Super RugbyIt is Round 16 of Super Rugby 2014 this weekend, the last Round before the June Test Break! We have 7 games in Round 16, with 2 game on Friday and 5 games on Saturday.

The Toyota Cheetahs have a BYE weekend.

In June / July 2014 the Antipodian teams will catch up in played games with the South African counterparts, when the South African sides sit out for 1 Round.

The Combined Log will therefore be skewed for the majority of the competition and one has to question why individual countries are allowed to start such a long competition ahead of it’s rivals. In 2013 the Australian sides started a week early, but at least they had the excuse that they needed an extra week in the middle of the year to prepare for the British & Irish Lions series, which they lost.

Super Rugby – Round 16

All Times are in SA Time (GMT + 2)

Crusaders

Western Force

30 May at 09:35
  • Team: 15. Israel Dagg, 14. Johnny McNicholl, 13. Tom Taylor, 12. Ryan Crotty, 11. Nemani Nadolo, 10. Colin Slade, 9. Andy Ellis, 8. Kieran Read (Captain), 7. Richie McCaw, 6. Jordan Taufua, 5. Sam Whitelock, 4. Dominic Bird, 3. Nepo Laulala, 2. Ben Funnell, 1. Tim Perry
  • Replacements: 16. Corey Flynn, 17. Wyatt Crockett, 18. Owen Franks, 19. Jimmy Tupou, 20. Luke Whitelock, 21. Willi Heinz, 22. Adam Whitelock, 23. Nafi Tuitavake
  • Team: 15. Jayden Hayward, 14. Dane Haylett-Petty, 13. Patrick Dellit, 12. Chris Tuatara-Morrison, 11. Nick Cummins, 10. Sias Ebersohn, 9. Ian Prior, 8. Angus Cottrell, 7. Matthew Hodgson (Captain), 6. Brynard Stander, 5. Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4. Sam Wykes, 3. Kieran Longbottom, 2. Nathan Charles, 1. Pekahou Cowan
  • Replacements: 16. Heath Tessmann, 17. Francois van Wyk, 18. Oli Hoskins, 19. Adam Coleman, 20. Ryan Hodson, 21. Justin Turner, 22. Zack Holmes, 23. Dillyn Leyds

Reds

Highlanders

30 May at 11:40
  • Team: 15. Mike Harris, 14. Dominic Shipperley, 13. Ben Tapuai, 12. Anthony Faingaa, 11. Rod Davies, 10. Ben Lucas, 9. Will Genia, 8. Jake Schatz, 7. Beau Robinson, 6. Curtis Browning, 5. James Horwill (Captain), 4. Rob Simmons, 3. Greg Holmes, 2. James Hanson, 1. James Slipper
  • Replacements: 16. Andrew Ready, 17. Albert Anae, 18. Sef Faagase, 19. David McDuling, 20. Liam Gill, 21. Nicholas Frisby, 22. Samu Kerevi, 23. Jamie-Jerry Taulagi
  • Team: 15. Ben R Smith, 14. Richard Buckman, 13. Malakai Fekitoa, 12. Shaun Treeby, 11. Patrick Osborne, 10. Lima Sopoaga, 9. Aaron Smith, 8. Nasi Manu (Captain), 7. Shane Christie, 6. Gareth Evans, 5. Joe Wheeler, 4. Jarrad Hoeata, 3. Ma’afu Fia, 2. Liam Coltman, 1. Kane Hames
  • Replacements: 16. Ged Robinson, 17. Matias Diaz, 18. Chris King, 19. Tom Franklin, 20. Elliot Dixon, 21. Fumiaki Tanaka, 22. Hayden Parker, 23. Phil Burleigh

Chiefs

Waratahs

31 May at 06:35
  • Team: 15. Tom Marshall, 14. Dwayne Sweeney, 13. Tim Nanai-Williams, 12. Andrew Horrell, 11. Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10. Aaron Cruden, 9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8. Liam Squire, 7. Sam Cane, 6. Liam Messam, 5. Brodie Retallick, 4. Matt Symons, 3. Ben Tameifuna, 2. Nathan Harris, 1. Jamie MacKintosh
  • Replacements: 16. Mahonri Schwalger, 17. Pauliasi Manu, 18. Josh Hohneck, 19. Michael Fitzgerald, 20. Tanerau Latimer, 21. Brad Weber, 22. Gareth Anscombe
  • Team: 15. Israel Folau, 14. Alofa Alofa, 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12. Kurtley Beale, 11. Rob Horne, 10. Bernard Foley, 9. Nick Phipps, 8. Wycliff Palu, 7. Michael Hooper, 6. Dave Dennis (Captain), 5. Kane Douglas, 4. Jacques Potgieter, 3. Paddy Ryan, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1. Benn Robinson
  • Replacements: 16. Hugh Roach, 17. Jeremy Tilse, 18. Sekope Kepu, 19. Will Skelton, 20. Stephen Hoiles, 21. Brendan McKibbin, 22. Jonathan Lance, 23. Matt Carraro

Blues

Hurricanes

31 May at 09:35
  • Team: 15. Lolagi Visinia, 14. Frank Halai, 13. Pita Ahki, 12. Ma’a Nonu, 11. George Moala, 10. Ihaia West, 9. Bryn Hall, 8. Jerome Kaino, 7. Luke Braid (Captain), 6. Peter Saili, 5. Tom Donnelly, 4. Patrick Tuipulotu, 3. Charlie Faumuina, 2. Keven Mealamu, 1. Tony Woodcock
  • Replacements: 16. James Parsons, 17. Ofa Tu’ungafasi, 18. Angus Ta’avao, 19. Hayden Triggs, 20. Steven Luatua, 21. Piri Weepu, 22. Simon Hickey, 23. Albert Nikoro
  • Team: 15. Matt Proctor, 14. Cory Jane, 13. Conrad Smith (Captain), 12. Alapati Leiua, 11. Julian Savea, 10. Beauden Barrett, 9. TJ Perenara, 8. Victor Vito, 7. Jack Lam, 6. Faifili Levave, 5. James Broadhurst, 4. Jeremy Thrush, 3. Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 2. Dane Coles, 1. Ben Franks
  • Replacements: 16. Ash Dixon, 17. Chris Eves, 18. Reg Goodes, 19. Brad Shields, 20. Ardie Savea, 21. Chris Smylie, 22. Tim Bateman, 23. James Marshall

Brumbies

Melbourne Rebels

31 May at 11:40
  • Team: 15. Pat McCabe, 14. Henry Speight, 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 12. Christian Lealiifano, 11. Clyde Rathbone, 10. Matt Toomua, 9. Nic White, 8. Ben Mowen (Captain), 7. Jarrad Butler, 6. Fotu Auelua, 5. Sam Carter, 4. Scott Fardy, 3. Ruan-Henry Smith, 2. Stephen Moore, 1. Scott Sio
  • Replacements: 16. Josh Mann-Rea, 17. Ben Alexander, 18. Jean-Pierre Smith, 19. Leon Power, 20. Jordan Smiler, 21. Michael Dowsett, 22. Andrew Smith, 23. Jesse Mogg
  • Team: 15. Jason Woodward, 14. Male Sa’u, 13. Tamati Ellison, 12. Mitch Inman, 11. Tom English, 10. Bryce Hegarty, 9. Ben Meehan, 8. Scott Higginbotham (Captain), 7. Scott Fuglistaller, 6. Colby Faingaa, 5. Luke Jones, 4. Cadeyrn Neville, 3. Laurie Weeks, 2. Pat Leafa, 1. Toby Smith
  • Replacements: 16. Shota Horie, 17. Cruze Ah-Nau, 18. Paul Alo-Emile, 19. Hugh Pyle, 20. Jordy Reid, 21. Josh Holmes, 22. Jack Debreczeni, 23. Tom Kingston

Lions

Vodacom Bulls

31 May at 17:05
  • Team: 15. Coenie van Wyk, 14. Courtnall Skosan, 13. Stokkies Hanekom, 12. Alwyn Hollenbach, 11. Chrysander Botha, 10. Marnitz Boshoff, 9. Ross Cronje, 8. Warren Whiteley (Captain), 7. Warwick Tecklenburg, 6. Jaco Kriel, 5. Franco Mostert, 4. Rudi Mathee, 3. Julian Redelinghuys, 2. Robbie Coetzee, 1. Schalk (FS) van der Merwe
  • Replacements: 16. Akker van der Merwe, 17. Corne Fourie, 18. Ruan Dreyer, 19. Willie Britz, 20. Derick Minnie, 21. Francois de Klerk, 22. Elton Jantjies, 23. Deon van Rensburg
  • Team: 15. Jurgen Visser, 14. Akona Ndungane, 13. JJ Engelbrecht, 12. Jan Serfontein, 11. Bjorn Basson, 10. Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9. Francois Hougaard, 8. Jacques Engelbrecht, 7. Jacques Du Plessis, 6. Jono Ross, 5. Grant Hattingh, 4. Flip van der Merwe (Captain), 3. Marcel Van Der Merwe, 2. Callie Visagie, 1. Dean Greyling
  • Replacements: 16. Mbongeni Mbonambi, 17. Werner Kruger, 18. Paul Willemse, 19. Wimpie van der Walt, 20. Piet van Zyl, 21. Louis Fouche, 22. William Small-Smith, 23. MornΓ© Mellett

Cell C Sharks

DHL Stormers

31 May at 19:10
  • Team: 15. SP Marais, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Sibusiso Sithole, 12. Paul Jordaan, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Francois Steyn, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Willem Alberts, 7. Lubabalo Mtembu, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Stephan Lewies, 4. Ettienne Oosthuizen, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis (Captain), 1. Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Ryan Kankowski, 20. Keegan Daniel, 21. Charl McLeod, 22. Tim Swiel, 23. Heimar Williams
  • Team: 15. Jaco Taute, 14. Cheslin Kolbe, 13. Juan de Jongh, 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Sailosi Tagicakibau, 10. Kurt Coleman, 9. Nick Groom, 8. Duane Vermeulen (Captain), 7. Siya Kolisi, 6. Nizaam Carr, 5. Ruan Botha, 4. Michael Rhodes, 3. Pat Cilliers, 2. Stephan Coetzee, 1. Alistair Vermaak
  • Replacements: 16. Mike Willemse, 17. Sithembiso Sithole, 18. Martin Dreyer, 19. Jean Kleyn, 20. Manuel Carizza, 21. Dylon Frylinck, 22. Demetri Catrakilis, 23. Peter Grant

168 Responses to Super Rugby 2014: Weekend Teams – Round 16 (Final Revision)

Because the Welsh is not being played in the first 3 weeks, we play the Scots etc first. that again will give most players not playing in the first 2 weeks a rest

What combinations? eish boet, you think JDV will be dropped for Steyn?? NO, Matfield will play, etc etc etc

Only reason he wanted Steyn now is because JDV is injured, you think Matfield is a surprise selection? you think If PSDT was fit he would be in the team in place of Matfield??? then ur more stressed than even I imagined..

87 @ MacroBull:

Actually I have always been a Jake supporter. If you blogged on keo years back when he was Bok Coach you would have seen my posts there tat I rated him. Last year when he coached Brumbies had always said we were fools in sa to lose one of our very best coaches.

Yes we played a daft kicking game against the Brumbies and was annoyed at our mistakes. I have relooked at that game and we should have won that game if we never fumbled the ball so much. Too many handling eras almost on their line or bad passing that cost us two tries.

At the time was annoyed and all us suporters no matter which teams we support say things in the heat of the moment. Jake IS a very very good coacch bud. Go read Tony Johnson’s article on SP and he also thinks so and I rate what Tony says a lot. He is one of the best rugby writers out there.

😯 Why are they so worried about these useless Sharks players? I mean every year we hear how useless the Sharks and their players are…..
    πŸ˜• πŸ˜• πŸ˜• πŸ˜•

:mrgreen: @ Puma:

The Sharks backline hasn’t done much this year, individuals like Mvovo has stood out, and Steyn can be a back up and slot a long penalty or 2.
    Their forwards on the other hand have whip on them their games, so the front row and Alberts will play all the tests.
    PSdT, even if fit, would never keep Matfield out of a Bok side.
    He has hardly played a dozen 1st class games and is also as injury prone as Goosen.
    Still has a lot to prove before he can be mentioned as a regular Bok

Wrong, we play Wales first.

83 @ nortierd:

Iam with my sharks brudda. Time for you and macro to have a few cold ones the two of you are way to stressed… Time to relax boet… Overjoy

I am mostly refering to comments posted on SW.

Look I am not saying he is not a good coach, but there is defininately some stand off between him and Meyer, White wants to coach the boks (or england, australia and new zealand). Also we do not know what game even Meyer is playing, but the well being of players like Frans Steyn is surely being put at risk, anyone can see that.

Now lets hope the Stormers do not come to Durbs with their A game :mrgreen: Burgers injury I think will help us as he has not only played well but has lifted the team.

Boet? what’s the use of answering the SW lot over here? 😯

You are lucky Jake is not the coach of the Stormers or schalk would have started as captain πŸ˜€

πŸ˜† πŸ˜† @ MacroBull:

Guys keep up the theories, Rudi will be very happy and soon announce we have reached 20 million impressions πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

That seems to be a popular opinion that rarely gets opposed when the sharks win or lose, huge bandwagons all over the place.

Picked the Sharks to win, last week already.
    It’s a no brainer, and it’s only the uber emo that will try and talk up a team at the bottom of the log of which they have been making fun of all year, as if they now stand a chance of beating the number 1 side of the log.
    Please, spare us the so called, we are worried and we need to be on top of our game speech.
    Stormers are kak, and have been all year, there’s a reason a team is 15th on the log.
    The Sharks have been 1st on the log all year, and there is also a reason for that

Not to mention local boy Jaco Peyper and notorious home town ref Stu Berry, the tjorks just need to pitch up. Pleasure

Handle the Stormers with respect, definitely not the Welsh, because they don’t matter.

Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy

Ok kids play nice I am off to town with Wifey…. :mrgreen: πŸ˜†

These okes are so “stressed” about winning superrugby they don’t realize how ridiculous they sound. Wink

Enjoy SF

Not to mention local boy Jaco Peyper and notorious home town ref Stu Berry, the tjorks just need to pitch

I hasn’t got much to do with Peyper being the home town boy or otherwise
    Berry, Joubert and Peyper are all SARU employees and they will deliver any results which SARU tell them to
    Sad but simple
    πŸ™

In all my years following the SR since the Lions (Tvl) won it in the inaugurate 1993 season, I haven’t seen such a lack of interest, nor can I remember a Loftus Versveld half empty while playing a NZ team like I saw it against the Chiefs recently
    Ditto elsewhere
    That lack of SA public’s interest has translated into the odds makers too, not much local support which forced me to ply my considerable skills on some Poms sites, where the taking is low and the risks in term of R/BPΒ£ are simply too high to make it a game
    Saying that I admire those who still watch the local derbies under the Peypers and the Joubert since results are never in doubt πŸ™‚

@ Hondo:
    Yet you stay interested πŸ™‚

The first draft of superBru is on paper

Now for some final tweaks…… Do I still feel lucky?? Geek-Girl

100 @ Sharks_forever:

For sure. They want to get back us us for 2012 semi. I know that and all us Sharkies knows it well… πŸ™‚

Well the only other rugby site I read posts from blogger is on sharksworld and only because they all Sharkies over there. I don’t blog there any longer well not for a few years now but still read there. Also don’t always agree with what all of them say there but we all have our own opinion. But hell I had a huge laugh at this bloggers post and thought well put brother…hahahaha. So if he read here tell him I meant no harm to copy his post and paste it here as I felt the same and it was a classic of not that post. Tell him if you go over there again well said from me… lol.

Here is his post was a good one for sure… :mrgreen:

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

White always said that Schalk Burger seems to be doing the work of three men on the field, but we know Tera does the work of a whole loose trio on the field :mrgreen:

Comment 4, posted at 29.05.14 09:09:53 by KingRiaan Reply

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Well I agree as I am a HUGE HUGE Tera supporter and have been for a very, very long time. All that posted on Keo know exactly how I felt about Tera and last year already had me up in arms when Plum never selected him. He is a brilliant player and finally and eventually under Jake who does recognise talent gave him his chance, well that chance came when Deysel was out banned of course but Jake still gave Tera a chance and hell has he taken it for sure. Now he just can not be left out he is just superb. He was absolutely massive for us against Saders he was MY mom there. Especially when he had to cover the whole loose trio section when Deysel and Alberts were off. What a player Tera is? He is pure class have said it over and over on keo last year and will keep saying it until he becomes a Bok. Pleased Meyer called him up as well. I know because Burger was injured but he got called up so Meyer has noticed him and that is very good.

117 @ Puma:

Meant: Classic of NOTE that post. πŸ™„ Now making mistakes on my pc damn it… πŸ˜•

116 @ Blue Bird:

Hello young lady, how you doing sweet Carol?

Who did you go with Sharks or Stormers? :mrgreen:

Hi Puma…. fist thoughts are Sharks to win…

Friend has arrived, out for coffee catch you later !!

Total 199 users including 0 member, 199 guests, 0 bot online