WalesSouth AfricaWales (3) 12 / 6 (3) Springboks (Final Score)

Wales and the South African Springboks did battle in the End Of Year Tours at

Millennium stadium, Cardiff, Wales at 16:30 SA Time (14:30 BST & GMT).

Take Note that the England vs Australia game was at the same time slot as the Wales vs South Africa game, therefore we concentrated on the Wales vs South Africa game, with SCORE UPDATES at the Bottom of the Article on the England vs Australia game.

Wales:

• Penalties – Leigh Halfpenny (4)

• Penalties – Pat Lambie (2)

Wales
South African Springboks
29 November at 16:30
  • Team: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Liam Williams, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Rhys Webb, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (Captain), 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Alun Wyn Jones, 4 Jake Ball, 3 Samson Lee, 2 Scott Baldwin, 1 Gethin Jenkins
    Replacements: 16 Emyr Phillips, 17 Aaron Jarvis, 18 Rhodri Jones, 19 Luke Charteris, 20 James King, 21 Mike Phillips, 22 Rhys Priestland, 23 Scott Williams
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jan Serfontein, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Teboho Mohoje, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
    Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Julian Redelinghuys, 19 Lodewyk de Jager, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Handré Pollard, 23 Damian de Allende

Expected weather: The roof will be closed, as always, but it will be damp underfoot and even though the surface has improved, it still cuts up at times. High of 12°C and low of 7°C
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: George Clancy (Ireland), Pascal Gauzère (France)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

EnglandAustraliaEngland (13) 26 / 17 (3) Wallabies (Final Score)

England and the Australian Wallabies did battle in the End Of Year Tours at

Twickenham Stadium, London, England at 16:30 SA Time (14:30 BST & GMT).

The match was broadcast LIVE on SuperSport 6 & CSN on TV in SA.

656 Responses to End Of Year Tours: Wales vs South Africa – Live Game Article

Pollrd was about to kick a penalty out over the dead ball line in the last few minutes of the game but the stupid Welsh wing gave him a life line by trying to keep the ball in play resulting into a Bok scrum 5m from their goal line.

Is that that much different from Morne not kicking out against the Aus or are we going to use his age/inexperience as an excuse?

@ Charo:
    I think the ref indicated that Hendricks pulled on his arm while they were both in the air, not realising that Hendricks dislocated a finger while jumping for the ball.

Puts JdV’s decision to wait for Read to come down before he tackled him ( when Mc Caw scored the try) into perspective. As Mallet pointed out, the receiving jumper has all the privileges.

Time for HM to go. He is clueless when it comes to the modern game.

And appoints who? Jake White?

HM’s plans are coming together afa he and his fans are concerned. This is just a little hiccup.

Next year we’ll have FdP available and then everything will change for the better. Wink

The power going off 5 mins from the end was a symbolic end of the year. Apart from the last two minutes of the first half and about twentt mins of the second half i didnt see the whole game. Just as we started building some momentum with guys getting over the antage line the mal ref decided to send cornal off(as pointed out by the linesman and calling for the tv rec broken record norts) then if there was any doubt we completely lost the plot when francois came on. Disappointing end to a disappointing year, key moment was when AGAIN we kicked for touch at the end of the second half. It is like we have a god complex regarding our rolling maul, but teams seems to defend it with ease lately.

@ MacroBok:
    end of the first half*

Well done to Wales, in the end they simply wanted it more.

It really looks like Morne will be the only flyhalf for the WC at this stage, the current crop of flyhalves simply cant string 2 or 3 good games together.

@ MacroBok:
    “Disappointing end to a disappointing year…”

I thought the year was GREAT from your perspective until the lost against Ireland. We did beat the AB somewhere along the line during the year, remember? Wasn’t that the aim?

Wasn’t that maybe our downfall on the EOYT?

“Usually in the last 20 minutes the game opens up and we play some of our best rugby and if you look at previous games they have lost in the last 10 minutes,” he said. (Meyer)

…and you didn’t think that they were also building “character” while tey were losing in te last 10 minutes, did you now. The lost in the last 10 minutes against the AB was probably the last straw for them. Still, you thought tat they would just do it again if you bring on your subs.

Stupid coach. This ain’t Super Rugby.

and the IRB should just come out and make a rule that the team that kicked is not allowed to challenge for the ball at all @ Nama:
    This new “ball in hand” thing irritates the shit out of me.

Beating the all blacks is what equated success to people at the end of last year, it did not matter that we won something like 10/12 tests? this year we lost 4 games BUT we beat the all Blacks witha “ball in hand” approach.

People at PW are saying it, Gary Gold wants the Sharks to play more “Ball in hand” and even the bulls are jumping on the bandwagon.

Kick Morne to the curb because we want more “ball in hand rugby”?

I want us to win.

But how do we explain terrible handling from guys like Willie? he was unbelievable in the EOYT last year, could not set a foot wrong, he did not suddenly become a bad Northern Hemisphere player.

338 @ MacroBok:
    Are you talking about kicking for poles or game management?

What a revelation Pollard and Janneman were on the tour up north? Are they going to bring the cup back home for us next year? Wink

@ Nama:
    Our subs was always going to be critical @ Nama:
    Apart from the English game, Pat was not convincing either, while he was good last year.

One of our problems is that we are trying to play a quick game but the guys are just not focused on it at all, we pass to players in terrible positions and they get isolated or we force a pass, it is good and well but the players who played Super Rugby all year are simply not conditioned for it.

Surely you have to admit it has to be difficult to have this kind of approach when none of our teams but maybe the Cheetahs really played attacking rugby in SR, in the later stages of SR the Stormers were awesome in the counter attack, but still regularly had those one of runners running straight at the defensive line.

@ MacroBok:
    You also don’t really want Jakeball, do you? You were just as critical of the Sharks game as some of us despite the fact that they won the conference. The question is, how do we get to the middle ground?

Maybe HM should have a talk with AC. He was able to change things around midway through the season…or was it Gert? Fuck knows?

Just go talk to someone in WP/Stormers country. It can be done. Happy

@ Nama:
    and yes we need to take our kicks at goal, without a doubt. especially when we are 3-all

@ Nama:
    There definitely has to be a middle ground, I was pissed off with Morne against Aus, but with all the grief he gets, but I still back an approach where morne is at 10 and willie at 15, then willie can slot into the flyhalf channel on attack… but do we have a scrumhalf who takes the right decision about who to pass to?

Reinach was streets better than Hougard, Rudy Paige would have been better on this tour… but Jaco has this weird pause when he picks up the ball at some phases, I blame Super Rugby because we lack support runners that run correct lines or to the right spaces.

346 @ MacroBok:
    It is like Reinach pauses because he does not know who to pass to

@ MacroBok:
    Here’s the thing, Macro. When HM started his tenure as coach, he had a certain game plan in his mind. He selected players accordingly. Then he found out that his game plan was out of date and he started to evolve it into a more ball in hand approach but…he kept the same players that he trusted with his 1st game plan.

Does that make sense? You are not going to change Coetzee (for example) into an off loading loosie just because you have decided that you have changed your game plan. He is stuck in his ways.

Why not drop him and start with Carr or Kriel because he does not fit the ball in hand/off load in the tackle approach. But we know that that won’t happen because HM invested 3 years in Coetzee and he is not going to throw him to the dogs at this stage.

HM’s loyalty to his “uitverkorenes” is going to be his, and the Bokkes, downfall.

@ Nama:
    Die bok bestuur het moeilikheid vir hulself geskep om te veel na die armchair supporters te luister.

Kyk maak nie saak watse gameplan ons speel nie, en dit maak nie saak watse gameplan the All Blacks speel nie, wat hulle n nuwe level gee is hulle taktiese skoppe, Ierland se sukses die jaar is gebour op Sexton… dit is een van die belangrikste fondasies vir sukses en ons mis dit, die waarheid is ons mis fdp.

As Aaron Smith ooit seerkry gaan daar n leemte wees by die All Blacks

@ Nama:
    Jammer maar Marcel Coetzee was damn goed gewees die jaar in kombinasie met Duane, ons het n blindekant flank erg gemis in Europa waar oupa maar n powderpuff was.

Alberts en FDP sal n nuwe dimensie skep by die bokke… mits hulle fiks is.

@ MacroBok:
    Then we blame our scrum halfs for taking two steps before the pass. They do it because the don’t know who or where the hell they have to pass to.

Lack of communication from their fly halfs, maybe. I don’t know. That’s what you get when you allow the scrum half to dictate the play instead of the fly half. Hougie taking a tap from a penalty and then kick the ball out on the full. Must surely be the end of his international career if HM is consistent. Seeing how he treated Morne after his fuckup against Aus.

There was no way that Divan Serfontein didn’t know where Michael Doep was despite the fact that Michael was the junior in the partnership. He was the fly half and therefor he called the shots (moves).

For some reason the “y” key does not work so lekker. 😉

@ Nama:
    Yep Hougie took the quick tap the conform the the “ball in hand” kak, then went back to instinct and kicked it anyway… it was millimeters, but a huuuuge error.

We have so many dummy runners and pods and flyhalves. It is not like we are completely at odds, even you have to agree?

Last week, we had many promising attacks in the first half and even in the second half today, before Cornal got sent off, the guys were doing everything full speed, guys like Janneman was offloading in tackles etc… then we pass to someone who is standing all by himself or Reinach runs a scissor move on pops to a player 4 meters behind the advantage line.

@ Nama:
    typing in the dark 😎

@ MacroBok:
    “As Aaron Smith ooit seerkry gaan daar n leemte wees by die All Blacks:

Die afgelope paar jare is die volgende ook gese:
    As Richie Mc Caw ooit seerkry gaan daar n leemte wees by die All Blacks.
    As Dan Carter ooit seerkry gaan daar n leemte wees by die All Blacks.
    As Kieran Read ooit seerkry gaan daar n leemte wees by die All Blacks.
    As Whitelock ooit seerkry gaan daar n leemte wees by die All Blacks
    As Ma’a Nonu ooit seerkry gaan daar n leemte wees by die All Blacks.
    As Conrad Smith ooit seerkry gaan daar n leemte wees by die All Blacks.
    As SBW weggaan, gaan daar n leemte wees by die All Blacks

Hou tog op met daai soort strond. Die AB was nog nooit ‘n eenmanspan nie.

@ Nama:
    Charo and Ben made a few good points.

there may only be a few tests before the WC, but a lot can happen in 16 rounds of Super Rugby, if we want to play all out attacking rugby at Springbok level, then it has to happen in atleast 3 teams at SR level as well… momentum built there will be crucial for the Springboks as well as the conditioning to players running into space, Reinach will be the number 1 scrumhalf at the Sharks, lets see what he can do with Pat.

While I am disappointed at the Boks it is most certainly not the end of the world, things will click into place 😉

Lekker slaap oom Nama

@ MacroBok:
    You have to understand the difference between “speed up” the game and “ball in hand”.

Hougie’s tap and kick was to speed up the game. Nothing to do with ball in hand otherwise he would not have kicked the ball.

@ Nama:
    NZ het Retallick gemis teen ons, maar Aaron Smith is definitief n yster, al daai spelers is basies legends van hul generasie.

Maar Aaron Smith is iets spesiaal, die manier hoe hy die all blacks se spel kan wissel van taktiese skopwerk, tot voluit aanval, tot met die voorspelers die bal opvat… daai outjie is spesiaal.

@ Nama:
    Well in the current set up, speeding the game up and “ball in hand” walks hand in hand.

That was the point I was making, we want to run the ball, but as soon as he took the tap he went back to his kicking instincts.

@ MacroBok:
    Still depends on the coach.

4 of the starting players today ( Willie, Hendricks, Oupa, Coenie) were part of the Cheetahs, the weakest SA team in SR this year, with another 2 on the bench (Babyface and Strauss).

Why are we surprised when we lose?

Total 351 users including 0 member, 351 guests, 0 bot online