South AfricaArgentinaSpringboks (10) 13 / 6 (3) Los Pumas (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and Argentinian Pumas did battle in The Rugby Championship at

Lotus Versveld, Pretoria at 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT, 12:05 ARG Time).

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (1), Morné Steyn (1)
  • Tries – Ruan Pienaar (1)
  • Conversions – Handré Pollard (1)

Los Pumas:

• Penalties – Nicolás Sánchez (2)

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Damian de Allende, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lodewyk de Jager, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Eben Etzebeth, 20 Teboho Mahoje, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Morné Steyn, 23 Jan Serfontein.

Argentina: 15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Juan Martín Hernández, 11 Manuel Montero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 7 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Mariano Galarza, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustín Creevy (Captain), 1 Marcos Ayerza
Replacements: 16 Matías Cortese, 17 Lucas Noguera Paz, 18 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 19 Matías Alemanno, 20 Leonardo Senatore, 21 Tomás Cubelli, 22 Santiago González Iglesias, 23 Lucas González Amorosino.

Date: Saturday 16 August
Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Kick-Off: 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT, 12:05 ARG Time)
Expected weather: Partly cloudy with a 20 percent chance of rain, a high of 23°C and a low of 10°C
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Steve Walsh (Australia), Marius Mitrea (Italy)
TMO: Simon McDowell (Ireland)

691 Responses to The Rugby Championship: South Africa vs Argentina – Live Game Article

@ MacroBok: I remember a Test I watched at Newlands in ’05 where, in the first half, the Boks were all over the AB’s like a rash and Carter looked decidedly ordinary behind a beaten pack. The AB’s simply couldn’t contain Scalla and Co and Carter took a beating every time the ball went near him. The point? Even the great man himself has been known to look ordinary when his forwards are not doing the business. Yesterday, the Bok forwards did not play well and young Pollard was never going to perform under those conditions.

Notorious arch rivals to the “glass is half full club” is club la emo

539 @ MacroBok:
    The founding fathers of the “glass is half full club”
    My application for membership to the “glass is flokken kurkdroog” club is pending…..the President, a certain Nama, is still considering it

Lol depends on the team, when it comes to the stormers, nama is very glass half full, he probably still thinks they can win Super Rugby 2014 😀

541 @ Tassies:
    The funny thing is Pollard still looked quite good in general play yesterday apart from that chargedown.

@ MacroBok:
    You guys are funny. Delighted

539 @ MacroBok:
    The founding fathers of the “glass is half full club”
    My application for membership to the “glass is flokken kurkdroog” club is pending…..the President, a certain Nama, is still considering it

Lol depends on the team, when it comes to the stormers, nama is very glass half full, he probably still thinks they can win Super Rugby 2014

Ha ha
    He is still watching the 2014 log with eagle eyes

@ Nama:
    Wat se jy van die WP gister?
    Daai midget het darem n paar reuse se naam gat gemaak

Congrats, you giant slayer you

At least you, UFO , Jean and Heyneke woke up feeling AWESOME this morning.

Why is my name missing there?

I’m insulted. 😯

WP was ysrers. Lyk my ons beginne kry nou die balans tussen aanval en verdediging reg. Volgende week se wedstryd teen die Leeus is baie belangrik vir ons momentum.

Ja-nee. Daar is ‘n paar tollies wat met rooi wange opgestaan het vanmore. 😆

@ IAAS:
    Are you also happy and proud because we slayed the giants of world rugby by a full 7 points?

Ok, you can join the glas is half full club 😀

@ Nama:
    Was darem maar lekker om te sien.
    Verdediging was ongelooflik, selfs met n kaart happy ref

Cricket going as expected.
    Amla in really good form, what an, how would HM say?, AWESOME batsman

A win by 1 point is still a win. Last time I looked we are still leading the Rugby Championship. And the only team to have scored a try.

How am I doing so far? 🙄

IAAS wrote:

A win by 1 point is still a win. Last time I looked we are still leading the Rugby Championship. And the only team to have scored a try.

How am I doing so far?

Carry on like that and you will bump MB and HM out of the President’s chair 😆

hahaha

I’ll take that as a compliment then.

@ IAAS:
    30th of August at Loftus?

Macro will be happy to know that Duminy scored a few runs.

His cup is overflowing. Wink

Definitely – I sent an e-mail out earlier.

@ Nama:

The kid REALLY believes in all the praises written about him that called him a ‘Prodigy’, you can tell by his gait and the way he carries himself on the field, that unfortunately is a sign of a fool, which brings about a sense of entitlement 🙄
    Can’t recall FHs such as Honibal, Stransky, Butch or Lambie with that attitude, M. Styen spent few seasons at centre before eased into Hougaard’s place, Naas surely had it but he backed himself with the performance from day one
    Pollard performance during the few SR matches was abysmal imo, even the hard knocks HM realised it 🙁

@ Nama:
    His bowling is crap though 😛

559 @ Hondo:
    I’m not sure of that Hondo, so far he has come across as a well rounded young man, the media hype isn’t his fault.
    My concern is simply, if he makes basic errors against the Argies, where the pressure is the least of the RC games, the AB’s will give him much more pressure.
    Again, basic errors include kicking off and out on the full, kicking aimlessly, too far, being charged down etc.
    The fact that HM replaced him after 45 minutes surely proves that our concerns were founded?
    If, like some would like us to believe, he was doing ok, HM would have kept him on longer?

nortie @ 518

hahaha… nortie having a field day…

bud… please go and read the first line of my original post again…

“well done on the win Bokke… UGLY AS IT WAS…”

nowhere do I even suggest the boks played the required standard which we all expect… all i said is that we shouldn’t judge them too harshly… as a team… or individuals… for this performance… because of exceptionally bad and unexpected weather…

q1: hands up anyone… who knows when last a rugby test match was played in which hail pelted the players…?
    q2: hands up anyone who had ever played anything (besides the traditional sport of ‘running for cover’…) in hail before…?

i bet everyone answers “never” and “never”…

yes, they are professional players… but surely that doesn’t mean they should go out and practice in hail and monsoons…?

this is possibly the best result for us… we won the game and got the points… but there’s no doubt the guys need to step up… big time… from 1 to 23… rather that than cruising to a 50 point win… thinking we are god’s gift to rugby… and being thumped in argentina… nothing like an ugly win to keep us humble and focused going forward…

also… while the aus/nz game may have looked better… their conditions were nowhere near as severe as ours… and neither managed to score a try due to the conditions, errors and decision making… so how well did they adapt to their “relatively” mild conditions…?

yeah… the guys need to step up… big time… but I still think you’re undervaluing the argies…

guess we’ll see how they go against the anti-pods… 😉 😆

562 @ ufo:
    “this is possibly the best result for us… we won the game and got the points… but there’s no doubt the guys need to step up… big time… from 1 to 23… rather that than cruising to a 50 point win… thinking we are god’s gift to rugby… and being thumped in argentina… nothing like an ugly win to keep us humble and focused going forward…”

I’m sure I heard something like that before….mmmm…..o yes, after the second test against Wales. So, by my estimation, 2 of our last 3 tests we “won ugly” and it gives cause for introspection.

If we win ugly against NZ, Aus or Eng, I can take it and also shout RA-RA-Riepa, simply because those are the sides that will contest the WC final.

If we win ugly at home against sides that are no threat whatsoever to the top rugby sides, then I get concerned.

Food for thought….let’s take the weather as a serious point of reference.

Argentina is less used to a Pretoria storm? They haven’t played a serious game together since last year, yet, IMO, they handled the conditions better, took our line outs apart, as well as our scrum.

Our first try was so easy, and after a mere 2 minutes, yet for the next 78 we looked like amateurs.

I just can’t find it in myself to join the slap each other on the back club on a job well done, not after what I had to endure watching that game.

As I said earlier, that’s just me.

The stakes in Aus was much higher than in Pta. One side going for a WR, the other hell bent on stopping them, 2 class teams.

Ok, you can join the glas is half full club 😀

I never moaned about any players performance, yesterday. I said before the game that HM made a mistake to say that JdeV will help Hanro with decision making, that is not on in a team of International standard. The fast instinctive play of a no 10 can not be hampered with a saying like that.

Who believes this game plan can beat the big ENEMY the AB,s?

Whether i am half a glas a empty one or whatever. We dont play a game good enough. There is way too many iffs and butts.

the media hype isn’t his fault.

I didn’t say it was HIS fault
    I did say he is a young fool who believes himself to be a pedigree, he also seemed to believe in the nonsense the media heaped on him, and in HM’s praises for that matter too 😆

Lol, SB, the glass half full club is UFO, MacroBull, Jean de Villiers and Heyneke.
    IAAS asked why he wasn’t included, he is also happy about the win.

You are welcome to join me and Nama in the “glass is flokken leeg” club Wink

565 @ Hondo:
    I haven’t seen anything in interviews to suggest that he believes the hype.
    He came across quite humble in the Junior WC and subsequent interviews as well.
    After the Scotland test, he looked ordinary at Newlands against the Stormers, and yesterday he didn’t play badly, he kicked out of hand poorly.
    It would seem like he is already “beskermde wild” and no ill may be spoken of him, and that concerns me

Interesting to see if HM will take Pollard to Argentina?
    M Styen is HM’s first choice, he surely considers now Lambie as JW’s 5th column in his camp, Goosen and Boshoff are gone, so what has left?
    Elton Jantjies? 😉
    Coleman? 😆

You are welcome to join me and Nama in the “glass is flokken leeg” club

You made my day, i thought i am totally out of line here on the “friendly to Heynecke website”

Look lets face it is there ANYTHING new?
    Did Heynecke really coached this team into the World no 2 spot?
    I think the potential is there, but there is nothing so far that would make me jump out of my skin yet.

All are talking about patience because he is building his structures.

Do we really think the NZ and AUS coaches did not study HM , his building and his game plan?
    By now we should have been slick, decisive and brutal in executing our game plan. It is not a new coach it is a guy with about 30 Tests to his credit.

The fact is any Tom, Dick and Harry knows what we can bring to the field
    but
    Do we know what they can bring, do we have plans to counter their plans for us?

Simply too many Questions.

@ Hondo:
    Pollard will go, but I would take Lambie as well.
    The Shark game turned when he came op on, he is one of the players that hardly ever gets flustered on a field.
    I think he would have done better than both Morne and Pollard yesterday, he is very calm, cool and collected.

Total 175 users including 0 member, 175 guests, 0 bot online