AustraliaSouth AfricaWallabies (11) 24 / 23 (14) Springboks (Final Score)

The Australian Wallabies and South African Springboks did battle in The Rugby Championship at

Patersons Stadium, Perth, Australia at 12:05 SA Time (18:05 AWST, 10:05 GMT).

Wallabies:

• Penalties – Bernard Foley (4)
  • Tries – Israel Folau (1), Rob Horne (1)
  • Conversions – Bernard Foley (1)

• Penalties – Morné Steyn (6)
  • Tries – Cornal Hendricks (1)

Australian Wallabies
South African Springboks
6 September at 12:05
  • Team: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper (Captain), 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Sam Carter, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 James Hanson, 1 James Slipper
  • Replacements: 16 Saia Fainga’a, 17 Pek Cowan, 18 Ben Alexander, 19 James Horwill, 20 Scott Higginbotham, 21 Matt Hodgson, 22 Nic White, 23 Kurtley Beale
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jan Serfontein, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Marcel van der Merwe, 19 Lodewyk de Jager, 20 Warren Whiteley, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Damian de Allende

Expected weather: Overcast with showers in the afternoon, a high of 20°C and a low of 13°C
Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Glen Jackson (New Zealand), Mike Fraser (New Zealand)
TMO: Ben Skeen (New Zealand)

394 Responses to The Rugby Championship: Australia vs South Africa – Live Game Article

Bok kicking game very poor
    kicks out on the full (from WLR & RP)
    MS not kicking out a penalty
    MS not kicking a kick-off 10m
    etc

So, what says you all?

I think that it is time for a new coach and captain……………….

Ek is nou so befonk ek kan myself bekak. Ons het die toets verloor Oz het hom nie been nie. Toets weggegooi. Steyn mis ‘n lynskop. Et 2 minute oor.

Ons wedstrydplan maak my gedaan. Ek is absoluut gatvol vir die farkin box kick. Ons sien hulle probeer die wedstrydplan vinniger maak en ons hou an om die bal vir hulle te skop.

Meyer moet gaan. Springbokrugby is oppad Nerens heen met HM as afrigter.

Bokke are now out of the RC, hard luck they played much better tonight.

McLook wrote:

Ek is nou so befonk ek kan myself bekak. Ons het die toets verloor Oz het hom nie been nie. Toets weggegooi. Steyn mis ‘n lynskop. Et 2 minute oor.

Ons wedstrydplan maak my gedaan. Ek is absoluut gatvol vir die farkin box kick. Ons sien hulle probeer die wedstrydplan vinniger maak en ons hou an om die bal vir hulle te skop.

Meyer moet gaan. Springbokrugby is oppad Nerens heen met HM as afrigter.

+1

Why was Hougie never brought on?

Te Rangatira wrote:

Not taking the kick and going for the line out and Beast coming around??… that was a blunder

Big moment that.

I just can’t support a team and coach with a Neanderthal approach any longer. This was it for me. From now on I’ll support any team playing against the Springboks until they stop playing kickball and start playing rugby again. Fark this; this was absolute Shyte.

@ McLook:
    Beast se fout na ons hoek toe geskop het, hoeveelste keer in sy dat hy die bal agter die lynstaan opfok.

Lambie added NOTHING when he came on.

Ja jong, the Bokke lost this one… and the Wallbies showed serious resolve to win this one.

In sy lewe dat…

248 @ McLook:
    Bedaar my volk, bedaar!

Jy kan mos nie die Bokke net weggooi nie.

Ok so my comment is going to be based on a few things. Although I will not take the victory away from the Wallabies there are quite a few things that are amiss here.
    Lets start by going out on a limb and stating the obvious. Why in the world in a competition where the top 3 teams in world rugby take part are we sitting with European refs who do not even fall in the top referee category. This is the 3rd time since 2011(WC) where we have been kinda outdone by a referee and the second time since 2011 that it has been a below average European ref.
    Secondly lets focus on consistency. High tackle on JDV results in a penalty……only a penalty, yet Habana’s tackle which was 60% less malicious gets a yellow card. I am baffled by the below average performances by ref’s…..especially European refs.
    In a test match and a test series(The Rugby Championship) where history is made every year and you have the top 3 teams in world rugby competing why in the world will we want low class European ref’s in charge of the whistle. This baffles me and it is becoming a disgrace in rugby. Not only South Africa has received the grunt by this poor decision, and if we look back in the last couple of years we can take examples of numerous Rugby Championship matches where European ref’s have ruined matches by making absolute suicidal calls in crucial moments.
    Well done to Australia for winning this one, but a serious review is going to have to take place in the way ref’s manage matches.
    Rant over. Well done Australia and hard luck my Bokkies.

Do not blame Heyneke for all this shyte. Put the blame on those that do the real coaching … I mean, what does Ricardo Loubser bring to the backline coaching? and I think it is Van Graan who coaches the f8rwards … what is he doing?

Why get a breakdown coach and practice breakdown skills relentlessly if we only run with the ball when we are behind.

When we have to we score tries but we need to be behind before we start playing rugby. This attitude is just no longer on for me. This was just poor rugby all over; poor game plan; horrible mistakes at crucial times.

Donner bliksem! Ek gaan sommer onbeheersd aan die vloek.

@ dwarslat: Well HM is the boss after all. They play a lousy style of rugby. Poor decision making. Poor execution. We really only had ourselves to blame. Sure the ref made two crucial errors. But the truth is; this is not a good Springbok team this time out. They really are poor.

I agree with the panel, our game plan was simply to kick and try and keep Oz in their half.
    The two times we swung the ball we scored a good try and if Pienaar didn’t drop the final pass, we could have had another.
    All other balls we just aimlessly hoofed the ball.
    Similar to our SR sides, aimless and stupid kicking.
    The All Blacks will easily run in a bonus point win against us

The Bok didn’t kick well enough for line..too many kicks out on the full and Morne missing for touch…deja vue 2010

Timothy Bornman wrote:

Ok so my comment is going to be based on a few things. Although I will not take the victory away from the Wallabies there are quite a few things that are amiss here.
    Lets start by going out on a limb and stating the obvious. Why in the world in a competition where the top 3 teams in world rugby take part are we sitting with European refs who do not even fall in the top referee category. This is the 3rd time since 2011(WC) where we have been kinda outdone by a referee and the second time since 2011 that it has been a below average European ref.
    Secondly lets focus on consistency. High tackle on JDV results in a penalty……only a penalty, yet Habana’s tackle which was 60% less malicious gets a yellow card. I am baffled by the below average performances by ref’s…..especially European refs.
    In a test match and a test series(The Rugby Championship) where history is made every year and you have the top 3 teams in world rugby competing why in the world will we want low class European ref’s in charge of the whistle. This baffles me and it is becoming a disgrace in rugby. Not only South Africa has received the grunt by this poor decision, and if we look back in the last couple of years we can take examples of numerous Rugby Championship matches where European ref’s have ruined matches by making absolute suicidal calls in crucial moments.
    Well done to Australia for winning this one, but a serious review is going to have to take place in the way ref’s manage matches.
    Rant over. Well done Australia and hard luck my Bokkies.

The ref was generally trigger happy but this result was a product of a Neanderthal gameplan.

@ dwarslat:
    The blame (if it needs to apportioned), must always go to the TOP.

They Appoint/Select their Assistant Coaches.

It is “Their” decision making and planning.

It is “Their” heads that need to Roll.

and Pienaar has never been a great 9. Today reinforced my belief that he is not Springbok material. Neither is Jannie. We’re simply desperate and go with experience. What is the good with favouring experience if the guys are simply not international standard. Its proved week in week out. I used to credit Meyer with having intelligence. Now I’m questioning that belief.

@ cane: absolutely correct Cane. This was not a good Test to watch. The rugby was poor(from both sides). And the ref simply put that cherry on the top with a matching performance.

Big hiding coming up for us next week. For the first time in my life I’ll be supporting the All Black against the Springboks. I just can’t stand this farkin high school kick and chase rugby anymore.

The ABies play at a consistently different level. Neither Oz nor South Africa can claim to be in the same category at the moment. No 2 and 3 in the world are a quantum leap behind No 1. Pathetic actually.
    Do coaches lose their form. Because I’m tempted into thinking that Meyer has simply lost the plot.

If Heineken Meyer had his way, the SA pack would start against NZ next week with Juan Smit, Bakkies, Bismark and Victor. And no doubt Schulk Burger as well.

Imagine the cost to the SARU for the Zimmer Frames.

The win over Scotland papered over the cracks.
    Wales should have beaten us at home, the poor wins over Arg was ascribed to weather and Arg getting better.
    Arg are the same they have been since they started in the RC in 2012, competitive against us at home, lose to NZ between 15-20 points, precisely where they started.
    Aus have however progressed since McKenzie took over.
    We will beat Aus in Cape Town because we will play for pride after getting another 15 odd point loss against the AB’s next week.
    Then NZ will run us ragged again at Ellis Park.
    Same old same old

Think I’ll simply stick to watching the cricket. At least when they lose they put up a fight worthy of their status in world cricket. The Springboks are simply piss poor.

Well done Wallabies…

Farken basics that let us down.

Reminded me of the 2011 quarter final… A game impossible to lose.

But my glass of Lagavulin is still half full.

I think he just has misguided loyalties.

Total 180 users including 0 member, 180 guests, 0 bot online