WP (13) 19 / 16 (0)Â Golden Lions (Final Score)
DHL Western Province and the Xerox Golden Lions doidbattle in the ABSA Currie Cup Premier Division at
Newlands, Cape Town at 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT).
WP:
- Penalties – Demetri Catrakilis (34
- Tries – Jaco Taute (1)
- Conversions – Demetri Catrakilis (1)
Golden Lions:
- Penalties – Marnitz Boshoff (2), Ruan Combrick (1)
- Tries – Jaco van der Walt (1)
- Conversions – Marnitz Boshoff (1)
DHL Western Province |
Xerox Golden Lions |
25 October at 17:00 | |
Expected weather: There will be plenty of sunshine and no real chance of rain. High of 26°C and a low of 14°C
Referee: Craig Joubert
Assistant Referees: Jaco Peyper, Lesego Legoete
TMO: Deon van Blommestein
The ther night I mentioned THREE reasons why we were in with a chance to win the CC.
1. The Lions lost 3 games AWAY against the Bulls, the Sharks and WP during the league phase.
2. WP players have more experience playing in a final.
3. Homeground advantage.
I was called “windgat” for mentioning that facts.
What are we saying now
(I just had to get that in. )
WEEPEE, jou CHAMPIONS…WEEPEE, jou CHAMPIONS…
The difference in this game was not about what happened on the field. It was about what was going on between the ears. The inexperienced Lions team, afa finals go, LOST the game right there. WP did not WIN it more than what the LIONS lost it, imho.
But, I’ll take that, thank you very please.
Op WP.
@ charlesm:
I did not hear his after match speech, but that is something I picked up when we lost against the Lions (I think) in the league phase as well. I did say back then that somebody (AC?) should speak to him about giving credit to your opponents (win or lose) as well.
484 @ Tassies:
SECOND CC win…and don’t forget the TWO CONFERENCE CUPS.
@ Nama:
Greetings Nama
Give some credit to Craig Joubert too,,,
He knows how to keep the score at Finals close, sometime he even makes it look respectable and straight, the RWC 2011 and the Super Rugby 2014 Finals come to mind?
@ Hondo:
Greetings Hondo.
Give some credit to Vermaak, Ntubeni, Carr, De Jongh, Senatla and Kolbe and I’ll consider your proposition.
@ Nama:
Yes Nama – We’ve stayed behind and I was waiting for Juan to applaud the Lions for their efforts – I hope somebody chats to him about that.
I think I’ll post some thoughts tomorrow – it seems most of the bloggers have logged off. I’m out as well – cheers Nama: dit was ‘n lang dag vir my op Nuweland – 2 wenne uit 3 darem nie te sleg nie.
One last comment: I really feel for John Dobson and his coaching team.
I’m sure they were all up for the task but the Bulls have a huge U/21 side – huge in size and financially: I’m sure if the contracts of that squad are all added together, they are quite an expensive squad. Nevertheless they have the title and congrats have to go to Nollis Marais and his guys! WP don’t have a lot of stars but they kept on fighting until the end. They will be back
Congrats to the WP u/19 side. I really thought that the Bulls were the favourites but the game is played on grass and not on paper.
Something that was a really nice gesture from the WP management’s side is the fact that they gave all the under age provincial players a ticket to the final. I am sure the players appreciated it a lot. I spoke to quite a few of them and they were really pleased – good stuff WP !! The lads were dressed in their WP track suits / sportswear and looked quite good !!
Cheers all and enjoy the rest of the weekend !!
Mooi so WP – from a proud and loyal Province supporter !!
geluk pw maatjies. kon die game net stuk stuk kyk. maar soos n goeie game gelyk om te wen!
hoop howard mnisi is in die bok groep
@ charlesm:
Night Charlo.
As Brendan Venter likes to say. The success of a coach should not always be measured in how many titles he wins. It should be measured in how many times you put your team in a position to win titles. One of the reasons why he feels that AC is a very successful coach.
The same goes for Dobson imo. This is what? His 3rd/4th lost in about THREE years?
Still feel that he should be the CC coach next year. Been saying it for the last two years, I think. Let AC concentrate on SR and give Dobson the chance to make his way into the upper echelons of coaching via the CC.
We don’t want to be caught with our pants beneath our knees, like the Sharks. Forward planning is imperative with all the talent that we have atm.
That, and a couple of front men. How we can be so successful without a proper front row, is unbelievable. But then again, that’s how we’ve operated all these years. The last proper front row that we’ve had was Balie and Kebble…with whoever between them.
Before that, it was probably Hempies and Henning.
WE are the CHAMPIONS of the “watered down CC” that everybody fought so hard to win. . It’s not a dream.
Enjoy your evening.
@ MacroBlouBul:
He did do well apart from a couple of knock ons in crucial positions. Actually, I don’t agree with you that he should be in the Bok squad.
Why should he be there? JdV is the captain with Janneman his heir apparent, although the latter is playing at outside centre atm.
What is he going to do there? Hold tackle bags?
And whilst I was blaming JdJ for not giving the Lions credit for a wonderful FINAL, I was doing the same thing.
Congrats Lions on a great season for you guys and a wonderful final today. It was yours for the taking but the lack of experience in the big games let you down.
Marnitz Boshoff for the Boks…anyone?
People blaming Whiteley for not going to the corner with the last penalty should just ask them one question: Did he speak to the ref before he made the decision.
I thought he did. Maybe the ref told him that there would not be enough time for a line out if he went for the corner which left him with no option but to try and force extra time with a kick at poles.
534 @ ufo:
“…not as exciting and expansive as the itm cup final this morning won by taranaki…”
You don’t ever really expect any SA final to be like that, do you?
A SA final is about the final score. What happens in between is secondary.
Laat my wonder wat verlede jaar kon gebeur het as AC nie so vokken dom was om vir Schreuder in die finaal met Cat te begin, pleks van Groom nie.
Water onder die brug, maar tog…
Hoop Schreuder loop nou ‘n slag om dinge makliker te maak.
Nou’t ek vir Hondo ook weggeja.
So, Gunther was one of a few “neutral” supporters who decided to support WP today. I bet he is getting royally drunk with true WP supporters doing the buying.
What this final REALLY proved is that Jaco Taute should never ever have been Bok. But I guess, he had the “size” for our esteemed coach at the highest level. Now the dom moer sommer steeked our coach aan to select him at centre.
Fokkit. We should actually pay him o play for the Lions…or the Bulls for that matter. He could be our secret weapon up north.
Dronk moer.
And apparently Herr Heyneke will announce the Bok squad tomorrow without some of the Lions or WP players ever having to been to HIS Bok camps to learn the “culture”.
What the hell are guys like Carr, v/d Merwe, Kriel etc going to learn while they are holding the tackle bags for the 1st choice players of the Fuhrer?
Nama wrote:
You are way out of line …
And you complain of somebody calling you a “windgat”? That was a euphemism …
@ Angostura:
Indeed.
Poor boy can’t handle his liquor.
And then the true colours are revealed.
And they’re not blue and white.
Congrats Lions for a great season.
After the John Mitchell fallout and missing out on the 2013 super rugby season I thought this union would implode but they just dusted themselves off and never gave up.
In Johan Ackerman they found an excellent coach that certainly gets the best out of his players.
And to Province well done on the win. Ended top of the CC log and in terms of consistency deserves the crown.
Please transfer this new found ACuMEN into the 2015 the super rugby season.
@ Jeraldjay:
Amen to that !
I couldn’t read through all the comments on this thread but I’ll make a few comments.
That front row of the Lions…..wow those boys know how to scrum !! I know you have to take your points when they are on offer but IMO the Lions should have gone for another scrum when it was 10 – 13 and they were given another scrum penalty. They could have scored a pushover try or could have received a penalty try as well as a possible yellow card to Province for the umpteenth penalty (at scrum time). I know it’s a case of could’ve, should’ve etc but I’m not the only one in the stands that made that comment. There were 2 Lions’ supporters quite close to me and they felt the same.
Jaco Kriel is an excellent talent. That guy has pace, balls, strength etc. I’d really be pleased if he is included in the Boks’ squad. I’d like to see the 3 props as mentioned by GBS as well but I’m not sure that HM will take them all. Obviously Warren is a certainty. Mnisi IMO tried to do too many things on his own. With all the replays on TV, those of you that have watched the game are perhaps in a better position to comment but that is how I felt during the game.
The value of Robbie Coetzee (at the scrums) is perhaps underestimated. When Robbie was replaced the scrum of the WP functioned better IMO.
Yesterday the public announcer tried his best to keep the supporters quiet…..it worked initially but got worse as the match progressed. Whenever Boshoff or Combrinck lined up a kick he would say “respect Newlands” but he had limited success.
While on the issue of spectators: there were a lot of supporters during the U/19 and U/21 game quite close to me, just across the aisle. Their “real” seats were at a different place in the stands but initially when there weren’t many supporters they moved to the middle of the stands to get a better view. I don’t have a problem with that but they were so annoying. They supported the Bulls and their son played in the U/21 game. I won’t embarrass him by stating his name but his name and number were on the back of their Bulls’ jerseys – nothing wrong with that either – but their behaviour was terrible. They swore at the WP players, made personal remarks (even when a guy was injured) etc. The “lady” of the house was such an embarrassment and to say that we were pleased that they left after the U/21 game is a huge understatement. There were 2 little girls with them and they eventually joined in with the “chorus”. To top it all, their son was in school in the Western Province and received a contract from the Bulls (good for him and he is a good player). The mother made no secret of it that he was from WP originally – which isn’t a problem too – but to carry on in such a manner – eish it was pretty bad. To top it all, quite a few of the group had Lions jerseys with them which they put on after the under 21 final. Obviously they don’t like WP but I’d like to know what the son would think of their behaviour if he knew how they were (mis)behaving.
@ Nama:
carr was with the boks a few weeks ago
@ charlesm:
Hey, that’s not cool, Charles.
There is one word to describe them – “kommin”
@ Nama:
I thought the squad will be inflated again I wasnt aware it was over. Mnisi had a great semi final and regardless of race has a lot of potential thay we saw last year for griquas as well. the reality is that we will have to have our “development” players get all the funding and resources SARU has and thats why Meyer invited so many “black” players to Stellenbosch. Its good for the rest of our franchises as well.
@ Angostura:
Oh come on Ango! Really?
@ gunther:
@ MacroBlouBul:
I just don’t see him making the Bok squad yet. He just isn’t that good imo. We are sorted at 12 with JdV, De Allende and Janneman at this stage. No need to take somebody along just to make up the numbers.
@ Nama:
im not talking about the eoyt squad.
the wider squad that was in place the last few weeks is what im referring to. Howard is nowhere close to a springbok yet.
Total 66 users including 0 member, 66 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,352,297 Page Impressions