WalesSouth AfricaWales (3) 12 / 6 (3) Springboks (Final Score)

Wales and the South African Springboks did battle in the End Of Year Tours at

Millennium stadium, Cardiff, Wales at 16:30 SA Time (14:30 BST & GMT).

Take Note that the England vs Australia game was at the same time slot as the Wales vs South Africa game, therefore we concentrated on the Wales vs South Africa game, with SCORE UPDATES at the Bottom of the Article on the England vs Australia game.

Wales:

• Penalties – Leigh Halfpenny (4)

• Penalties – Pat Lambie (2)

Wales
South African Springboks
29 November at 16:30
  • Team: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Liam Williams, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Rhys Webb, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (Captain), 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Alun Wyn Jones, 4 Jake Ball, 3 Samson Lee, 2 Scott Baldwin, 1 Gethin Jenkins
    Replacements: 16 Emyr Phillips, 17 Aaron Jarvis, 18 Rhodri Jones, 19 Luke Charteris, 20 James King, 21 Mike Phillips, 22 Rhys Priestland, 23 Scott Williams
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jan Serfontein, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Teboho Mohoje, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
    Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Julian Redelinghuys, 19 Lodewyk de Jager, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Handré Pollard, 23 Damian de Allende

Expected weather: The roof will be closed, as always, but it will be damp underfoot and even though the surface has improved, it still cuts up at times. High of 12°C and low of 7°C
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: George Clancy (Ireland), Pascal Gauzère (France)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

EnglandAustraliaEngland (13) 26 / 17 (3) Wallabies (Final Score)

England and the Australian Wallabies did battle in the End Of Year Tours at

Twickenham Stadium, London, England at 16:30 SA Time (14:30 BST & GMT).

The match was broadcast LIVE on SuperSport 6 & CSN on TV in SA.

656 Responses to End Of Year Tours: Wales vs South Africa – Live Game Article

charlesm wrote:

In post 284 you said: “12 – finally we are relieved from mr nice guy”
    Now you’ve said: @ 406 “how bad can it get for HM, next might be JdeV … ”
    Last night it seemed as if you were almost delighted with Jean’s injury….are you having 2nd thoughts now ??

he was just too happy we lost

superBul wrote:

If i had time i would show that no New Zealand winger played 100 tests, i cant even think of a 60 test winger in NZ. I might be right, but they come fast and furious and then new blood brings new skills.
    Christiaan Cullen i think had about 60 tests.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_leading_rugby_union_test_try_scorers

definitely joe rococo played about 60-70 test matches

@ MacroBok:
    did you see the strike rates?

also nonu, conrad smith, mills muliaina, carter, umaga all had lengthy careers at the All Blacks

It was a doos comment from you bottom line whatever your views on him as player.

But then again you seem like a but of a doos.

it is no secret the All Blacks were/have been consistently the best team in the world, we are fortunate the World rankings are so made that they simply cant pull away from everyone else. Of course they score more tries than anyone.

definitely joe rococo played about 60-70 test matches

Right he played 68 scored 46 tries at 0.676 per match. You will see on the list that his tries per match is not the standard maybe he played too long

look at 58 played 46 tries 0.793 Christian Cullen
    62 49 0.790 Doug Howlett

106 57 0.538 Bryan Habana

33 30 0.909 Julian Savea

Is this about Habana or Jdv?

Just look at Super rugby stats, does this help prove your point?

59, Doug Howlett, Blues (55), Hurricanes (1), Highlanders (3); (1997–2007)
    58, Caleb Ralph, Crusaders (52), Blues (3), Chiefs (3); (1996–2008)
    57, Joe Roff, Brumbies; (1996–2004)
    56, Christian Cullen, Hurricanes; (1996–2003)
    56, Stirling Mortlock, Brumbies (48), Rebels (8); (1998–2012)
    56, Bryan Habana, Bulls (37), Stormers (19); (2005–13)
    48, Tana Umaga, Hurricanes (47), Chiefs (1); (1996–2007, 2011)
    47, Ma’a Nonu, Hurricanes (42), Blues (1); (2003–)
    43, Joeli Vidiri, Blues; (1996–2001)
    42, Sitiveni Sivivatu, Chiefs; (2002–11)

@ gunther:
    I am fine to be called a doos. Hope you feel great now. I am at least a person who can think for my self and see things out of the populist view. i am not here to be a yes baas guy. Look at my arguments over the years, i come up with facts.
    If you look at the strike rate of players in Australia and NZ you will see that the game is bigger than A player. If you dont add value you are replaced.
    The NZ blogger here will off course praise our dumb play, they benefit from our stupidity.

Is this about Habana or Jdv?

No it is all about us clinging onto players with no penetration and success in scoring like their opposition

So , Jean was not even on that list he is in the next catogory Players reaching 30 tries. 101 tests 26 tries

Toulon to play against the Sharks in February

The Sharks are going to get destroyed 😆

Oh i thought you were making a sweeping statement now

@ MacroBok:
    Did you read that article on IOL?

“To win the World Cup, the Boks are going to need to win three or four tough games on consecutive Saturdays, and to do that you require plenty of youthful energy, both in the games themselves and on the training field between matches”

The team that played this weekend were not that old? JDV, Matfield, just a quick glance at the bench, Strauss is the only player over 25?

Bakkies wont be a huge loss, when Flip, PSDT and maybe Ruan Botha are fit, then even Lood might not even be going to the World Cup.

Jaque, well, he is not a huge loss. We have raraly seen him play the last few years, and there is still a long season of Super Rugby, maybe JdJ can have 2 good years in a row, Sithole, Mapoe will also have a point to prove.

15. Willie 25yo
    14. Cornal 26yo
    13. Jan 21yo
    12. JdV 33yo
    11. Lwazi 28yo
    10. Pat 24yo
    9. Reinach 24yo
    8. Duane 28yo
    7. Oupa 24yo
    6. Marcell 23yo
    5. Matfield 37yo
    4. Eben 23yo
    3. Coenie 25yo
    2. Bissie 30yo
    1. Beast 29yo

16. Strauss 29yo
    17. Trev 25yo
    18. Julian 25yo
    19. Lood 21yo
    20. Carr 23yo
    21. Hougie 26yo
    22. Pollard 20yo
    23. De Allende 23yo

“Old” Team… Seriously?

The average age of our team that played Wales was 25.8

The average age of the All Black team that played Wales was 27.2

Maybe if we had more experience we could have pulled it through at the end?

My opinion is that we dont have enough calm heads in the team especially when we get any form of go forward in attack, the guys are simply not showing patience in attack. There is still a big difference between how we played on this tour and how we played in Argentina.

Boks lose. 12- 6. Crazy. Referee got paid about 10 000 000 bucks to get this result.
    So kak were the Wales team.

So kak is everytone in questioning how kak the ref was. once again, the old refrain, playing the game, adapting the rules. being the captain.
    rarely have i seen cowards the way the northern , like Northern Hemisphere try to make up for their defective rugby….

Against SA, NZ and even Aus.

really pisspoor… we are so political correct, again…. f uk me

RSA was and is at their current play useles.. no doubt, IRB… WR…… #foknetnogpolitiek

@ MacroBok:
    i had no issue with age. I said seldome no never would you find a AB, wing in the team because of his experience. Well the stats show it, if he played all his tricks and the opponents know all his moves he is replaced. I say we are playing the same guys over and over hoping they would get better. We will not dare.

Ag i am tired i made my point and will be ripped apart tomorrow.
    But i will never support stupid game plans. Get help HM

The stats show the All Black players score more tries in general, all the way from Super Rugby to the top for the last twenty years… If that is your point, I agree

My point is simple, you are good enough to make tries or you are replaced. The stats i used is successful players, there will be many many more with 10 to 20 tests that were discarded BECAUSE they are not in the test team to learn they must have the skills and ability to add value. NO Passengers.

Jean has the freedom of my great little city, Gansbaai, the boytjie from De Kelders is a legend in those parts. I hope he will come home and take a breather over a Chardonnay or two, he deserved it.
    So Superbul, next time you visit me in JeanTown CEM, mind your language bruvva, a doos comment like that and your blue ballas will be ”chumming” on the waves towards Dyers Island! Tounge-Out

And Andre, if you read this (I know you pop in occasionally), take no notice of Superbul here, and send our best to Jean and family from us RTs.

Send him best wishes from me too. I did not even see how he was injured, i just commented on the fact that renewal is possible now. I never ever in my life wished harm to anyone on a sports field.
    But it is a game with high injury tolls, he knew he would get injured again. If it is a career ending injury i would feel sorry for him.

It does not change my stance on him. He is not brilliant and he is not a pivot and many here had their doubts about his leadership and ability.

Good bye i am off to a great week of work.
    Nice gardening projects wait.

I must work with all my injuries, back, ribs and shoulders. No hero status for me.

Captain Jean is in the twilight of his career.
    The injury is devastating for him as player & surely most rugby fans worldwide would feel sympathy for him that a standout career could possibly come to an end in this manner. Wish you a speedy recovery, gentleman Jean. (There’s nothing wrong with being a sporting gentleman – compare “gentleman Jim” Corbett who was a revered world boxing heavyweight champion).

Be that as it may:
    (1) Jan Serfontein may actually prove to be better than Jean (at this stage of their respective careers) & is ready to make Bok #12 his own (please no Frans Steyn or Jaco Taute – then rather de Allende!);
    (2) The biggest loss for the Bokke is that of Jean’s captaincy (& public relations) seeing there are no obvious captaincy replacements (Vic M & Bismarck D are imo not Bok captaincy material, & Pierre Spies is not even Bok player material) – The only solution seems to be Adriaan Strauss, which may entrench the ascendancy of Adriaan & the decline of the legendary Bismarck.

The loss of Jean has far reaching implications.

PS: Individually the Bokke weren’t as bad as most bloggers over here suggest (but hopefully we’ve now seen the back of Hougaard the Bok); others (even normally standout players) also made mistakes, some of them serious. But as a team the Bokke on this tour seemed confused, uninspired, & lacking in vision & tactical acumen. In 2014 they also appear to have been afflicted with Bulls’ disease (a battle to win away from home). To my armchair eye this appears to be more of a leadership/coaching/tactical (off field & on field) problem than anything else.

As regards that (imo) wrongly issued yellow card, it may have had an impact on the end result of this final Test, but irrespective the legitimacy of the card, the Bokke did not deserve to win this final Test, & overall the quality of their rugby on this tour was poor.

Can this be rectified ahead of the RWC? Dunno – seems to be more a matter of brains than brawn …

To say that SA were dissapointing is an understatement.

As for the injury that JdV sustained, I stated on this forum earlier this year that IMHO it is a massive error for the coach to be building his squad around “veterans” liks Jdv and VM.

I stated at the time that as they are, the chances of a carreer ending injury increases exponentially at international level, and so has it now come to pass.

The reality is that the chances of JdV getting rehabilitated in time for the RWC are at best slim.

This leaves HM with having to find a centre combination that can hold up the challenge of winning 7 games on the trot under trying, Autumn NH conditions, with only a handful of games as a combination under their belt.

Likewise HM declined the opportunity to introduce new blood in a number of other possitions, and I fear he may well pay the ultimate price come October 2015.

I wish Jean the very best recovery possible, but fear the long term prognosis may be worse than we can all imagine.

Has the full extent of the injury been established yet?

How much damage has been done to the ligaments and which (if any) are damaged?

SA’s RWC 2015 challenge may well have become de-railed on Saturday afternoon.

I can’t believe some people are thinking that losing JDV with less than a year to go before the wc is a good thing. Who in his place?

Also, judging him by tries scored against wingers??

Now I’ve seen it all.

Good now piss off and fetch your shovel.

Total 777 users including 0 member, 777 guests, 0 bot online