yesterday, very disappointed with the result but very impressed by how well Japan retained possession through phase after phase in the end, kept thinking they could knock on anytime and it would be game over but they didn’t. #stillaspringboksupporter
hey you bad man you thought you were spoiling it for in ‘giving’ me the score before the game would gladly have taken the one you predicted
Bullscot wrote:
Ha ha, so would I
If ever a team deserved to win, it was Japan
And if ever a team deserved to lose it was the Boks
And the tournament just rolls on, 3 games today : 12.00 Samoa v USA, 14.30 Wales v Uruguay, 16.45 New Zealand v Argentina. All times UK times.
nortie wrote:
Yup, as many soundbites, denials and excuses are given, you are quite right. NO ONE is afraid of the bullies any more.
Two comments really make me wonder. JDV’s “It was just one of those performances that we can’t put a finger on”. If you don’t know what went on, then we are in even more serious voodoo than I first thought, and secondly FDP’s comment “I’ve been playing there (Japan) for four years, so I knew what was coming. I tried to let the guys know during the week that they are a proper nation”. WOW, talk about trying to distance yourself from a sinking ship. I thought that this was a tightly knit, united group of players. No one would have come out with such a comment so early in the tournament if that was so.
Have lots of thoughts and ideas but may come back tonight and post a few, want to try and watch the game again to clarify some of my thinking. Need to dash away from here, looking forward to a lekker chilled day here with my kids, rugby can take a back seat for the day.
Voodoo = doodoo
Yep im close to KPark this week myself. Still intend to braai later, but getting out of bed was a mission 🙂
I can’t disagree with all that. As I said earlier, Heyneke Meyer is on a national warning.
I have always maintained that rugby is not about picking the right players, but picking the right combinations. Yet what Meyer do:
1) He picks his captain at 12 against Jesse Kriel within whom he has never player a test match before. Whereas De Allende and Kriel are busy forming a great partnership. Stupid.
2) He has partnered Ruan and Pollard mostly in the starting lineup. With Lambie coming on later with Reinach. Another oops.
3) Schalk, Flo and Alberts have their own strengths but have never played together as a combination. Another mistake.
4) And Lood and Matfield – that must have been their first start together as well. Another fokop.
So Meyer went with untried and untested combinations with players that were not match fit.
And he probably thought, well it is only Japan. Yeah, right. Another lesson learnt.
What he needs to do against Samoa is pick settled combinations this year. Even if it means dropping the captain and vice-captain.
Those are two of the big calls he will have to make.
Captain Morgan?
No one could sum things up better than that JFK.
3 points for Glory…………………………………..or 5 points for Immortality.
@ IAAS:
To be fair, when we start worrying about selecting the right combinations just to win vs Japan, then we already in trouble… With the lethargic performance im not all that sure that it would have made the world of difference, i think things are not all too rosy off the park… And there will be even more increased pressure on the players now.
Total 176 users including 0 member, 176 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,263,255 Page Impressions