South AfricaNew ZealandSpringboks (21) 27 / 25 (13) All Blacks (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and New Zealand All Blacks did battle in The Rugby Championship at

Ellis Park, Johannesburg at 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT, 04:00 Sunday NZ Time).

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (1), Patrick Lambie (1)
  • Tries – Francois Hougaard (1), Handré Pollard (2)
  • Conversions – Handré Pollard (3)

• Penalties – Beauden Barrett (2)
  • Tries – Malakai Fekitoa (1), Ben Smith (1), Dane Coles (1)
  • Conversions – Beauden Barrett (2)

South African Springboks
New Zealand All Blacks
4 October at 17:00
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jan Serfontein, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Duane Vermeulen / Schalk Burger, 7 Teboho Mohoje, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Marcel van der Merwe, 19 Bakkies Botha, 20 Schalk Burger / Warren Whiteley, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 JP Pietersen
  • Team: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Malakai Fekitoa, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (Captain), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Joe Moody
  • Replacements: 16 Dane Coles, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Steven Luatua, 20 Liam Messam, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Colin Slade, 23 Ryan Crotty

Expected weather: Mostly sunny with a high of 19°C and a low of 10°C – good weather for rugby.
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
Assistant Referees: Pascal Gauzère (France), JP Doyle (England)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

471 Responses to The Rugby Championship: South Africa vs New Zealand – Live Game Article

Today we can celebrate rugby, the Bokke, the All Blacks… it was a massive game!

296 @ Angostura:
    Lol, I was 1st up until this game, so will drop a few spots now.
    It almost went the way of the AB’s, not much in it.
    Thought they did enough at the end to pull it off, but great test and wonderful from the Bokke

Almal het goed gespeel, in Pollard en Lambie het Bokke nou 2 losskakels wat ons WB toe kan vat.

Baie belangrike wen hierdie vir die toekoms. Jy is net so goed soos jou laaste game.

Ons skakelpaar, ook reserwes het hul oorheers.

Hougie was excellent… Pollard was excellent… Duane was monsterous.

The Bokke defence was unbelievable

Fantastic to see the genuine respect between these to teams.

Fellas and Flatties… I hope YOU ALL join us later, after midnight, for the Pumas / Wallabies game!

@ Angostura:
    #276 Well done Angostura and good on you for going for the Boks. Thought it would be close but just just didn’t have the conviction to pick Boks went tactically for AB by 3 thinking if they did win it may soften the blow a little and I would have been doubly disappointed if I went for Boks and Boks lost. This way the only thing that matters is SPRINGBOKS WON! Crazy thing is do I get some margin points even though got result wrong? Outta here cheers

gunther wrote:

Fantastic to see the genuine respect between these to teams.

If only the supporters on RT can do the same, ne Funny Guy
    Wink
    Can we expect to see you and Noodles lead us in a verse or two of Kumbaya anytime soon?

Speaking of which, NZChina, where are you?
    Are you halfway up Kilimanjaro yet or has the Chinese cut the Internet feed again?

I’ve not enjoyed a Bok test as much since 2009
    but, to be honest
    the quality of our 1st half performance tonight was FAR SUPERIOR to anything we saw in 2009, or during our 2 successful RWC campaigns.
    Tonight we arguably beat the best Rugby Union team ever …. WOW!

I think we made a mistake by changing to a defensive game plan in the 2nd half – it almost cost us big time.

Hats off to HM (& his team) & to Bok squad … they’re now playing an exciting, winning brand of rugby.
    I think they can & will go from strength to strength.

Lots of young/inexperienced Bokke did very, very well tonight.
    I’m ecstatic.

I will play my part and be gentle with Noodles.

So given the points spread between these two teams in the RC are our glasses still half empty ?

gunther wrote:

I will play my part and be gentle with Noodles.

Pleasure
    That’s the spirit

@ Angostura:

Are you saying that the Boks might have evolved under Meyer?

The ABs’ midfield defence was porous, when ‘Knackers’ such as Houggie and Pollard scoring 3 tries in one half, it means heads will roll!
    C Smith is past it, their 12 is a gifted attacker but out of his depth in the defensive alignment, Nomu and Kahui with Crotti on the bench will be their RWC centres
    Dagg is essential for the ABs counter attack and Ben Smith is the best in buisness, so that’s it IMO
    The insane schedule of flying EAST around the globe was too brutal,

@ gunther:
    As Mallet mentioned, we aren’t suddenly the best side in the world, but we beat one hell of a side.
    I’m glad we did it, I didn’t think the hard field would suit us better, but we can take them on a neutral field in England on a heavy field

The All Blacks have their chinks in their armour… but I’ll give it to them, they never give in or give up…

310: goed gestel Approve

A big congratulations to SA and in particular to Meyer & JDV two gents of the game, to our boys a 2 point loss at Ellis ain’t the end of the world, easy on the superlatives though boys remember 09′ Funny guy in all the time you have been blogging here and have been beaten by the men in black you’ve never once congratulated them, says plenty about you I would have thought, enjoy the win fella’s 😀 😀

Heartiest, heartiest Congratulations to the Springboks & bad luck to the Kiwis.

And forget about 2004, I know that those Angel Angel are having a lekker celebratory dop “up there” right now Cheers Cheers

315 @ Hondo:
    The same direction they flew the last two years when they won?
    Smith made a try with his break.
    Remember that Nonu and Sonny Bill will be in the side one of these days as well

@ NZINCHINA:
    Thank you Noodles.
    Funny Guy wants to give you a commesirations hug
    Great game again

OK, packing up here… tjorts!

Not saying we are the best at all.

But is the gulf really as big as the half empties have been saying?

@ NZINCHINA:

Shame had to have a little whinge.

Chin up.

319 @ NZINCHINA:

Hat tip to you, mate
    (there was nothing in it, really – could’ve gone either way – I guess the Bok desire & need for victory was just greater tonight)

@ gunther:
    I don’t think the gulf has been really closed today, 1/6 doesn’t paint that picture.
    I’m glad for HM that he did get that monkey off his back now.
    Hopefully we close the gap some more next year during the WC 😆

It’s a matter of parity when it all comes to the wire at the 78th minute
    If you insist that Barnes was consistent in penalising both teams after the ABs had taken the lead, that’s fine by me

Over the two games?

Really?

Whatever you say.

Total 257 users including 0 member, 257 guests, 0 bot online