South AfricaArgentinaSpringboks (10) 13 / 6 (3) Los Pumas (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and Argentinian Pumas did battle in The Rugby Championship at

Lotus Versveld, Pretoria at 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT, 12:05 ARG Time).

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (1), Morné Steyn (1)
  • Tries – Ruan Pienaar (1)
  • Conversions – Handré Pollard (1)

Los Pumas:

• Penalties – Nicolás Sánchez (2)

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Damian de Allende, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lodewyk de Jager, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Eben Etzebeth, 20 Teboho Mahoje, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Morné Steyn, 23 Jan Serfontein.

Argentina: 15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Juan Martín Hernández, 11 Manuel Montero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 7 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Mariano Galarza, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustín Creevy (Captain), 1 Marcos Ayerza
Replacements: 16 Matías Cortese, 17 Lucas Noguera Paz, 18 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 19 Matías Alemanno, 20 Leonardo Senatore, 21 Tomás Cubelli, 22 Santiago González Iglesias, 23 Lucas González Amorosino.

Date: Saturday 16 August
Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Kick-Off: 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT, 12:05 ARG Time)
Expected weather: Partly cloudy with a 20 percent chance of rain, a high of 23°C and a low of 10°C
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Steve Walsh (Australia), Marius Mitrea (Italy)
TMO: Simon McDowell (Ireland)

691 Responses to The Rugby Championship: South Africa vs Argentina – Live Game Article

@ Pietman: Hamba Kahle Pietman. Gee GT n soentjie van my.

And cheers to my old friend Skopskiet and the other 27 guests as well Wink

Win for Blue Bulls in final pool match at the 7s to end 2nd in the pool. Blue Bulls 24/21 Cardiff Blues. Can smile a bit now with that win and the Boks as well even if sounds like it was ugly.

445 @ Pietman:
    Die ding is, hulle moes mos besef het, hel, ons moet adjust… ons moet baaaaie meer konserwatief speel, nader aan mekaar staan, korter passes maak, meer met die voorries dryf… ect, ect…

Die Kaptein moes daai dinge ingedril het… rigting verskaf het.

Die senior spelers moes die kalmerende en nugtere denke gehad het en die youngsters bymekaar geruk het en mooi vertel het wat nou moet gebeur.

Kyk, enigiemand wat al in baie reen gespeel het weet die bal voel en hanteer behoorlik soos nat seep… so mens verstaan die game sou lelik wees en dit was ‘n geweldige gelykmaker, maar dan doen mens net die eenvoudige planne, niks fokken fancy nie, niks!

As daar ‘n skopbare strafskop is, vat jy die punte, klaar, uit en gedaan!

Geluk aan Sharks, Cheetahs, Leeus en PW met hul CB wenne.
    Geluk aan Bokke met ‘n slegte wen.

Terwyl Kempson so praat in ‘n leë Loftus, so gaan dit lyk volgende week, hehe.

Cheers all the old folks with walking sticks & zimmerframes… Coach Pete, Sammajoor 4skin, Piet Verdriet.

The rest of us youngsters will hang here a while longer…

Tounge-Out

Bulle het 50 persent verbeter, lê nou 7de op die log, hier kom ons !

Pathetic to say the least, JW seriously can fancy his RWC 2015’s Chances!
    The Loftus arena was at 40% capacity, just to show where springbok rugby is at the moment
    under HM, SARU and the Quota 🙁
    So Lambie plays CC while Pollard and M Styen played test rugby, the Beast and Habana diligently collect their match fees, Etzbeth trades upper cuts as usual but’s it’s Pienaar who gets buckets of scorn and abuse? 😉

458 @ Hondo:
    Chap, jy praat darem ‘n pot groot kak… nie dat jy enigsins op ander tye sense praat nie!

As ever.

Look, we can sugarcoat this game as much as we want and throw weather into the pot as well, fact remains, we have been pathetic in our last two tests, we scraped it against Wales and were just as undeserving today.
    The WC will be played in Eng in wet weather, and if this is how we play against a team so poor they can’t crack the top 10, what chance do we have against decent opposition?

‘life is tough’ said John Wayne, ‘and it’s tougher when you are stupid’ 😆
    Someone had to tell it to young Pollard before he took the field; M Styen was there to play, not to warm the bench!
    And if the young fool REALLY believes he is a better FH than Lambie then the harsh reality will smack into his baby face soon!

A Long term planning? perhaps you might think JW for 2015?

Well done Bokke but fark that arsehole Tjarks supporter who was asking about ticket prices earlier.
    Bully Caveman Slam-Dunk

Trying to take things that don’t belong to him.

Disapproval Claims to be an ex-Natal player as well.
    Mad

@ Hondo:
    I did mention earlier that Jake has probably mailed the parliament already promising to do better, but how will you feel about Mvovo at 15, Sithole at 13 and Terra as captain?

Pathetic display by our boys.
    A few observations;
    1.HM is not the messiah. The game plan and some of his selections were rubbish.
    2. Damien De Allende – thanks for coming, see you in the CC.
    3. Bakkies, you are past it. Your mate Victor as well. Let’s see the new hungry kids play.
    4.JdV, time for a new cappie.

I am just wondering about the impact of match analyses software on the modern game. The moment teams start to show patterns it is identified and counter measures are put in place.

The Argies had two games against Wales and the one against Scotland to analyse HM’s coaching. They knew exactly what we will do in every quarter of the field.

The Springboks whole attack is based on three things namely line-out drive, Chippie le Roux chipping and the f&$?*+g box kick. We also smash it up in the middle but that is just to set up either a box kick or a Chippie chip. You don’t need to be a rocket scientist to figure out a defence.

In contrast what do we know about the Argies? I don’t know if they played any pre-four-nation-champ matches but they come in as a unknown factor at the start of each season.

Arrogantly the Springboks go in with an attitude we’ll smash it up recycle and give it to Chippie to do some chip magic. Who else in that bok line but Chippie can create something? Our two centres are smash it uppers and Jan Serfontein is also turned into one. Our wingers is one-dimensional karperde and our backline play have shown vey little innovation over the last 10 years. Tactically we are Neandertals and way to predictable.

You’ve got to get the basic top notch but you need to have something up your sleave. You need some slick backline or forward drive moves and you need playmakers in your key position namely Numbers 9, 10, 12, 15, 8 and 7 as well as some real pace or brute strength on the wing.

We’ve got Chippie chipping all the time and smasher-uppers and karperde in the other playmaking positions.

At least our ruck play has shown some improvement so we’ll be competitive but with out scoring factors (players and moves) we’ll keep on losing against the big guns.

Also if you want to play Pollard you need to give him front foot ball. We were tackled behind the advantage line because we send the ball lateral to a pod standing still or backwards to the smash-it up centers throughs the hand of a flyhalf not running onto the ball. Our pods and smasher uppers then try and create front foot ball from a standing position.

What about driving straight through the line-out. That is the lock catch it and the whole pack drive a wedge straight through the lineout. Once the forward momentum stop the ball comes back at speed and somebody run with speed onto the ball to get the defence to turn around. Only then the ball is send back to a flyhalf attacking the line.

Those of you who have seen Jason Little’s try against us in the 2nd test of the 1993 series will know exactly what I am talking about.

Well, let’s deal with it when and IF it comes to that, we already agreed 3 weeks ago: JW’s Semi Final selection wasn’t designed to win it, there was another agenda
    HM worn his welcome, that for sure

@ Charo:
    Indeed

Well done on the win Bokke… ugly as it was…

I really believe we shouldn’t read too much into the individual or team performance in such atrocious conditions…
    I’m not just making excuses… but can’t recall seeing rain bucketing down that hard for so long in a rugby test before…

and we must give credit to the Argies too… they came to prove a point… and I reckon they did…

But we Saffa rugby fans are way OTT in our expectations and criticisms sometimes… (most of the time… hehehe…)

could not believe my ears when… on a day the Aussies and ABs drew… our commentators are saying the Boks will rue not collecting a bonus point against the Argies…

helloooo…? some perspective please guys…

sheesh…! Neither Aus nor NZ got a win today… neither got a bonus point… and neither got a try… But we are expected to believe the Boks should be ashamed of their win…???

Fark that…! They won… Job done…

Jean said before the game they would focus on the win first and then think about bonus points… So I reckon the Boks expectations were pretty much spot on… can the same be said for us fans who all expected a walkover…?

As Jean said in his interview… that was that… let’s take it from here… or something similar…

When last did SA lead the log after the first round of RC games…?

talking about my generation:

just come back from a Woodstock Tribute show

Woodstock music festival happened exactly 45 years ago (15 – 17 August 1969)

ufo wrote:

Fark that…! They won… Job done…

ans shut up NOW, be a Ostrich, pffffttttt!!!!!

@ ufo:
    I’m of a somewhat different opinion to you on this one.
    We played a side rated nr 12 in the world, at home, at a venue we put 70 past them just a year ago.
    I’m by no means satisfied with a gechommel and a mere 7 point win.
    Stuff the weather, the WC is being played in England and we can expect something similar somewhere during the tournament, what happens if we play a decent team?
    Also, one can’t compare the Aus v NZ game, that was pure strength v strenght and a much better game than the rubbish at Loftus.
    If we usually paste the Argies at home, then a week later struggle to a draw or close win in Argentina, what will happen next week now that we struggled to a win at home, let alone what will happen in Aus or NZ?
    They stuffed us up in the set pieces, made us look stupid in the line outs and generally played better than us.

This Arg side hasn’t even played for how many months? Their Pampas side played in June while this team was having a holiday and camp in the USA. That Pampas side lost to Ireland and a below average Scottish side. This team had one warm up game against a second rate French club side, but come within 7 of the second best side in the world?
    They are not good, we have regressed, we were lucky to scrape past the Welsh, and now almost came unstuck again today against an Argie side who would be pasted by the same Welsh team.
    Not even remotely good enough, not even close IMO.

It was a struggle, i really walked away and sprayed my roses with rose care from the 30th minute to the 65th minute and guess what i missed zero , nil , ziltch.
    At least i found another garden client in that time.

Watching the Springboks under HM is now a real laborious task. What de hell did our coached do to our rugby?

Funny enough there was not that many poor handling in the rain. It was just the brain dead play we dished up.

I s Handre Pollard the HF to take us though to the RWC?

Is Bakkies still up to it?

Is De Allende an outside centre?

Is Jannie international quality?

Congratulations on the win, BOKKE!!

@ Nama:
    Just like Jake needed Eddie Jones, HM needs someone tough enough with flair. Preferably from NZ or AUS

Amen…and amen.

@ superBul: layer fatique
    Does he have the ballas to admit his shortcoming and rope in someone?

He’ll tell us about the weather, execution, fatigue, combinations (overseas players coming back), Zuma, Malema en al daai kak.

…and of course the POSITIVES that he can take out of this game.

Nama wrote:

…and of course the POSITIVES that he can take out of this game.

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer on Saturday said he was very pleased with a tough 13-6 win over Argentina on Saturday night at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria in conditions that captain Jean de Villiers described as “probably the worst I have ever played in”.

Total 94 users including 0 member, 94 guests, 0 bot online