It’s PUB NIGHT!
The week started on a heavy note, my 2nd mom in ICU… and as “deurmekaar” as your regular Sharks supporter!
The PUB also celebrates old timers tonight, Ryecatcher, Angostura… and the softy, which is my stepmom, Nora Geldenhuys, a descendant of one of the big Ground Barons of the original Pretoria – General Opperman (who was a Boer General and closest neighbour of General Jan Smuts).
Of course we also received news this week of the retirement of a Springbok Old Timer and lock legend, Bakkies Botha!
What’s better than wishing these old folgies well and capping it off in the PUB?
This coming weekend the Springboks take on the last enemy on tour for 2014, Wales, who held the All Blacks till the 69th minute, this past weekend! One more BIG push for the Springboks, after a year filled with Super Rugby and a very busy International window.
The Springboks overseas contingent is now gone… back to their Clubs, as the International Window is already officially a thing of the past.
OK, let’s focus on the PUB tonight…. the idea with PUB NIGHT is to lighten up our dull Tuesday evenings with music, comedy and fun.
Rugby takes a backseat tonight as the clan and fellow rugby nutters gather and wheel in their old timer friends…
Read the rules below carefully, or you WILL get burnt!
Just for clarity sake, when someone does not adhere to the Rules of the PUB, EVERYBODY jumps on them and pummels them, right… understood?
Here’s how it works:
- Before you are allowed to greet, comment or take part in general discussion about anything else, you enter the PUB with a lekker Music Video found on Youtube.
- You copy the URL (web address) of the clip… and you make sure it is NOT the Mobile version of the URL (the Mobile version has a solitary “m” in the beginnig of the URL… just replace the “m” with “www” if there is a solitary “m” somewhere).
- Sometimes you have to replace the “http” part with “https” too… but we do not take excuses, we will pummel you anyway!
- You Paste the URL into the Comment Form Box of this Article and you SUBMIT your comment.
- Your video will appear in the Comments section.
- If you fail with your attempt and it does not appear, we WILL kak you out, we will pummel you with insults… and LAUGH at you, you silly muppit!
- Once you have a successful Video loaded, you can take part in the discussion and add more music, but beware, every broken link will cop you an “Uitkak” and a laugh at your expense.
- Failure to abide by the rules, will be punished by requiring you to say a seriously denigrating thing about the Provincial / Club side you support and asking all of us, by name, for forgiveness and acknowledging our clear superiority.
- Most important rule: Nobody is allowed to get angry… this is all in good fun!
Fire away!
We’ll have to have an old song tonight, one that is fitting so as not to make the Old Age Home feel unwelcome!
Come on, show me up, do better than me!
More of the same
@ Charo:
good choice in music though ๐
one of the best lyricists
Some of you may be getting happy seeing the title of this song thinking it applies to me, but am just going for now – I will be back have a good night here all:
@ IAAS:
if you say so. ๐
another oldie but goodie
55 @ Victoriabok:
Einde ’87 aangesluit, 2de semester ’88 opgegaan
sorry, wrong track ๐ณ
and this was the response from the south
lynyrd skynyrd sweet home alabama
Everytime I hear this one it brings back good memories of a bad time
It was a June morning in 1986, we were sitting in a Casspir in Guguletu
I had my small Blaupunkt portable radio tuned to Cape Good Hope FM or whatever it was called, and this song was playing
One of the guys put the handset on the radio and played it over the PA
There was a roadblock a bit further up the road manned by Paratroop campers
They all suddenly started boogying in the road
The taxi drivers crapped themselves laughing
It lightened the mood immediately
My wife and I became grandparents last year. My son, a young man of eclectic music taste, & a part time professional musician, was, I believe, the driving force in giving his son the 2nd name,’Lemmy’ (after Lemmy Kilmister of Motรถrhead); I just hope that does not prove to be prophetic ๐ (” He (Lemmy Kilmister) attended Ysgol Syr Thomas Jones school in Amlwch, where he was nicknamed Lemmy, although he is unsure why; it would later be claimed that the name originated from the phrase “lemmy [lend me] a quid ’til Friday” because of his habit of borrowing money from people to feed his addiction to slot machines.”)
Art when he could still remember the lyrics ๐
this is more recent!http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gWubhw8SoBE
so is this
nortie wrote:
Onthou jy nog die een?
Lekker warm meisie ook
60 @ Bullscot:
Thank you very much, Bullscot
That was indeed angelic & bread for the soul
IAAS wrote:
Nice
78 @ Victoriabok: