South AfricaWorld XVSpringboks (22) 46 / 10 (10) World XV (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and World XV did battle in an International match at

DHL Newlands, Cape Town at 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT).

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (1)
  • Tries – Damian de Allende (2), Eben Etzebeth (1), Willie le Roux (3), Cobus Reinach (1)
  • Conversions – Handré Pollard (2), Pat Lambie (2)

Word XV:

• Penalties – Mike Harris (1)
  • Tries – Craig Burden (1)
  • Conversions – Mike Harris (1)

South African Springboks
World XV
11 July at 17:00 SA Time
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield (Captain), 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Teboho Mohoje, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jean de Villiers
  • Team: 15 Delon Armitage, 14 Lachie Turner, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Maxime Mermoz, 11 David Smith, 10 Mike Harris, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Luke Whitelock, 7 Steffon Armitage, 6 Jordan Taufua, 5 Bakkies Botha (Captain), 4 Ali Williams, 3 Carl Hayman, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp
  • Replacements: 16 David Roumieu, 17 Alexandre Menini, 18 Petrus du Plessis, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Louis-Benoit Madaule, 21 Maxime Machenaud, 22 Andrew Horrell, 23 Rudi Wulf

Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa), Jason Jaftha (South Africa)
TMO: Deon van Blommestein (South Africa)

643 Responses to Internationals: South Africa vs World XV – Live Game Article

My idiale span fwiw

1. Steven
    2. Bissie
    3. Malherbe (GBS se tellytubby)
    4. Eben
    5. Matfield
    6. Coetzee
    7. Alberts
    8. Vermeulen
    9. Pienaar
    10. Lambie
    11. Habana
    12. JdV
    13. Mapoe
    14. DDA
    15. Willie

Dit, hoewel is hoogs onwaarskynlik dat almal sal gesond wees op dieselfde tyd, so die beste is maar die span uit beskikbare spelers vir die toer en die span wat ek teen Aus sal wil sien.

1. Trevor
    2. Bissie
    3. Malherbe
    4. Eben
    5. Matfield
    6. Flouw
    7. Coetzee
    8. Whitely
    9. Pienaar
    10. Lambie
    11. Habana
    12. DDA
    13. Kriel
    14. Mapoe
    15. Willie

@ Nama:
    So, at the end of the day this is how I see it.

By all means, drop Beast and play Kitshoff.
    By all means, dropp JPP and play Hougie.

But don’t select them when they are totally out of form and ignore players who are in great form because you have achieved YOUR target with that out of form players.

That’s window dressing and I don’t buy into that. Sorry.

@ Nama:
    Then what black players would you select in flank and lock, and who would you leave out? The truth is that there is a very limited amount available to select from. There is no tighthead prop, there is no locks, Carr and Kolisi are not better than the other guys if they are available, you dont think Paige is good enough, Jantjies had a terrible build up to the world cup in the 3 previous years, and the last time he played he folded, so I doubt Meyer or even Mallet would jump at selecting him, there is the guys on the wings, at center we have mnisi dat is black, while sithole is only a favorite with some sharks supporters and then there is Zane.

The truth is that there are very little options other than at Loosehead and the back three? of players to select from. Mapoe was excellent this year and is pretty much the only one I can think of being “pushed to the wing” and mind you this is all conjecture.

… and even if Mapoe get selected to play wing, it is no nefarious plot, because other players are also being selected not exactly where they played the whole SR season… team sport and all.

@ MacroPolo:
    You did read my one of my previous posts wrt the selection of black players at the lower loevels, didn’t you?

“The truth is that there are very little options other than at Loosehead and the back three? of players to select from.”

That is why it bugged me and many others when JdJ was the best 13 and players like Taute, JJE, Janneman and even JdV were selected ahead of him in that position.

Or when an out of form Morne was selected ahead of an in form Jantjies at 10.

The truth is that coaches at the lower levels also seem to hold similar views ie that black players should only be selected in predetermined positions. That’s why we don’t see them filter through to higher levels in different positions especially in the pack.

Here’s something to think about also:
    In 2009, Wayne van Heerden was named the SR player of the year at the Cheetahs. The next year he did not have a contract with them. He was a flank/lock.

In 2011, Ashley Johnson played out of his skin at no. 7 for the Cheetahs. He was rewarded with a place in the WC squad. The next year he started from the bench with a young Lappies taking his place at 7.

Since the retirement of Tim Dlulane, did the Bulls have any black forwards apart from those in the front row? Why not?

@ MacroPolo:
    En Mapoe is n goeie vleuel!
    Rond goed af en tekkel vir dood, so hy is ok vir my daar, op meriete.

@ MacroPolo:
    You will forgive me but with our history, one does see it as some kind of plot.

Chester was a centre before he was moved to the wing.
    Breyten was a FH/FB when he went to varsity. He was moved to the wing.
    Habana was a centre before he was moved to the wing.
    JPP started out as a brilliant, young FB for the Sharks. He was moved to the wing.

You see the pattern?

The fact that the became quite successful on the wing position does not that away from the fact that they were moved there. Who knows how successful they would’ve been in the positions that they started out in?

This is going to be my last word on this issue tonight.

I hope you’ll understand better where I’m coming from when I criticise HM, or any other future Bok coach, about these things.

@ Nama:
    I agree, there is something wrong deeper, but you keep defaulting by blaming Meyer for certain token selections in the odd post, and this is a ridiculous accusation.

Regarding 13, been an interesting position with a few players being tried out, of those pretty much Taute and JJE in his second year raises eye brows, this honestly is not a plot against JDJ, whole could only feel hard done by in 2014, but even then JDV and Janneman did quite well together last year.

The Bulls will always be held back, because of both poor administration as well as lack of black players compared to the EC and WC who have masses of black players to choose from. with multiple unions to bring players through… you just cant compare.

@ Nama:
    Habana is a much better wing

@ Nama:
    How many white players have been moved from the positions they started out in?

@ MacroPolo:
    The Bulls has no problem going to Kaapfontein to buy white scrumhalfs, centres, flyhalfs, wings. Why not buy black locks/flankers?

The Craven Week starts tomorrow. I’m sure you’ll see a few of them in the Boland, SWD, WP, EP, Border teams.

Nama wrote:

@ MacroPolo:
    The Bulls has no problem going to Kaapfontein to buy white scrumhalfs, centres, flyhalfs, wings. Why not buy black locks/flankers?
    The Craven Week starts tomorrow. I’m sure you’ll see a few of them in the Boland, SWD, WP, EP, Border teams.

Do they have any other choice?

@ MacroPolo:
    You never saw him play at centre to compare.

The only one I can think of right now is Jaques Fourie. He was brought in from FB to centre to be closer to the action.

The other players were taken away further from the action and it is a credit to them that they were able to shine if you take into account the game plan as well.

@ MacroPolo:
    You mean about buying white back line players in Kaapfontein?

Don’t they?

Mapoe is in fact a centre-cum-wing – If we were to count/assess matches/time, one might find that he has more experience as provincial/franchise wing than centre – there is nothing weird about it – there are several players like this, & this versatility should really count in Mapoe’s favour.

Right now, on the brink of the World Cup, we have 3 players who have serious claims to 2 centre berths: De Allende & Mapoe have rich, nay, outstanding 2015 form, & de Villiers bravely recovering from a terrible injur,y is currently not only our most experienced centre, but one of the most outstanding centres to grace the Bok jersey, & is also the Bok captain!

And what would Nama have us do? Play de Allende & Mapoe, & find a new captain …

If fit, JdV is a shoe in either at 12 or 13, and rightly so. In the interests of the team, I’d prefer JdV at 13, with De Allende, the current outstanding back in SA rugby, in his best position at #12.

Mapoe will get his deserved chance to stake his claim for the #13 berth, either in TRC or the RWC – and I think he is good enough to in due course come to own that position, but just not yet …

For me it must be DdA & JdV.

And it has nothing to do about race; rather about experience, courage, leadership & inspiration.

JdV – what a man!

@ Angostura:
    You are being disengenuous now.

You’ll remember that in my very 1st post last night, I reminded you of the fact that JdV is the Bok captain and that he will play if fit. So, I’m not sure where you get your:”And what would Nama have us do?Play de Allende & Mapoe, & find a new captain …”

If you are talking about the team that I posted earlier, it was a response on this request by you:

“Give us your Bok XV merit selection without any consideration of race; give us your Bok merit selection opinion.”

JdV is not available for the RC, so it makes no sense to include him in any team right now. If it was about a team for the RWC, you should’ve said so.

Have a cup of hot milk and sleep lekker.

NAMA,

You are pushing a Political Agenda here… you have been the whole fucking day and some nights this week.

This is your last and only warning, ek is gatvol vir jou kak!

Nama wrote:

@ Angostura:
    You are being disengenuous now.
    You’ll remember that in my very 1st post last night, I reminded you of the fact that JdV is the Bok captain and that he will play if fit. So, I’m not sure where you get your:”And what would Nama have us do?Play de Allende & Mapoe, & find a new captain …”
    If you are talking about the team that I posted earlier, it was a response on this request by you:
    “Give us your Bok XV merit selection without any consideration of race; give us your Bok merit selection opinion.”
    JdV is not available for the RC, so it makes no sense to include him in any team right now. If it was about a team for the RWC, you should’ve said so.
    Have a cup of hot milk and sleep lekker.

15. Willie
    14. Hougie (op vanjaar se vorm)
    13. Mapoe
    12. De Allende
    11. Habana
    10. Jantjies
    9. Pienaar
    8. Vermeulen*
    7. Schalla*
    6. Brussow/Flo
    5. Ruan Botha/Mosterd
    4. Etzebeth
    3. Malherbe
    2. Bissie
    1. Kitshoff

So these players are all available for the RC?

@ Angostura: I can buy that team Angos. Definitely. But, after yesterdays game, I was pretty impressed with Juan P(for a change) and I’d go with his experience and new-found skill and speed. Otherwise, a good team selection.

@ MacroPolo: also a good team Nama. But I think I would go with Matfield for the experience (if I were the coach) and PSdT once he’s fit to play. But its a tight call. No right answer really.

412 @ Tassies:
    Juan P???

Who’s that… or am I now being fokken stupid and cannot connect the name & initial of the surname together, somehow?

Did you mean Ruan Pienaar?

If so, he actually had a good game yesterday and normally I cannot stand him!

@ Tassies: Apologies to MP. I was playing dof (for a change).

@ grootblousmile: look GB everyone knows you are simply plain dof boet. Can’t you see a J is a logical substitute for an R? I mean it’s quite obvious really.

He, gaan kyk weer. Ek het gereageer op Ango wat die storie ingebring het van die loskop wat gereserveer is vir swart spelers. Wat de vok!

Ek kan nie ‘n stukkie fout sien met die gesprek vandag nie.

Jy hoef nie te worrie om my weg te jaag nie. Ek vokkof sommer self.

Totsiens.

I do not want to select a Run-on 15 only, I’d rather select a match-day 23 I’m comfortable with… because the margins are so bloody close between starters & bench players.

Let me in the first instance say that Willie le Roux (despite his hatrick of tries) & JP Pietersen disappointed me yesterday, as did Beast Mtawarira.

417 @ Nama:
    Lekker fokkof, ons het nie jou kak nodig nie!

MacroPolo wrote:

@ Nama:
    How many white players have been moved from the positions they started out in?

James Smal(fullback for Lions)
    Jaco Taute (fullback wing/Lions)
    Mark Andrews (WC 1995 #8)
    Hennie le Roux (EP flyhalf)
    Joe Pietersen ( WP fullback/Cheetah flyhalf)
    Jean de Villiers (left wing in his first test)
    Handre Pollard (#12 Bulls on occasion)
    Theo van Rensburg (wing to fullback for Bokke)
    Mossie(wing/fullback/center)
    Schalla (lock!/flank/#8)
    Tiaan Strauss(flank/#8…from Craven week center!)
    Nick Koster (wing/#8)
    Percy (wing/center/fullback)
    Ruan, Frans…….

And so on….players changed position as the situation and coach demanded, if they were good enough!

Total 81 users including 0 member, 81 guests, 0 bot online