Cheetahs (10) 20 / 21 (9) Lions (Final Score)
The Toyota Cheetahs and Lions did battle in Super Rugby at
Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein at 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT).
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=84FxGreFTeM[/youtube]
- Penalties – Johan Goosen (1), Elgar Watts (1)
- Tries – Raymond Rhule (1), Cornal Hendricks (1)
- Conversions – Johan Goosen (2)
- Penalties – Marnitz Boshoff (6)
- Drop Goals – Marnitz Boshoff (1)
Cheetahs: 15 Willem le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Pieter Labuschagne, 6 Johannes Prinsloo, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Lodewyk de Jager, 3 Coenraad Oosthuizen, 2 Adriaan Strauss (Captain), 1 Caylib Oosthuizen
Replacements: 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Nicolaas van Dyk, 19 Rynhardt Landman, 20 Jean Cook, 21 Sarel Pretorius, 22 Elgar Watts, 23 Ryno Benjamin.
Lions: 15 Chrysander Botha, 14 Deon van Rensburg, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Ruan Combrinck, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley (Captain), 7 Derick Minnie, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Franco Mostert, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Schalk van der Merwe
Replacements: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Ruan Dreyer, 19 Willie Britz, 20 Warwick Tecklenburg, 21 Ross Cronje, 22 Coenie van Wyk, 23 Alwyn Hollenbach.
Assistant Referees: Jaco Peyper (South Africa), Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa)
TMO: Johan Greeff (South Africa)
If they can’t handle a slippery ball in nice Durban weather, then HM can leave them at home in 2015 when the players will be expected to handle a slippery ball in atrocious weather in England.
The best time to win a game is your first outing when most teams are a bit rusty. I would rather have a team playing well than a whole team with big names playing as individuals… It is not always a good idea to have too many egos playing in one team. I’m talking about the Stormers now 😉
Jake has a cunning plan……he will plant some pastries behind the Bulls tryline and with Calders extra work, Fransie will use his peripheral vision to see the pastries. No one will stop Fattie from getting to the tryline.
Calder is also of huge help to Bissies slow backward boetie, now when he misses a tackle he can at least see who beat him.
You are on a roll…
31 @ nortierd:
A wet ball from rain is very different to a wet ball that is like a bar of soap from the humidity. It is tougher playing in these conditions than in the rain. The players will tell you so as well like Jean did last year when we had a narrow win against Stormers in similar conditions. So think you have that one wrong to a wet ball that we will have to get used to playing in England in 2015. It won’t really be as bad as a ball like soap bud.
Remember SBW saying after the game here it was the worst conditions he played in because of the humidity. He had a terrible game that day here never seen SBW drop so many balls ever. That is a fact humidity is the worse to play in when it is this bad.
Okay catch up later off for a swim.
33 @ nortierd:
Bwahahahaha
Oompie Puma gaan jou moerrr…jy kan bly wees jy het nie kak gesels oor Lambie nie!
30 @ grootblousmile:
Feel the same just hope we come away with a win. Jake should be starting with McLeod that is my feeling. Pat also plays better with McLeod.
Okay catch up later boet.
See post 25 Puma, no excuses for a team in the middle of a Golden Era and who have already informed all and sundry that they are going to win the SR
Humidity sounds like an excuse to me
36 @ grootblousmile:
Don’t worry think poor old Northie is just jealous of my team and coach…. Next week I will be waiting for him when Stormers play……..
Next week doesn’t count Puma, we play the Lions, it’s like having an extra bye, but you must wear togs to collect the points
The Sharks are overwhelming favourites to go all the way… the media and hype says it all…
42 @ Gumboots:
I see the Bookies have the Sharks at 7/1
The odds on the Chiefs and Crusaders are better than that
It comes down to pressure at the final stages… Both the AB teams have been there done that and got the trophy… It is not always good to be the favourites…
28 @ Puma:
I don’t think there has been a brilliant game in Durban at all in the last few years of superrugby.
45 @ MacroBull:
Julle byt die Guppie-puppies lekker… hou so aan!
Wag net tot Skarks_forever, aka, sharks_ lover, aka Tyronne aka Django Goldchained hier opdaag, dan gaan die poppe dans. Ek dink hy wax nog sy rug en dan gaan hy nuwe plakkies koop en sy mags was en nog n paar goue kettings koop, dan sal hy hier wees
47 @ nortierd:
Tjarkie_For_Never is nou nog eers BEEEEEEEEESIG met sy jong vrou…
Why are these people speaking about the Sharks / Bulls game on the VRYSTAAAAT / Lions thread?
DIK SWAK!
on the bright side. now all our attention goes to the ruggas
50 @ Loosehead:
Because you STAATERS are dry and drab… we had to lighten the thread up a bit!
En sy snor trim
It is for reasons like this that I support the Sharks today!
Fcuking Bulls tappets!
54 @ Loosehead:
Come on, just admit it, you are in LUUURRRVEEE with Jake White…
Come, come out with it!
Sjoe….the Lions lots of newbies on the field……..means they have nothing to lose. Could be a humdinger. Scrummie and Flyhalf two of the new ous…..thats the beginning and end of it, if they go for it and get it right…….ja anway we’ll see.
Loosehead wrote:
He he
He won us the 2007 RWC. Good enough to be a hero in my mind.
haha moenie stress. ek dink ons almal os net donners opgewonde oor die rugby vandag. ek dink leeus supporters bars skoon uit hul nate.
This is just for starters.
The real rugby commences next weekend.
Total 239 users including 0 member, 239 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,335,840 Page Impressions