South AfricaWorld XVSpringboks (22) 46 / 10 (10) World XV (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and World XV did battle in an International match at

DHL Newlands, Cape Town at 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT).

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (1)
  • Tries – Damian de Allende (2), Eben Etzebeth (1), Willie le Roux (3), Cobus Reinach (1)
  • Conversions – Handré Pollard (2), Pat Lambie (2)

Word XV:

• Penalties – Mike Harris (1)
  • Tries – Craig Burden (1)
  • Conversions – Mike Harris (1)

South African Springboks
World XV
11 July at 17:00 SA Time
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield (Captain), 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Teboho Mohoje, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jean de Villiers
  • Team: 15 Delon Armitage, 14 Lachie Turner, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Maxime Mermoz, 11 David Smith, 10 Mike Harris, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Luke Whitelock, 7 Steffon Armitage, 6 Jordan Taufua, 5 Bakkies Botha (Captain), 4 Ali Williams, 3 Carl Hayman, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp
  • Replacements: 16 David Roumieu, 17 Alexandre Menini, 18 Petrus du Plessis, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Louis-Benoit Madaule, 21 Maxime Machenaud, 22 Andrew Horrell, 23 Rudi Wulf

Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa), Jason Jaftha (South Africa)
TMO: Deon van Blommestein (South Africa)

643 Responses to Internationals: South Africa vs World XV – Live Game Article

Ek sou graag vir Senatla ook in die span wou sien…maar dan moet hy gebruik word! Nie soos Stormers teen Brumbies met hom gemaak het nie!

Toe DDA heeltyd voor Senatla die bal gevang het en self gehardloop het? 😛

Ek hou ook van Senatla, ek dink Mvovu sal baie sleg moet speel om sy plek te verloor, hopelik sal Senatla sy lyk agter XV rugby sit na die olimpiese spele.

Give us your Bok XV merit selection without any consideration of race; give us your Bok merit selection opinion. @ Angostura:

HIERDIE span wil ek graag sien!
    Wait for it…..

I don’t know if you are waiting for Nama’s or my merit selection, but fwiw, here is my merit selection assuming all players are fit:

1. Steven Kitshoff
    2. Bismarck du Plessis
    3. Frans Malherbe
    4. Eben Etsebeth
    5. Victor Matfield
    6. Francois Louw
    7. Willem Alberts
    8. Duane Vermeulen
    9. Rudy Paige
    10. Pat Lambie
    11. Bryan Habana
    12. Damian de Allende
    13. Jean de Villiers
    14. Cornal Hendricks
    15. Willie le Roux

Nothing radical, & no quotas taken into account, & (honest question) have I short changed any player of colour? Senatla, maybe? But most might say he still has to earn his spurs in Super Rugby … Mtwarira maybe?
    Most will be surprised with my preference for Paige, but I don’t have to take him with blind faith as I would have to do with Fourie du Preez. I liked the way Paige turned the Bulls’ season around. He is not flashy, rather just steady & reliable. Pienaar & Reinach are too erratic.
    Being Bok coach/selector is not easy in a politically charged environment.

People are talking Hougaard at #14 – I would have Ruan Combrinck as my 2nd choice #14/#15.

I would love to find a place for Jesse Kriel & Seabelo but it’s probably still too early.

@ Angostura:
    My team will moer your team. Happy

@ Angostura:
    @ Nama:
    Why no Marcel Coetzee?

@ Angostura:
    “(honest question) have I short changed any player of colour?”

Honest answer: Mapoe

I wonder how Meyers Merit XV will do against these teams 😆

Nama
    Your team, my team & HM’s most recent Bok XV all had 4 P’soC:
    It seems as though the 3 of us might have a lot in common as regards the demographic representation of our team, albeit we might not agree on individual selections, which is quite UNDERSTANDABLE: So many individuals, so many opinions, of hoe?

So how about cutting ole HM some slack? He is just like you and I – we’re similar in broad strokes, but different in the minutiae …
    I’m not surprised: Much ado about nothing.

@ Angostura:
    Was waiting for Nama’s actually…
    But you have put together an interesting team, I differ on Paige and Alberts, though not much. I would put Reinach/Ruan and Schalla there instead. And Marcel ipo Louw.

Nama wrote:

@ Angostura:
    My team will moer your team.

It depends on who the referee chooses to penalize at scrum time… could honestly go either way. 😮

@ MacroPolo:
    Dis ‘n meriete span. Wink

@ Nama:
    duidelik verskil almal se meriete oor merite.

365 @ MacroPolo:

Marcell on the bench – Flo has done nothing to deserve being dropped.

@ Angostura:
    I see that you’ve sommer classified DDA now. Wink

At least mine are there on merit. The problem I have with him is that he selects his players in the positions that he reserved (even if they don’t deserve to be in the team) while failing to select others on form who deserve to be there. It’s not just about the numbers.

Nama wrote:

@ Angostura:
    “(honest question) have I short changed any player of colour?”

Honest answer: Mapoe

Amazed Huh! Which one is the ” non-merit-worthy” quota player, for lack of a better word?

374 @ Nama:
    You are only talking about Mapoe, that is the only player he could possibly select out of position from where he played mostly in Super Rugby, something that happens in all international teams, even Marcel played blindside while Schalk came on as 8th man… there is no conspiracy theory to it.

@ Nama:
    Lambie played 15, is that because english players are predestined to play Full back in HM’s team?

I’m referring to the fact that he did not include Mapoe in his XV when Mapoe had been the stand out 13 all year long.

Well done Novak D.

Time for Roger ( The Ego) Federer to retire.. he will most likely never win another slam in his life and can only destroy his legacy by continuing

376& 377 @ MacroPolo:
    You make no sense.

Read again, take a deep breath and try to understand.

We are not just talking about HM’s selection policy NOW, or at least I’m not. I’m looking at his selection history where good, in form players were not selected because he already had his preferred players in the “reserved positions” in his team.

Remember when he took Habana, JPP, Basson, Mvovo and Ruhle on an EOYT but ended up playing an out of form Hougaard on the one wing?

Nama wrote:

I’m referring to the fact that he did not include Mapoe in his XV when Mapoe had been the stand out 13 all year long.

ok, thought you okes were talking #14…

Nama wrote:

376& 377 @ MacroPolo:
    You make no sense.
    Read again, take a deep breath and try to understand.
    We are not just talking about HM’s selection policy NOW, or at least I’m not. I’m looking at his selection history where good, in form players were not selected because he already had his preferred players in the “reserved positions” in his team.
    Remember when he took Habana, JPP, Basson, Mvovo and Ruhle on an EOYT but ended up playing an out of form Hougaard on the one wing?

So it was not reserved?

@ Nama:
    Are you confusing HM’s selection policy or that of Super Rugby coaches? Likely.

Farking hell this straw man is getting huge

@ Angostura:
    Touche!

@ Angostura:
    Touche!

Ons wag nogsteeds vir jou span 😆

Nama, every coach has his prefernces
    &
    every fan, scribe or critic (including you) has his preferences

Whether you accept it or not, you unfortunately have to live with it …

(Have pity on me, I have to live with FS & JPP at both The Sharks & The Bokke!)

@ MacroPolo:
    HM seems to have reserved 3 positions for black players. Loose head prop (as Ango suggested earlier), wing and full back. Now, since there are two wings in a team, it means that he can select a maximum of 4 plyers.

BUT…and here is the problem I have with him. He seems to have decided on a maximum of 3 black players in his team. So, if he has a black full back (Kirchner in the example I highlighted), he will play a Hougie or Willie on the one wing, with Habana/JPP and Beast making up the 3.

That’s why he had no problem not selecting Jantjies/JdJ, and now Mapoe, as 1st choice starters despite the fact that they were the best in their respective positions at some stage during his tenure as coach.

Do you understand now?

@ Angostura:
    Touche!MacroPolo wrote:

@ Angostura:
    Touche!

Ons wag nogsteeds vir jou span

Selle as Nama se span, behalwe Coetzee op #6 en Vic op #5.
    Was interessante gesprek vandag hier, en ek stem heeltemal saam met Angustura, in “broad strokes” verskil nie een van ons klomp radikaal van HM nie, snaaks genoeg!

Total 73 users including 0 member, 73 guests, 0 bot online