Los Pumas (9) 12 / 26 (20) Springboks (Final Score)
The Argentinian Pumas and South African Springboks did battle in a Rugby World Cup warm-up match at
Vélez Sarsfield, Buenos Aires at 21:40 SA Time (16:40 ARG Time, 19:40 GMT).
Los Pumas:
- Penalties – Nicolas Sanchez (4)
- Penalties – Pat Lambie (3)
- Drop Goals – Pat Lambie (1)
- Tries – Bryan Habana (1), Lwazi Mvovo (1)
- Conversions – Pat Lambie (2)
Argentinian Pumas |
South African Springboks |
15 August at 21:40 SA Time | |
Referee: Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Romain Poite (France), Mike Fraser (New Zealand)
Not having forward dominance is also a piss poor excuse for a poor performance.
We won’t have forward dominance at the WC, seldom if at all.
Lambie plays the pressure games better and I would therefore have him or Morne Steyn before Pollard.
Yes, I said Morne Steyn. He will go, and if things don’t go well in the pool games, Meyer will revert to his staatmakers.
Hope GBS won’t see this as “political” but I just want to make the following two points.
1. Jan Serfontein, after a dismal season in SR, was afforded a 16 minute cameo last night while Mapoe, after a stellar SR season, had to be satisfied with 2 minutes game time as a sub.
2. ANGOSTURA: Ek hoop jy lees vandag se Rapport en sien wat De Allende se pa se oor hulle “ras”.
@ Nama:
It’s a pity we won’t be able to catch up when I’m in the NC, sou geniet het om n koue een met jou te gedeel het.
@ Nama:
Het jy Zapiro se spot prent gesien?
Sal dit vir jou mail….ek kan nie pre te hier plaas nie
@ Nama:
Agreed, but then I have always though that Jan Serfontein is a mediocre center at best who used to be able to muscle his way over the junior players but never developed the real skills required at senior level.
360 @ nortie:
True that. My cousin and I had that same discussion yesterday. He made an interesting point that you actually pay about R400 for SS1 alone since you can get nearly all the other channels on Compact for R399.
Jip, we won’t have forward dominance especially in the knock out stages. Might even struggle to dominate up front against Scotland and Samoa as well .
Yes, he never impressed.
Might have been a good junior, where he had some kind of weight advantage, but at senior/international level, he did absolutely diddly squat to warrant all this hype afa I’m concerned.
@ Nama:
Plus his defence is really weak.
Much weaker than Damian’s or JDV
When Heyneke Meyer announces his 31 man Bok squad in two weeks time, I do not want to see players being selected “subject to a fitness test.” If you’re not fit enough, you’re not fit enough. If that list includes JDV, Duane and Marcel, then so be it. The same goes for Fourie du Preez as well. Players coming back from injury should be expected to play a full 80 minutes of a CC game before being considered. If they come back into consideration to be included in the event of injuries during the WC, then send them over.
Kiwis getting off to a bit of a flyer.
@ IAAS:
Damn load shedding!!!
We experienced an hour of load shedding from 10 till 11 this morning. When the power came back on ny decoder showed an ERROR signal (b E1). Upon phoning multi Choice, they told me that there is a problem with my decoder and that I must bring it in. The only place where I’ll get service will only be open tomorrow. So, now I can’t watch the cricket.
*Analog signal is too weak for an outside/bunny aerial where I live to get SABC 3.
101 for 2 after 11 overs.
Proteas could be chasing close to 200.
@ Nama:
There’s never a good time for loadshedding. They make us pay more for their product and then they don’t keep their side of the bargain. 🙄
I’ll keep updating the scores if you want that.
Proteas fighting back.
113 for 4 after 13.
@ IAAS:
Thanks.
I am following it on cricinfo but go ahead.
150 for 5 after 17
Stormersboy wrote:
Thats a strange tone, your saying that steyn should go, however it will be against your wishes?
Brilliant catch by AB.
After an over like that, 200 must be on the cards.
4 . . w 4 6 4
Some NZ supporters complained about Munro’s inclusion.
Now, Rabada is striking back…2 in 2.
200 not on anymore?
167 for 7
Rabada is one for the future.
@ MacroPolo:
Never said “should”
Said that he would go. More of a prediction than a wish.
@ Nama:
Not anymore – great fight back.
Also weird how things work. I didnt watch the game.
Re pollard
i firmly believe lambie should have started last week to to compare their performances is ridiculous, not even naas botha or dan carter could have saved the trainsmash last week. While there is sometl things pollard still needs to work on, such as his tactical kicking, especially kicking for touch, he most definitely gives our line imputice in combination with dda and kriel. He should definitely be in the 23 squad on any day.
Just an observation last week pollard gave a chip kick and he was a “doos kicking the ball away” this week lambie gives a poor kick but “atleast he is trying something”… Personally i feel we should always applaud an attempt of the odacious.
Thats fair. I think jantjies poor season last year is counting against him now. If he had been given a change to at least tour with the boks.
178 to win – at almost 9 an over.
Going to be a challenge.
In hindsight sa rugby did a poor job last year. Would have been nice had the fringe players been given an a team tour of britain. But boshoff and the greek would probably have been plahing instead of jantjies… So it wouldnt have helped.
@ Nama:
Howdy, Nama
The only SA newspaper I read is the Mercury – I don’t read evening and weekend papers as they’re more or less on par with the Huisgenoot/You, imo.
But I’m interested to hear what de Allende’s father had to say; feel free to tell me/us. Was his mother also interviewed?
Lambie, Pollard and Elton should go.
Pollard can cover 12 and give Damian a break in pool games.
Ditto for Lambie covering Willie at fullback.
Elton should go being the form player – having had a great Super Rugby season.
@ MacroPolo:
The one thing Pollard should learn, is how to WIN.
5 victories out of his last 7 starts for the Bokke make for kak reading. If you consider the fact that one of those victories came because of a last minute penalty by Lambie, it makes for even kakker reading.
Just take Lambie and Morne to the RWC and leave the poor kid back home to play CC.
Btw, can you enlighten us what his win ratio for the Blue Bulls and Bulls is? I can’t imagine it being very good either given where the Bulls ended up on the log in those competitions the last two years..
Total 227 users including 0 member, 227 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,318,246 Page Impressions