South AfricaWorld XVSpringboks (22) 46 / 10 (10) World XV (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and World XV did battle in an International match at

DHL Newlands, Cape Town at 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT).

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (1)
  • Tries – Damian de Allende (2), Eben Etzebeth (1), Willie le Roux (3), Cobus Reinach (1)
  • Conversions – Handré Pollard (2), Pat Lambie (2)

Word XV:

• Penalties – Mike Harris (1)
  • Tries – Craig Burden (1)
  • Conversions – Mike Harris (1)

South African Springboks
World XV
11 July at 17:00 SA Time
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield (Captain), 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Teboho Mohoje, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jean de Villiers
  • Team: 15 Delon Armitage, 14 Lachie Turner, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Maxime Mermoz, 11 David Smith, 10 Mike Harris, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Luke Whitelock, 7 Steffon Armitage, 6 Jordan Taufua, 5 Bakkies Botha (Captain), 4 Ali Williams, 3 Carl Hayman, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp
  • Replacements: 16 David Roumieu, 17 Alexandre Menini, 18 Petrus du Plessis, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Louis-Benoit Madaule, 21 Maxime Machenaud, 22 Andrew Horrell, 23 Rudi Wulf

Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa), Jason Jaftha (South Africa)
TMO: Deon van Blommestein (South Africa)

643 Responses to Internationals: South Africa vs World XV – Live Game Article

1 8 9 10 11 12 22

@ Nama:

Then only 4 loosies. This is just the squad make-up for the RWC.
    For the WC, I would expect him to go 18 – 13 – we know the injury/attrition rate amongst the loose forwards over the course of a tournament.

Proteas sukkel, slegs 4 lopies van laaste 2 beurte…als draai nou om Faf lyk my.

O flok…daar is Faf ook moer toe!

JP en Farhaan ons laaste hoop…

Proteas 95/5 after 29 overs. Not looking good.

@ IAAS:
    I think so too.

8 front row players. (3 hookers, 2 specialist LH’s, 2 specialist TH’s and one who can play both sides eg Nyakane/Coenie)
    4 locks
    6 loosies (5 specialists and one who can double as 7/lock as well eg PSDT)

Duminy gone.

100/6 now.

Behardien needs to step up big time today.

9 frontrowers – same number as he’ll take to RWC

It’s all going south in Dhaka atm.

Proteas 141/8 after 41 overs. Maybe bowled out for the 1st time in an ODI against Bangladesh.

@ Angostura:
    Where do you sacrifice? Locks or loosies?

What’s your split between backs and forwards?

@ Angostura:
    Oh yes, we were talking about the RWC, not this squad.

IAAS: For the WC, I would expect him to go 18 – 13

Nama: @ IAAS: I think so too.

8 front row players. (3 hookers, 2 specialist LH’s, 2 specialist TH’s and one who can play both sides eg Nyakane/Coenie)
    4 locks
    6 loosies (5 specialists and one who can double as 7/lock as well eg PSDT)

160/9 now.

5 overs remaining.

Behardien last man out for 36.

SA all out for 162.

They’ll have to bowl really well to win this one.

281 Nama wrote:

Oh yes, we were talking about the RWC, not this squad

Well, HM is taking 9 frontrowers to AUS (Schalk Brits, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Vincent Koch, Frans Malherbe, Tendai Mtawarira, Trevor Nyakane, Adriaan Strauss, Heinke van der Merwe) & he’ll probably also take the same 9 frontrowers to the UK.

RWC forwards allocation:
    frontrow: 9
    locks: 4
    Loose forwards: 5

18/13 split

Nama wrote:

Stormers: 5
    Lions: 2
    Bulls: 7
    Sharks: 8
    Cheetahs: 3
    Overseas based: 6
    The two top SA franchises in SR this year provide just 7 players to the squad while the teams that ended 3rd and 4th, provide a whopping 15 players to the squad.
    Talk about selection “on form”.

What? the only 3 players that are unlucky is probably the Lions, but the fact is the Lions players are still paying a heavy price for losing out in 2013.

What other players are missing out? that were “on form” but still ended outside the top 6.

Nama wrote:

Stormers: 5
    Lions: 2
    Bulls: 7
    Sharks: 8
    Cheetahs: 3
    Overseas based: 6
    The two top SA franchises in SR this year provide just 7 players to the squad while the teams that ended 3rd and 4th, provide a whopping 15 players to the squad.
    Talk about selection “on form”.

OBSESSED with provincialism

@ Angostura:
    Is it OK if I have an opinion that differs from yours?

“he’ll probably also take the same 9 front rowers to the UK.”

You seem to forget that Coenie was part of his plans the last few years. He would probably have been in the squad if he was not nursing an injury. Kitshoff had the season of his life and may very well have been in the squad if it was not for his injury. So, if you add those two to the current 9 going on tour before you can finalise the frontrowers in the RWC squad

I don’t think he should select more than 8 As IAAF pointed out, the injury/attrition rate among your loosies is always a concern and therefor you need more cover there. We already have in Alberts and Vermeulen two certainties in the loose trio who’ll be coming back from injuries right before the start of the RWC. Who’s to say that they’ll not break down again?

LH: Beast; Kitshoff
    Hookers: Bissie; Strauss; Brits (ahead of Scarra because of his experience in the NH. Not sure that HM game plan suits his style though)
    TH: Malherbe; Jannie (not my preferred choice but HM has invested in him the last 4 years. Can’t see him being dropped for Koch tbh)

Coenie or Nyakane the 8th one.

I think Koch and Heinkie will lose out in the end. Unfortunately so especially for Koch.

@ MacroPolo:
    And yet the two teams that provide the bulk of the players for the squad both ended outside the top 8. Talk about form players being selected.

Is it maybe because the players of the franchise/province that YOU support are getting preferential treatment from the coach that you are willing to turn a blind eye?

Talk about being obsessed with provincialism! Pondering

Good start by Rabada and the Proteas. Getting a wicket with the 1st ball of the innings.

Sorry, the 1st ball he bowled.

@ Nama:
    I like how you always try to emphasize “Meyers gameplan” as if any other SA team plays any differently 🙂

So by your own logic, the All Blacks should only consist out of Highlanders and Hurricanes players?

And of course I turn a blind eye, it is absurd to compare YOUR teams team sheet with a newly announced springbok squad.

and all the key players are there, the Stormers were competitive this year because of their scrum, and all the players got included in the initial squad, Kitchoff, Koch, Malherbe, Scarra, other influential players like Schalk, DDA and Vermeulen as well, it is quite possible that Kitchoff and Vermeulen would have gone on tour as well, the rest of the team? Who else put their hand up?

@ MacroPolo:
    Oh and Eben, the only other Stormers player who could have been in contention (in the real world) is the Greek… Nice 10-man rugby for the Stormers and crash ball from 12… oh no wait, the Stormers gameplan is “revolutionary” 😆

Nama wrote:

@ MacroPolo:
    Is it maybe because the players of the franchise/province that YOU support are getting preferential treatment from the coach that you are willing to turn a blind eye?

This is also pretty hilarious considering, Hougie, Flip or even Lappies. Did anyone make a scene that the Bulls players are getting the opposite of preferential treatment?

@ MacroPolo:
    “So by your own logic, the All Blacks should only consist out of Highlanders and Hurricanes players?”

Now where the hell did I suggest that the squad should only consist of Stormers and Lions players for you to come to such a conclusion? Are you retarded or what?

Ag man don’t tell me about the initial squad. It means diddly squat.

2nd wicket down. Rabada again.

Bangladesh now 28/2.

294 @ Nama:
    your comment only consists out of name calling and added nothing to the debate.

Why are you so insistent that most of the squad should consist out of Stormers and Lions players then? They performed mediocre in the Super Rugby Tournament, and a bulk of the players selected have actually achieved something, and that is even more beneficial in my opinion.

The initial squad does not fit your opinion, nor does the touring squad for that matter, because if your favorite players were fit, it could very well be the majority of squad… but any reason for a good crying rant hey? 😉

@ MacroPolo:
    Hougie- yes, lots of questions were asked about his omission from the squad.

Flip – he declared himseld unavailable for selection.

Lappies – Who? Really? You guys feel aggrieved that he was not selected but good sports fans that you are, you take it on the chin?

…296 not majority*, but pretty much the largest contribution the the Bok squad, if that is THAT important to you.

297 @ Nama:
    I never said I feel aggrieved, that is my point, I am not making a big deal about it.

@ MacroPolo:
    “Why are you so insistent that most of the squad should consist out of Stormers and Lions players then? They performed mediocre in the Super Rugby Tournament, and a bulk of the players selected have actually achieved something, and that is even more beneficial in my opinion.”

You right The Stormers and the Lions performed mediocre in SR. They only ended up in 7th and 8th position on the log respectively.

But even that mediocre performances by them eclipsed those of the Bulls (8th) and the Sharks (11th). How would you rate their performances if those that ended above the are just “mediocre”?

1 8 9 10 11 12 22

Total 46 users including 0 member, 46 guests, 0 bot online