Cell C Sharks Director of Rugby Jake White has named a powerful line-up for Friday night’s pre-season warm-up match against the Lions at Ellis Park, in this, their final hit-out.
White pointed out after training on Tuesday that he would name potentially a similar side to the one that will play the Bulls in the Vodacom Super Rugby opener at Growthpoint KINGS PARK next Saturday. This will obviously give the team the best opportunity to gel as a unit in the match scenario.
Media Release
“It’s going to be as close as it gets to a dress rehearsal,” he explained. “I’d like to pick a team that I’d like to start against the Bulls, I’ll give them as much game-time as I can in the first 40 or 50 minutes. Then if I’ve seen enough of what I need to, then I’ll look to give other guys a run. But the quicker I can get cohesion and group work going the better it will be.”
Like the Saracens match, the potential for injuries is a concern – as it would be for any coach before the actual tournament has started – although it is a reality all teams face. But certainly, first prize would be coming out of this game unscathed, regardless of the result.
“As a coach you’re always going to be concerned about losing guys to injury. I don’t think a coach ever gets a team he wants to start, even at Springbok level. Whenever you get one back, someone else inevitably breaks down. What we want is a situation where we hopefully come through this Friday’s game unscathed, but if they don’t then we’ve at least used the two warm-up games to give other guys an opportunity to get game-time, and they’re ready to step in if need be.”
An all-Springbok front row will face the Lions while Pat Lambie returns from honeymoon and Francois Steyn (pictured) is over his injury, as is fullback SP Marais. Lwazi Mvovo was stretchered off as a precautionary measure in the Saracens match but suffered no ill-effects from the bump he took and has been named on the wing. Ryan Kankowski has been named on the bench with White looking to get him back into the system as early as possible.
Cell C Sharks: 15 SP Marais, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Francois Steyn, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Tera Mtembu, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Anton Bresler, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis (Captain), 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Monde Hadebe, 17 Dale Chadwick, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Stephan Lewies, 20 Jacques Botes, 21 Ryan Kankowski, 22 Charl McLeod, 23 Fred Zeilinga, 24 Heimar Williams, 25 S’bura Sithole, 26 Jaco van Tonder.
All quiet on the western front, Just working like crazy, we busy with clean up now after floods and we suffered huge damage to our restaurant etc at work
He was justing taking a leaf out of the Stormers book, you know…… we will win the cup, and then they win Zilch lol
31 @ Sharks_forever:
Eish… did you have a river running through your restaurant?
Writing cheques with his mouth that he better hope his players can cash
35 @ nortierd:
If Jake White does not take the Super Rugby title in 2014, with the squad he’s got available, then he does not ever deserve another title.
Ja boet, none of that this year. Will be surprised if we finish in the top half of the log.
No expectations this year, hope we win more than we lose
LOL Naartjie, you well boet?
YUP huge damage Rudi.
38 @ Sharks_forever:
Are you guys situated ON the river which runs into Harties… and feeds it?
No complaints, your side?
You must really be looking forward to the SR this year, should be a good one for the Cell C tjaaaaaaaarks
yes on the Hennops
Looks like Rugby-Talk has landed something good… will keep you in the loop, just need to conclude the deal and nail it shut, before I blabber on.
All good here boet, yup excited but feet still on terra firma
Make it happen boet
43 @ Sharks_forever:
I think the Sharks have 15 or 16 Springboks (who have caps) on their books for 2014.
But then again, the Bulls still have 14 Springboks on their books, after 10 departed after Super Rugby 2013, plus another 5 Bulls left.
It will be about taking your chances and playing the right game in 2014.
Tell me, are you not concerned that the Sharks will play a conservative game under Jake White?
Hi SB
Hope the grass is greener on this side of the island…
Keo didn’t even have the decency to tell it like it is…I think the regulars deserved it, cause the faithful put him on the map.
Not really boet, we gotta wait and see however
46 @ Tuff Gong:
Hong Kong Gong-Gong, so you’re also an “oorloper” to these pastures, from Voldy (Keo).
Who do you support in rugby, boeta?
47 @ Sharks_forever:
Jake White is known for his defence-oriented rugby… he taught Toetie Coetzee, you know… hehehe
LOL although true, I think JW has moved on, Toetie has not…
Watching the other night against Sarries the Sharks scored 3 well made tries
He is Hong Kong Phooey lol
Capetonian born and bred.
Bokke, WP then the Stormers.
Cheetahs when the above’s not playing.
50 @ Sharks_forever:
When is Eddie Jones joining the Sharks crew, he’s the only one of Jake’s favourites not to be involved at the Sharks yet.
52 @ Tuff Gong:
O flok… jammer om van jou kaak te hoor… hehe
Welcome anyway.
What do you think of Rugby-Talk, so far?
I do not remember a Tuff Gong from Keo, but then again I’ve now been away for 4 and a half years from Voldy… were you there in my time there at Voldy?
Hey put away your stirr ing spoon lol
I don’t have the energy to drag myself down to your level on this forum.
So lets just stick to rugby.
@ Tuff Gong:
? My level??? dude best you take ur backside back to Voldy with that attitude.
No such ID there, but as you can see he is a typical voldy FN
57 @ Sharks_forever:
Relax, here we love rugby and chat rugby… remember.
Can never let this place get all troubled-up like over there at the Dark Side.
58 @ Sharks_forever:
How long will your re-building phase last, after the floods? Are you guys still open for business at present or are the damages extensive enough to have stopped business for a while?
Total 105 users including 0 member, 105 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,352,626 Page Impressions