Springboks (10) 13 / 6 (3) Los Pumas (Final Score)
The South African Springboks and Argentinian Pumas did battle in The Rugby Championship at
Lotus Versveld, Pretoria at 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT, 12:05 ARG Time).
- Penalties – Handré Pollard (1), Morné Steyn (1)
- Tries – Ruan Pienaar (1)
- Conversions – Handré Pollard (1)
Los Pumas:
- Penalties – Nicolás Sánchez (2)
South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Damian de Allende, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lodewyk de Jager, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Eben Etzebeth, 20 Teboho Mahoje, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Morné Steyn, 23 Jan Serfontein.
Argentina: 15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Juan Martín Hernández, 11 Manuel Montero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 7 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Mariano Galarza, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustín Creevy (Captain), 1 Marcos Ayerza
Replacements: 16 Matías Cortese, 17 Lucas Noguera Paz, 18 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 19 Matías Alemanno, 20 Leonardo Senatore, 21 Tomás Cubelli, 22 Santiago González Iglesias, 23 Lucas González Amorosino.
Date: Saturday 16 August
Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Kick-Off: 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT, 12:05 ARG Time)
Expected weather: Partly cloudy with a 20 percent chance of rain, a high of 23°C and a low of 10°C
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Steve Walsh (Australia), Marius Mitrea (Italy)
TMO: Simon McDowell (Ireland)
The lineouts were a lottery mostly because the ref seemed to pay no attention to the gaps in the lineout.
More often than not the Argentine hooker was in line with his jumpers.
The scrums were also a concen.
To those people who say the weather was the same for both sides obviously that is so but when the conditions are that bad the difference in skills and class is negated and nobody looks good.
I think, and this is not a blight on HM or the Boks, that Aus will overtake us to the nr 2 spot.
Simply because, as you say, they are not standing still. McKenzie is getting something special out of his players, from SR to the test arena.
a Draw against NZ is a huge result in the bigger scope of things, not many teams don’t lose to them
He is no better than Lance Sherrell, rest assured 😆
He may talk the talk – no idea, didn’t watch his interviews – his performance yesterday and that of the SR games make me thinking he is bound for a failure
That usually the case with fast tracked ‘pedigrees’
@ gunther:
Bull, we still had home ground advantage, we have never lost to them, so why make such heavy weather (no pun intended) by beating them?
Are they a serious contender in rugby?
Should we be pleased that we just managed to hang on and beat them?
Did we look like a side that had any idea how to adapt?
Can our line outs not function without a 38 year old when he is injured?
Will our scrum be competitive against decent opposition?
Will we ever learn to kick tactically and not aimlessly?
Without a doubt Lambie would have done far better,
Lambie is a natural, he would have combined better with Pienaar himself a gifted halfback
But like we said many time before, HM thinking is convoluted a bit,,, 😆
Bull hey?
You copy and paste a few articles and now you’re a guru?
Nobody said they played well.
The only 2 guys with a surprise factor is Habana and Le Roux. Both were cancelled out doe to the rain and atrocious conditions.
Habanas tricks are not that sharp anymore but Willie did well in the conditions.
Pienaar is a gifted halfback and Hondkak is now a sports psychologist.
Welcome to the twilight zone.
@ gunther:
Never ever said I’m a guru, I’m a spectator and Bok supporter, same as everyone else here.
Does that exclude me from having an and stating my opinion?
You are welcome to be satisfied with that win, I’m not, simple as that.
For the record, there are journalists that are paid to write stories, and they do, so would you prefer no stories get updated here?
Fark 80% of this Argie team play in Europe week in week out so surely they are more accustomed to the conditions.
It’s their 3rd Championship and they are gatvol of losing… They are tired of being the whipping boys.
I think the HM and Bok bashing after yesterday’s performance is a bit over the top.
Bull.
I dont see anyone who is satisfied with the win.
I think everyone will be looking for a marked improvement next week.
And I’m sure we will get it.
@ Jeraldjay:
JJ, considering that the Argie team hasn’t played together since last year, the Pampas played in June, this group was having a camp in the USA, so they come together and play a Bok side away, who had 3 tests and a game against the World XV, yet they outplay us is the line outs and scrums and almost pull off a win.
I don’t understand the leniency offered towards the Boks under these circumstances. If it were against a decent side, maybe one in the top 10 of world rugby, excuses could be found, but not against that side of yesterday
581 @ gunther:
The same way we were unhappy after almost losing to Wales at home and were expecting some marked improvements?
Jeraldjay wrote:
If that is how you see us questioning HM that’s fine. We criticize, enjoy , applauds and see it different to you. If EVERYTHING HM does is great for you , Fine.
I don’t see that His promises are coming true yet.
And boy o boy Heynecke made some promises.
579 @ nortierd:
Hahaha calm down NOrtie, jy gaan n hartaanval kry!
577 @ superBul:
How good was Willie? Witha few positions up fro grabs, he has really cemented his spot, feel quite confident in him taking kicks from the AB’s.
I find this fascinating, Aus wil do well from SR to the test arena… but We have to smash ARG on a soaked field because of our form in SR?
superBul wrote:
How many South African players were “slick, decisive and brutal” this year?
This Bok team had a new back row a new lock combination a new halfback combination and a new centre combination.
So now ?
gunther wrote:
Exactly, no one is “gloriously happy” as Nortie wants to believe, we all definitely expect more.
I recall people giving the same complaints when we won by 70 points last year, indeed Im sure it is the same people… mense gaan maar kla.
585 @ MacroBok:
“We have to smash ARG on a soaked field because of our form in SR?”
We are used to smashing them in SA, are we not?
We didn’t even get close to smashing the MB, in fact, they smashed us in the set play. That’s a worry, is it not?
Forget 4 tries and all that, we scored in minute 2, and made it look easy, then spent the next 78 minutes hanging on.
Why did they look better than us? Should they look better than us?
Norts, I understand where you coming from. For years we’ve settled for mediocrity and currently we have the talent and the coaching staff to take Bok rugby to another level.
Let’s pass judgement after the 14th of Sept. then all will be revealed.
I dont know if anyone here has mentioned this to you, but I think weather played a role, as well as the wrong strategy… especially not kicking for goal andwrong line out options.
586 @ gunther:
If you can’t experiment against the minnows, when can you?
They didnt look better than us in general play either, basically the scrums… something that has followed us for years.
Jeraldjay wrote:
And in the meantime shut the hell up?
@ MacroBok:
I understand weather, but strategy is an amateur mistake.
Let’s understand one thing, Argentina are palookas, and not a giant in world rugby, irrispective of what people want to believe.
They beat France in the 2007 WC and LO and behold, give them another chance.
Tonga beat France in the 2011 WC, are they invited to the RC?
There are reasons a team is rated 12 in the world, and reason number one is, they are kak
So your saying NZ would without a doubt have scored 10 tries against them yesterday?
Ok so now we say that the Pumas haven’t played together in a while is fine after they have been in camp for months but 4 combinations and multiple players returning from injury is no excuse.
Whatever I supposed you are used to moving the goalposts.
@ gunther:
Also throw in there the TOP 14 players play too much rugby to be competitive 😀
I think you all think me and Nortie is hammering on the Wet test on Saturday. We talk about our progress and the inability to monster 2 poor Rugby playing nations in a row. How many test have they won against us in History?
Fok die Bulle ordersteuners draai nou ook teen HM na gister se game….
If the Boks are playing kak I’ll be the 1st to jump up and say what has to be said. I’ve given HM plenty during his tenure but to blame him for yesterdays performance….
595 @ MacroBok:
Why 10
I am sure they wouldn’t have been floundering around and kicking aimlessly. They would have adapted their game and beaten them more comfortably than we managed.
596 @ gunther:
I’m saying, they haven’t played a serious game for months, yet made us look silly. Who’s fault is the new combinations? HM picked the side, only Alberts who withdrew had a difference on the match XV.
Total 192 users including 0 member, 192 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,336,442 Page Impressions