Springboks (10) 13 / 6 (3) Los Pumas (Final Score)
The South African Springboks and Argentinian Pumas did battle in The Rugby Championship at
Lotus Versveld, Pretoria at 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT, 12:05 ARG Time).
- Penalties – Handré Pollard (1), Morné Steyn (1)
- Tries – Ruan Pienaar (1)
- Conversions – Handré Pollard (1)
Los Pumas:
- Penalties – Nicolás Sánchez (2)
South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Damian de Allende, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lodewyk de Jager, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Eben Etzebeth, 20 Teboho Mahoje, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Morné Steyn, 23 Jan Serfontein.
Argentina: 15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Juan Martín Hernández, 11 Manuel Montero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 7 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Mariano Galarza, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustín Creevy (Captain), 1 Marcos Ayerza
Replacements: 16 Matías Cortese, 17 Lucas Noguera Paz, 18 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 19 Matías Alemanno, 20 Leonardo Senatore, 21 Tomás Cubelli, 22 Santiago González Iglesias, 23 Lucas González Amorosino.
Date: Saturday 16 August
Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Kick-Off: 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT, 12:05 ARG Time)
Expected weather: Partly cloudy with a 20 percent chance of rain, a high of 23°C and a low of 10°C
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Steve Walsh (Australia), Marius Mitrea (Italy)
TMO: Simon McDowell (Ireland)
@ Nama:
Even far worst is the way the Blue Bulls played and the crap FL speaks. Whooow what a bloody circus coming from Pretoria.
Whatever is coming from Pretoria lately is far worse than anything the Last Outpost can offer.
Miskien moet die res van SA afskei van Bulls world. There is a ebola or something worse in my region.
Ek is so teleurgesteld in alles wat deesdae van die Bulle af kom ek is skoon sprakeloos. Dit is werklik swak. Selfde verskonnings oor en oor. Hantering al heel jaar swak, swak swak.
Ek kan nie glo ek kyk weer die game se vokken heruitsending nie. Eintlik net om seker te maak ek was nie verkeerd vandag nie.
Kak met die “reen” verskoning. Pollard is nog VERRRRR van internasionale standaard af. Coetzee was, is en sal altyd ‘n moegoe speler wees. Jannie is Jannie. daar i ongelukkig nie iemand beter nie. Babyface is toe nie so wereld gehalte soos SOMMIGE mense gedink nie. Ysterbeth moet iewers gemoer word laat hy kan regkom.
Waar sal ons ‘n scrummy kry????
Not ebola… more like blouballa.
I’m tired of the spinning as well, just like you.
@ Hondo:
“So Lambie plays CC while Pollard and M Styen played test rugby, the Beast and Habana diligently collect their match fees, Etzbeth trades upper cuts as usual but’s it’s Pienaar who gets buckets of scorn and abuse?”
I thought Beast and Habana did quite well actually. Agree with you on Pollard, Pienaar and Etzebeth.
Am I racist?
Jean: ‘Worst conditions ever’
Of course Cappie.
It was only the Boks that played in that conditions. Every time the Argies had the ball, the under feet conditions were dry and the sun was shining.
Meyer noted that a number of young players with limited Test match experience played in pivotal positions and did very well in very testing conditions.
“We had a 20-year-old [Handré Pollard] running play at flyhalf and a 21-year-old [Lodewyk de Jager] calling the line-outs and they did very well,” the Bok coach said.
YOU selected them, Herr Meyer. Did you not phone NASA to hear what the weather would be like? That’s what Kitsch Christie did in 1995.
Dom MOER!
@ McLook:#468
“Also if you want to play Pollard you need to give him front foot ball.”
And you are going to get that where exactly? Against a 2nd string Scotland team?
You are not going to play against THEM every weekend.
@ Nama:
Habana got expose 3 time with the rolling grub kicks behind, caught him out of position while trying to get interceptions, crouching like a cheetah in the high grass ready to pounce on opportunity that doesn’t come 😆
And JdV’s pass caught him 5m ahead of his line, what you see is what you get, simple 😆
The Beast is better than The Trevor, as much I would concede 😀
474 @ nortierd:
fair enough dan… but of course 7 points was not enough if you were expecting 50… 😀
so perhaps view is informed by your pre-match expectations… which were obviously disappointed…? 😉
i just don’t think we fans show enough respect to the Argies… and expect them to be the whipping boys of the comp.
while we “should” beat them… they are never just going to lie down and die for us… yes, they may be the 12 ranked side and we blew them away last year… but they have beaten several of the home unions recently and two years ago we scraped a draw against them…
so to dismiss their effort in the game is not considering all the facts on the day surely…
and yes… they played in the same storm as the boks… but’s that’s why they say rain is a great leveller in rugby… and if we come across a european side in the wc in england it will affect both sides… and we do indeed still hear european commentators mentioning the rain contributing to a tight dour match… even when two experienced top ten european sides play in the rain…
so it’s cool to disagree about this… and i still believe you and others are being unreasonably harsh…
but hey… of course it’s your right to think and say so… and my opinion is about your opinion in this case… not about you…!! 😆
473 @ superBul:
hehehe… you’re a funny man superbul…! 😆
i’m the ostrich…? look, i may be a glass half full optimist… but you’re a glass is always empty and the windpomp is dry kinda guy… so who is really being the ostrich…? always ignoring and completely dismissing all the positives about heyneke is hardly the most credible position to hold… if you occasionally gave him some credit then your criticisms may be taken more seriously…
but hey… in our constitutional democracy you’re fully entitled to behave like an ostrich…!
“pffffttttt!!!!!”
@ ufo:
Talking sense as always.
The way some folk are going on here, you’d swear we had lost the game. Heyneke will want to put this game behind him and move on. He now knows that no team can be underestimated.
The Boks are the only team in this comp who will now have 3 consecutive matches away from home.
@ ufo:
Correct.
That rain reminded me of the semi in 95 against the French at Kings Park.
And the usual suspects would like to put the boot in about the lack of a bonus point.
No. 2 vs no. 12.
Sheesh…emoworld 2.0
Look south africa didnt play well overall except willie, duane, flo and ruan… and in the end we were lucky to get the win.
but to compare this to “the conditions we will get in england” is ridiculous lol. Will we get sunny weather to train in all week to be confronted by hail and a terrential down pour as the games starts? no farking way.
Meyer should have recognized that we should be chasing the 5 points 5 mins from kick off, flo and coetzee together was a disaster and this game was ideal for Juan to make a comeback. Meyer should not make any excuses because we were poor, and that most of us logical thinking supporters will realize conditions were bad even if we needed the 5 points.
Poor stratrgy in this game that was disrupted by the rain that was a spanner in the works… we will he back.
@ MacroBok:
Yes the Boks will be back – who is to say that the Argies don’t give someone a fright on home soil? Ok. don’t go there.
There was more likely a reading of the riot act in Pretoria today – which seems to be a popular occurrence there on Sundays. 🙄
@ IAAS:
Only tomorrow, no one on Loftus works on a Sunday.
@ MacroBok:
haha
Now watching some cricket. I know it is ONLY Zim – but the Aussies are looming.
@ IAAS:
im in two minds… zimbabwe games are usually boring. there is a docie about hiroshima on as well… ill check the scire in commercial breaks
@ MacroBok:
Yeah, I’m keeping an eye on the game in between chores.
@ IAAS:
Im putting me head in the ground like an ostrich… regarding chores 😀
So, is Pollard just another in a long line of great hypes?
Weather notwithstanding.
Can’t judge team or player performance on yesterdays game.
The conditions were attrocious.
Yeah, these players are professionals and they should be able to adapt to any conditions and the inclement weather they played in yesterday is what is expected in England during RWC ‘2015.
But just like the French game in Durban in ’95, this was freaky highveld weather during August which could never be anticipated.
@ Jeraldjay:
How you doing? Welcome to the new joint. That weather yesterday came out of nowhere. Friday was perfect and clearing up today. That storm hit us 10 mins after kick off. Of course the Boks made plenty of mistakes. Of course they didn’t gel in those conditions. The worst thing Heyneke could do now is make wholesale changes – the only change I would make is to bring Juan Smith in at 7. And from a personal point of view, I’d like to see Reinach on the bench.
Nama wrote:
Do you want him to be?
Morning Nama
Hoe lyk did daar bo in die ‘ander’ Kaap?
No I wasn’t too disappointed in Pollard performance. My main observation was how lousy we were at scrum time. Young P is a lightie and needs time to develop. Our front row/tight 5 isn’t. If you are looking for areas of weakness I’d start right there. The rest is or minor importance and usually rectifies itself when the scrum delivers good clean go-forward ball. Well, that the way I understand it anyway.
@ Jeraldjay: Ja. Agree. HM should prepare for a snowstorm next. We are indeed a critical bunch.
@ MacroBok: Pollard has shown all the signs of the real deal. He’s barely out of nappies and has had massive responsibility cast upon him. I don’t think he acquitted himself badly at all, given all the circumstances.
So, returning to the meat of the problem, I believe HM should start focusing his resources on the front row and scrummaging in particular. More of the same and even the Oz is going to shove our heads up our arses come scrum-time.
Total 138 users including 0 member, 138 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,338,754 Page Impressions