It is Round 11 of Super Rugby 2014 this weekend! We have 6 games in Round 11, with 3 games on Friday and 3 games on Saturday.
The Crusaders, Lions & Melbourne Rebels have bye weekends.
In June / July 2014 the Antipodian teams will catch up in played games with the South African counterparts, when the South African sides sit out for 1 Round.
The Combined Log will therefore be skewed for the majority of the competition and one has to question why individual countries are allowed to start such a long competition ahead of it’s rivals. In 2013 the Australian sides started a week early, but at least they had the excuse that they needed an extra week in the middle of the year to prepare for the British & Irish Lions series, which they lost.
Super Rugby – Round 11
All Times are in SA Time (GMT + 2)
Blues |
Waratahs |
25 April at 07:35 | |
Brumbies |
Chiefs |
25 April at 09:40 | |
Cell C Sharks |
Highlanders |
25 April at 19:10 | |
Hurricanes |
Reds |
26 April at 09:35 | |
Western Force |
Vodacom Bulls |
26 April at 11:40 | |
Toyota Cheetahs |
DHL Stormers |
26 April at 17:05 | |
@ Lion4ever:
Well good luck and remember there are weeks ahead of you on superBru……..This might just be your week! ๐
OK, here’s how I have decided to pick on Bru this weekend:
1. Any overseas side playing a SA side overseas (weaker conference) will win, UNLESS it is against the Sharks – OK that means the Force wins against the Bulls
2. Favour the home team as far as possible, unless it is the Blues – OK that means a Waratahs win against the Blues
3. If the Stormers or Cheetahs play, pick the other side… if they play each other you have a problem – and you have the choice to either pick the home side (Cheetahs) OR the better defensive side (Stormers) OR you have the choice between the side which knows where the opposition try line is but who also knows bloody well what it looks like behind their own try line (Cheetahs) OR the side who does not know where the opposition try line is at all (Stormers). You have the choice between Toetie (Stormers) OR Naka (Cheetahs) or between No 14 (Stormers) and No 15 (Cheetahs) on the Combined Log…. OK that still leaves me nowhere – Fark that, Gooooooooooo Cheetahs!
4. Always pick last year’s champs for a win even away from home, unless they are playing last year’s runners-up at home…. argh what the fark…. Goooooooooo Chie…. errrrr Brum…. errrr Gooooo Rugby!
5. Always pick the Sharks, unless they are on tour, because if you do not pick and support the Sharks, you upset their sensitive supporters – OK Sharks to beat the Highlanders, sorted!
6. Never bet against Julian Savea, Conrad Smith or Beauden Barrett, unless you have a Will Genia & Quade Cooper… arghhh WTF – Gooooooooooo Canes!
And THAT is how I see it!
Well GBS that is sound reasoning!! ๐
๐ ๐ ๐ @ grootblousmile:
34 @ Sharks_forever:
Do you have another way of looking at it??
Semantics GBS
Picking the Sharks is ok, picking ON the Sharks is taboo
36 nortierd wrote:
I’d rather pick my nose, than pick the Tjarks…
Don’t we all?
You’ve just lost a friend. ๐ฏ
38 IAAS wrote:
Sorry, I think I may be a bit slow tonight… which friend did I lose just now?
What did I do to lose a friend? I have only been joking here on the blog, of course!
Ek is al gatvol vir superbru
I feel the same way – took me less than a minute to make my picks. Maybe there lies the problem. ๐
The 3 LIVE GAME ARTICLES for tomorrow (Friday 25 April) has been scheduled!
Now I have to go make those ugly Bru picks!!
@ IAAS:
I didnt even change my fantasy league, just replaced a player or two who is off this weekend from my own squad
Didn’t even bother with fantasy league this year – the concept didn’t grab me.
Superbru is proving to be a lottery this year with upsets every weekend. I’m just there for the fun in the sun.
This round is the last of my picks I made in March already.
So no thinking involved, what was in was in and it was judged on the form a month ago
If it goes pear shaped this weekend I will probably strip my moer again and pick this weekend until June
Sharks Lover – we all, know Sharks supporters don’t have a sense of humour. ๐
Tahs, Brumbies, Sharks, Reds, Force, Stormers – there you have it.
I’m gonna live or die by those this weekend.
I went Blues, Brumbies, Sharks, Canes, Bulls and Stormers
We agree on 3 – only one of us will be happy – right now if I get 4 out of 6 I’ll be happy.
@IAAS
I see we went for some of the same sides by even the same scores, but I will claim a moral victory and say that my scores were in first, wayyyyyyyy first
If I could have chosen today, I would have probably also have gone for the Tah’s and the Force, but nothing I can do except hope for some upsets
Ag I don’t know with those Aussie sides. The Force beat the Tahs then lose against the Rebels. I was hoping the Bulls would get a win last weekend against the Tahs after their loss against the Force. Stuff it this season, I’m just there for the fun.
@IAAS
Agree, I’m so far down the leaderboard it’s not even funny.
My only goal is not to end in the bottom three of my money pool, can’t afford the penalty fees.
On another note, I see our friend in Africa has malaria again.
We must send him some Shark pajamas, the type Puma sleeps in, I reckon it will keep the mozzies away.
46 @ IAAS:
No, old Tjarkie_Fornever and I go way back and understand each other!
He was here at my place a week or 2 ago with his Notebook, which I fixed up nicely for him.
He knows my style and will know that I commented in jest.
You know, I have met MANY of the regular commenters here in person, have made a few my personal friends and my life has been enriched because of Rugby-Talk to a marvelous extent.
Anyway, Handbriekie asked that I do not work too late tonight, so let me get away from my office and get myself into the house…
See you guys in the morning early for the Rugby!
Total 97 users including 0 member, 97 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,392,843 Page Impressions