WP (13) 19 / 16 (0)ย Golden Lions (Final Score)
DHL Western Province and the Xerox Golden Lions doidbattle in the ABSA Currie Cup Premier Division at
Newlands, Cape Town at 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT).
WP:
- Penalties – Demetri Catrakilis (34
- Tries – Jaco Taute (1)
- Conversions – Demetri Catrakilis (1)
Golden Lions:
- Penalties – Marnitz Boshoff (2), Ruan Combrick (1)
- Tries – Jaco van der Walt (1)
- Conversions – Marnitz Boshoff (1)
DHL Western Province |
Xerox Golden Lions |
25 October at 17:00 | |
Expected weather: There will be plenty of sunshine and no real chance of rain. High of 26ยฐC and a low of 14ยฐC
Referee: Craig Joubert
Assistant Referees: Jaco Peyper, Lesego Legoete
TMO: Deon van Blommestein
@ Ben-die-Bul:
Nie Spies nie, asb, have mercy
Pat Cilliers also off overseas… who will the Stormers props be in 2015??
Kebbletjie & Allister Vermaak (once he gets his head out of his own arse).
Oh yeah, Frans Malherbe too
We had 119 people ONLINE at a stage during the game…
Good and active thread, this one!
511: be afraid, be very afraid, hehe !
512: waar is die Gemmerbeer ?
Ek stem!
and the ninja.
517 @ IAAS:
Who’s the NINJA?
Congrats to WP & all their loyal supporters (that excludes you, Grunter!) on a deserved win!
To Transvaal, bad luck manne, “Catches win matches”!!!
515 @ Ben-die-Bul:
O ja, ek het Kitskos vergeet… maar hy issie meer veel werd nie.
I thoroughly enjoyed this year’s CC with the contracted Bokke not playing – this cleared a bottleneck & allowed new talent to emerge
In particular, I think that from among names not often mentioned, that Jaco van der Walt & Jean Kleyn are bright, shining prospects.
Geniet Gummy, cheers!
Considering half of it was in Afrikaans I think it is frankly astonishing!!
It does mean that us foreigners don’t have to read so much I suppose!!
Die WP wen beteken ek moet die Ludeke/Ross vyftiental volgende jaar weer ondersteun, en kan nie oorloop na die Leeus nie.
die rooi kop – Stephen Kitshoff – hy sal seker teug wees.
Kitshoff, Mbonambi/Ntubeni & Malherbe will be a competitive front row, even at SR level
@ Ben-die-Bul:
Maar ek stem saam met jou, daai laaste skop was wel oor, maar Leeus was aan die rol. moes hoek toe gegaan het!
I think Gert Smal deserves a lot of praise for his influence in transforming a stale Stormers side into a balanced WP Currie Cup side…
@ Ben-die-Bul:
very ๐ ๐ ๐ Ben
Dankie eers en tjorts bruvva, was lekker rugby gewees!
Sien jou by die EOYT….ten minste kan ek bietjie werk gedoen kry tot dan
@ Ben-die-Bul: Hey Ben. I love your sense of humour boet.
Have one on me and the WP Tassies, enjoy bru! Cheers!
@ grootblousmile: well done GB. R-T is growing nicely, just like my tomato plants out back. Only bugger is my tomotoes are red and not blue & white. ๐ฏ
commiserations to the lions and their fans… tough game to lose… and… to be honest… it was a game the lions should have won…
i feel for marnitz boshoff… obviously hoped he’d miss that last kick… but felt terrible for him when he did…
well done to wp for keeping their composure and coming away with the win… not the best game of rugby… imo… not as exciting and expansive as the itm cup final this morning won by taranaki…
but we won the game and the cup and i’ll take them both… though not with the usual delight i would feel…
was chuffed with our discipline… rynhardt and michael take a bow…!!
the lion’s scrum was very good as we all knew it would be… but thought we did better when brok came on…
well done to warren… very gracious and intelligent man and captain… juan really needs some coaching in after-game speeches… i don’t think he is arrogant or anything about it… he’s just never been a captain before (apparently) so a little guidance by the coaching staff would be a good thing…
the lions are here to stay though… akkers has done a great job this season… and so have the players… they can be proud.. and will continue to be a major threat…
cheers to brok and pat… all the best wherever life may lead you guys…
thanks to gert smal for turning our fortunes around… and well done to allister, matt and robbie for embracing gert’s guidance…
@ Pietman: dankie Piet. You too boet. Enjoy your return to the incomparable Kaap. I’m heading up the Weskus in six weeks I’ve just been advised. Joining up with a coupla boertjies. Gotta give the Toyota a service, dust off all the camping gear, crayfish kit, visstok, potjie and you know the drill. Honderklipbaai and the desert beckons. Can’t wait to get away from this city’s traffic and noise.
@ ufo:
It wasn’t a classic by any stretch of the imagination – And it just gives credence to the decision to get Gert back – WP were lacking in ideas and I think he challenged some ideas which obviously worked. This is the sort of “gees” a squad needs to carry it through to next year. In a “glass full” sort of manner. ๐
@ IAAS:
apologies bud… my RT connection always seems to be up and down… and also seems to log me out after a make any post… (universe maybe whispering in my ear…? ๐ )
indeed… gert’s been the best wp recruit in many a year…!
let’s just hope we take style and gees into the SR comp next year… with these guys and our boks (and our injuries) we should have a good squad for next year…
cheers haas… and everyone still looking at the thread…
have a great sunday…!!
@ ufo:
sheesh… sorry IAAS… damn auto correct got hold of your nic in the previous post…!!
cheers…
Hi guys – it was a busy thread today!
I’m not going to repeat everything – IMO ufo has said more or less what I feel about the game. One or 2 things though:
I’ll mention one and do the rest in an half an hour or so – Warren Whiteley was soooo gracious in defeat but Juan de Jongh did not mention them once !! That is really poor for a captain – you are not doing yourself and us (the supporters) any favours IMO ๐
Only watched the game on SABC now as I was on my way from Upington during the live game.
WELL FUKKIN DONE WEEPEE.
Congratulations and celebrations. Happy times are here again.
It seems that I will have to drink this KWV all on my own as my mates are out of it already. What with having a ball all day waiting for the game and carrying on during the game.
WEEPEE, JOU LEKKA DING…
Total 81 users including 0 member, 81 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,353,151 Page Impressions