English club Bath are reportedly setting their sights on signing Springbok and Stormers No 8 Duane Vermeulen after next year’s Rugby World Cup.
The 28-year-old has been instrumental for the Springboks this season and was recently also shortlisted as an IRB World Rugby Player of the year nominee.
According to the Express.co.uk website, Bath are lining up Vermeulen as a second marquee player alongside Wallaby scrumhalf Will Genia.
Sport24
The deal, which would be worth ยฃ 450 000 (about R 7.8 Million) per season, would make him the second-highest earner in the Premiership behind new rugby league recruit Sam Burgess.
Other players nominated alongside Vermeulen for the IRB World Rugby Player of the year are his compatriot Willie le Roux, Ireland’s Jonathan Sexton, and All Blacks Brodie Retallick and Julian Savea.
Next year’s Rugby World Cup, to be staged in England and Wales, runs from 18 September to 31 October.
Getting back to the subject matter of this particular article, when Duane was referred to as a carthorse, spermwhale or fattie – he should demand to be paid by the kilogramme. ๐
@ IAAS:
If that Pommie offer comes through he’ll be getting paid by the sperm.
Thought this was quite funny
Attachment:
nortie wrote:
Watch this, now it’s Skop and HG on Rugby 365
http://prntscr.com/57oam0
Is this Skop?
https://www.facebook.com/josh.ilan.9
@ gunther:
All the more so with it being a long term contract. ๐
@ IAAS:
I have no idea what the gestation period for a whale is.
IAAS wrote:
Alberts makes Duane look anorexic
@ Victoriabok:
Skops surname is de Jager
gunther wrote:
Paid for sperm?
Are the only two pretty Pommie cheerleaders included in the contract?
aka “natural collection technicians”
I thought the Fb page was way to elaborate for his Nokia
38 @ MacroBok:
His real name is not Skop and his surname is definately NOT De Jager… I know his Real Name and Surname… as do some others here on R-T.
24 @ Victoriabok:
ET would not last 3 Comments here… and THAT is a promise!
Has he been here?
Do you know Heaven’s Game as well?
43 @ Victoriabok:
No, Skop has not been here.. I just know who he is.
I don’t know Heavens Game… all I know about him is what the ex-Voldy lot have said here on R-T about him… he is welcome, of course.
There’s some or other Bakkies Botha chap as well that the ex-Voldy okes have talked about… him I do not know either, he is also welcome, of course.
I know who Pedi (Ruck) is… we’ve been in recent E-Mail contact and she said she would come join some time.
Hurry-up Pedi, we miss you; Treehugger too!
Back to topic:
Duane Vermiljoen he shall now be known as!
Well done, Sir!
Thank you. Well im confident his real name wont be skop.
@ MacroBok:
His real name is Fuckadilly.
http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/Ex-Springbok-Visagie-dies-20141119
Rest in Peace Gawie Visagie….only 59 years old and he has lost the battle against cancer.
Condolences to the family
A lot of talk above about the likes of Skoppie, HG, Bakkies Botha I Love You, and Ruck (a.k.a. Pedi….sharkies are dog food…..). All bad Boys and Girls from Voldy.
Well, they may not be everyone’s cup of tea………………………………………………….but they certainly knew how to inject some passion into a Thread.
I raise my glass to each and all of them.
The Protocol Police will certainly have their hands full if This Mob shows up.
@ cane:
The prefects won’t know what’s hit them.
Bokke – 2 new caps … on the bench
Bath rubbish Vermillion rumours
@ <a href="#Comment No-380439" title="Go to comment of this author"cunther:
Some of the Non-Prefects might be a little gobsmacked as well.
@ cane:
I miss Bakkies, but if he were to join then Fern must get unbanned…..he had the gift of making Bakkies go on walkabout before his head exploded
@ Angostura:
Any Club in The World would love to have Duane on their Roster.
Bath included, would be my guess.
I miss Bakkies too.
๐ฅ
Fernly ………………………….okay WTF……………………………….Groot give him absolution.
56 @ cane:
4sure
OZZ go 2-1 up vs. Proteas in Canberra
Very disappointing performances from several senior Proteas ….
Seems Imran Tahir is injured – wonder if he’ll be fit for Sydney on Sunday
@ Angostura:
I think in the long run… Having one or two “play off” games in this series will be to our benefit in the long run. (WC)
Total 175 users including 0 member, 175 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,366,181 Page Impressions