He hasn’t ruled it out completely, but Springbok centre Frans Steyn says itβs unlikely heβll play international rugby again.
Steyn, 27, shocked the rugby fraternity in June this year when he made himself unavailable for Springbok selection shortly before a Test against Wales in Durban, after playing against a World XV in Cape Town the previous week.
It emerged that his decision to pull out of the Springbok squad was due to a monetary dispute with the South African Rugby Union (SARU) regarding his image rights, which were handled by a third party.
Sport24
Steyn was upset about a promise SARU made to him when he returned from French club, Racing Metro, to play for the Sharks in 2012. Due to the dispute with SARU, Steyn was earning less than half of what he could have made overseas.
In an interview with the EWN Sport website, Steyn said he’s made peace with his decision but doesn’t expect a return to the international fold.
He described the past six months as a “rollercoaster ride” and a period in his life he does not want over.
However, he feels he made the right decision because his “heart and soul wasnβt in it”.
When asked if he thinks he will ever play international rugby again, Steyn said it was a tough question to answer.
He said it would be nice to play for the Boks again, but has “pretty much made peace with it, I donβt think it is going to happen”.
Steyn has represented the Boks in 53 Tests since making his debut as a 19-year-old against Ireland in 2006.
I think we all know the answer to that, he made his decision and he will live with the decision.
Good luck in Japan and in SR, but I also doubt he will wear the Green and Gold again.
Sad really another case of unfulfilled potential and poor life choices.
Could have been one of the greats but now a minor footnote.
Hamba kahle Frans.
Following in the footsteps of Bennie McCarthey and Steven Pienaar.
Cheers Frans.
Does anyone know how much money is in dispute here?
If Fran’s knee’s were fixable, I think that this would have been sorted out. I think that SARU has had a look at his knee’s and decided that spending so much money on a player who will always be injured is not worth it.
Loosehead wrote:
I do not think it is mega bucks.
Probably enough to buy a few extra donuts and double thick shakes in Japan though.
My thoughts exactly.
Loosehead wrote:
What does it matter?
It’s about principles. Something that SARU seems not to have in the slightest.
SARU’s idea’s of good corporate governance:
1. Give a senior emplyee a 5 year contract extension despite him being investigated for serious financial crimes.
2. Screw a junior emplyee over for money contractually owed.
3. Defend a provincial appointee despite knowing that he has lied about his qualififcation and then lie about it to the media as well.
Ah WTF. As long as the National side win on Saturday against a team ranked lower than them, it will all be forgiven!
News24 is gone to absolute shit
Read this article headline:
Ashwell Prince in ‘K’ racial row
http://www.sport24.co.za/Cricket/Ashwell-Prince-in-K-racial-slur-20140918
They close the comments section because people realize it had nothing to do with the “K” word, but keep the same article.
Propaganda Media Machine for hits and advertising… fucking bS.
@ MacroBok:
Yep, News24 is so kak.
But that racial row in question has caused huge news in the UK. To the extent that the Yorkshire captain couldn’t even collect the trophy because the ECB had banned him.
Personally I think its ridiculous and Prince seriously needs to just grow the fuck up already. Jeez that oke has always had issues. Its like anyone who says anything bad about him is automatically a racist.
Proper chip on the shoulder.
@ John Galt:
I read it on cricinfo yesterday and Prince was very upset, I don’t really understand why being called a Kolpac is derogatory. It does not make sense.
Apparently Prince came out himself and said it was not a racial slur and has distanced himself from the ECB disciplining Gale for Racism.
It is just an overreaction, especially the tools at news24.
As far as I understand Kolpac is a person.
He won’t be happy at being associated with a tossed like Prince.
π
@ gunther:
Channel 202.
Thought we had been rid of him for good.
Alas, old Air Punch back on my telly.
Why did the Cobras decide to bowl first on this feather bed.
Hope the dew later is gonna help.
Cobras word stukkend gebliksem
@ John Galt:
You can’t keep a good man down.
π
Robzim says they are the best domestic franchise……….in the world.
π
@ gunther:
The only thing worse than being smacked around the park in that fashion, is………being smacked around by blokes wearing pink π
Oh dear.
π
19 @ gunther:
The Cobras has the greatest sportsperson in the history of Bananaland playing for them.
@ Jeraldjay:
Robbie P can’t hit the ball off the square whose idea was it to send him in at 3?
π
@ gunther:
Wildcard.
Scott Styris looks about as in shape as the person who is the topic of this thread
25 @ nortierd:
Lekker lewe.
Milking the cow till the end.
Did someone tell the Cobras they need 12 an over for another 15 overs?
26 @ Jeraldjay:
Lol, I can excuse Scotty….he is 39 years old after all π
Hello Mr. Duckworth and Lewis.
π
Jeraldjay wrote:
Goodbye Cobras
Total 179 users including 0 member, 179 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,334,362 Page Impressions