South AfricaThe core of the Springbok team that has played in 2013 has been selected to start in the final match of the season, marking 100 years of Test rugby against France in Paris on Saturday evening.

Tendai Mtawarira, Bismarck du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth and Morné Steyn all return to the starting line-up after last weekend’s 28-0 win over Scotland in Edinburgh, for the last match of the Castle Lager Outgoing Tour.

sarugby

Mtawarira, Etzebeth and Steyn are part of a group of 10 players who have been selected for every Test in 2013, along with Willie le Roux, Jean de Villiers, Bryan Habana, Ruan Pienaar, Coenie Oosthuizen, Adriaan Strauss and Pat Lambie.

A further three players – Du Plessis, Flip van der Merwe and Francois Louw – each missed only one Test this season.

After an impressive performance against Scotland, Oosthuizen will be in the starting line-up for the first time after 13 appearances off the bench.

He takes over at tighthead prop from the injured Frans Malherbe, with the uncapped Lourens Adriaanse coming onto the bench.

“This is a great opportunity for Coenie and we believe he’s ready to make the step up to a starting role in the team,” said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.

“I’m also very happy for Lourens, who has been part of the squad for almost the entire season. He’s waited patiently for an opportunity and what better way to make your debut than against France in Paris.”

Commenting on the return of Mtawarira, Du Plessis, Etzebeth and Steyn, as well as the inclusion of Pieter-Steph du Toit and Siya Kolisi on the bench this week, Meyer said he had rotated the squad during the final three Tests of 2013 in order to keep the players fresh.

“Gurthrö, Adriaan, Bakkies and Pat did very well last week against Scotland and will have an important role to play this week,” said Meyer.

“We have been quite fortunate with injuries this year and I’m very happy that we’ve managed to keep the continuity in selection. Most of the players have received ample game time and showed they have what it takes to perform at Test level. Our aim is now to keep on improving against France and hopefully end a very successful season on a high note.”

The Springboks have won nine of their 11 Tests in 2013 and 12 from the past 14, including last year’s November tour. But the task of taking on Les Bleus in France is a formidable one – South Africa’s last away victory over France was in 1997 at the Parc des Princes.

South Africa and France have played twice at the Stade de France in Paris with France winning both (20-10) in 2001 and (26-20) in 2005. The Boks have scored 30 points (three tries) against 46 points (four tries) for an average of 15-23.

The Boks have played six Tests in total at this venue, winning four (England in 1999, 44-21 and twice in 2007 during the RWC, 36-0 and 15-6 in the Final) and Argentina (37-13) also during the 2007 RWC. The Boks’ last game at this venue was the 2007 RWC final against England on 20 October, 2007.

Springbok team:

15. Willie le Roux (11 caps 20 points)
14. JP Pietersen (50 caps 75 points)
13. Jaque Fourie (71 caps 160 points)
12. Jean de Villiers (Captain – 95 caps 125 points)
11. Bryan Habana (94 caps 265 points)
10. Morné Steyn (53 caps 625 points)
9. Ruan Pienaar (73 caps 130 points)
8. Duane Vermeulen (15 caps 5 points)
7. Willem Alberts (29 caps 35 points)
6. Francois Louw (27 caps 25 points)
5. Flip van der Merwe (33 caps 5 points)
4. Eben Etzebeth (23 caps 0 points)
3. Coenie Oosthuizen (13 caps 10 points)
2. Bismarck du Plessis (Vice-captain – 56 caps 45 points)
1. Tendai Mtawarira (52 caps 10 points)

Replacements:
16. Adriaan Strauss (32 caps 25 points)
17. Gurthrö Steenkamp (48 caps 30 points)
18. Lourens Adriaanse (0 caps 0 points)
19. Bakkies Botha (77 caps 35 points)
20. Pieter-Steph du Toit (1 caps 0 points)
21. Siya Kolisi (9 caps 0 points)
22. Jano Vermaak (3 caps 0 points)
23. Pat Lambie (31caps 65 points)

Stats and facts:

• The Springbok starting team boasts a total of 695 Test caps (447 in the backline and 248 in the forwards), while there are a further 201 caps worth of experience on the bench. The 447 caps in the backline equals the record that was set against Wales earlier this month.
  • South Africa and France last met on 12 June 2010 at DHL Newlands in Cape Town. The Springboks outscored France by 42-17 and five tries to two.
  • Jean de Villiers will extend his record as the most-capped Springbok centre, with 80 Tests in this position. He will be the captain for the 24th consecutive time. This will put him in fourth place on the list of Springbok captains, behind John Smit (83), Gary Teichmann (36) and Francois Pienaar (29). Jean and Jaque Fourie will also extend their SA record of 28 Tests as a centre-pairing.
  • Bryan Habana will extend his record as the most-capped Springbok wing, with 93 Tests in this position (he started at outside centre once) and if he scores a try, will extend his record of 53 Test tries for South Africa. He needs two tries to equal the career record of Pieter Rossouw’s six tries against France.
  • Morné Steyn will extend his record as the most-capped Springbok flyhalf, with 51 Tests in the position. If he scores a try, he will also extend his record of eight Test tries as a flyhalf for South Africa.
  • If he scores a try, Bismarck du Plessis will extend his record of nine Test tries for South Africa as a hooker.
  • If he takes to the field and scores a try, Gurthrö Steenkamp will extend his own record of six tries as a prop for South Africa.
  • If Jaque Fourie scores a try he will extend his record of 28 Test tries for South Africa as a centre. He is currently third on the list of all-time Test try scorers for the Springboks, behind Bryan Habana (53) and Joost van der Westhuizen (38).
  • The referee is Wayne Barnes of England. This will be his ninth Test involving South Africa. The Springboks have won five and lost three. The last game was on 10 November 2012 on the end of year tour against Ireland, which the Springboks won by 16-12.

Springbok Test match records at Stade de France, Paris:

• Most points – 34 (2c, 5p, 5dg) by Jannie de Beer on 24 October 1999 against England.
  • Most tries – two by JP Pietersen on 14 September 2007 against England and by Bryan Habana on 14 October 2007 against Argentina.
  • Most conversions – four by Percy Montgomery on 14 October 2007 against Argentina.
  • Most penalty goals – five by Jannie de Beer on 24 October 1999 against England.
  • Most drop goals – five by Jannie de Beer on 24 October 1999 against England.

34 Responses to End Of Year Tours: Springboks side named for France

Very much the team I expected… in fact the exact one to run on.

In the Replacements it is interesting to note that the Bokke have opted to have both Bakkies Botha AND Pieter-Steph du Toit on the bench… and have gone for a 6 / 2 split, with 6 forwards and only 2 backs.

JJ Engelbrecht is the unlucky back to fall out.

Now the boykies must just rogger France properly… hope so!

Good team this. Definitely one with the ability to beat France, but that all depends on which French team rocks up.

2 @ Lion4ever:
    We need to beat France, despite whatever French team rocks up… we need to make ground towards that No 1 spot in the world and we need to cap off a stellar season with a good win.

Don’t exactly know what to make of the 6 / 2 split… think it’s overdoing the forwards thing a bit and taking chances in the backline where France is bloody dangerous and direct in their attacking strategy.

No centre or wing replacement options whatsoever….

I agree, but remember, France can be almost unbeatable on their day. If the French team of 2013 rocks up, we should steamroller them quite easily, but if the French team of WC Final 2011 rocks up, it will be a darn close match.

5 @ Lion4ever:
    Yip, France gave the All Blacks a hard time just 10 days or so ago, All Blacks had to dig deep to win.

Plus, the Springboks last won against France in France when Mallett was still Bokke coach… 16 years ago.

They seem to lift themselves the AB’s and us. But it looks as if HM is going to try and destroy them upfront with his bench split.

7 @ Lion4ever:
    Yip, all teams badly want to beat the All Blacks and Springboks… they measure those 2 sides as the world benchmark.

So it will be up to the Bokke to stand up to the challenge.

Oop SNAP GBS, sorry just seen we both posted the Scotland squad, pipped you by a minute do you want me to go delete my post?

10 @ Bullscot:
    Nope, I will delete mine, your’s was up first!

11 @ grootblousmile:
    Ok thanks man Approve

Rugby-Talk now has 7 801 Published Articles, in addition to it’s other 179 pages and we’re just shy of 300 000 comments, with 8 083 800 Page Impressions since 31 October 2009.

Amazing how time has flown on this site!

Thank You all for your contributions, comments and for enjoying the site with us.

A bit of a daring squad selection by the Boks with the 6/2 bench split. Even so the team has cover at scrumhalf, flyhalf, fullback and wing, with Lambie able to play flyhalf and fullback and Le Roux can shift to the wing if needed, don’t want to tempt fate but certainly hope none of our centres are injured early in the game, I guess JP can also switch to the centre if required as he played there for a bit for the Sharks, so when you think about it maybe not too much of a train smash selection.

Among the forwards was initially puzzled by the inclusion on the bench of Bakkies and Pieter-Steph du Toit, would have thought Mr Meyer was definitely going to have Bakkies in the squad after all he has been playing in France so some of this knowledge will help. But du Toit can also play on the flank so we may see him as cover for 7 and Kolisi covering 6.

13 @ grootblousmile:
    Wow that’s a lot of material, long may it continue! And thank you to you too GBS for providing us with this platform.

Well Eben played center as school level. So if need be he can just move into the backline. This would not be ideal but desperate times will call for desperate measures.
    Lets just hope Steyn can play 80 minutes and Lambie does not come on at number 10.

16 @ Bullscot:
    Jeeez, it is a lot of content, is’nt it!

I just love this site… and it keeps growing and growing.

Here and there some fall off the bus, but the stats and the daily, weekly and monthly figures don’t lie and keep improving steadily.

Looking at the centre options for this game on the bench… no need to panic as JP Pietersen could always move one in to cover outside centre, Willie could go to right wing and Lambie could play fullback. At a push Jaque Fourie could also move one in to cover if Jean had to leave the field.

The forwards are covered and almost double couvered in every position… 2 Hookers, 4 props, 4 locks, 4 loosies (PLUS Du Toit could cover as loosie too).

France have named their squad for the game, former South Africans Antonie Claasens and Bernard le Roux have been omitted and released back to their clubs : Forwards: Thomas Domingo, Yannick Forestier, Benjamin Kayser, Dimitri Szarzewski, Nicolas Mas, Yoann Maestri, Rabah Slimani, Pascal Papé, Sébastien Vahaamahina, Thierry Dusautoir, Wenceslas Lauret, Yannick Nyanga, Damien Chouly.
    Backs: Jean-Marc Doussain, Morgan Parra, Frédéric Michalak, Rémi Talès, Mathieu Bastareaud, Wesley Fofana, Florian Fritz, Sofiane Guitoune, Brice Dulin, Yoann Huget.

South African Rugby Union CEO Jurie Roux has been linked to a police investigation into major financial irregularities at Stellenbosch University.
    Roux strongly denies any wrongdoing – Some months ago I was interviewed on one occasion by auditors appointed by Stellenbosch University on a policy matter relating to the authority to transfer funds internally. There was no suggestion of personal gain. I am not aware of any charges against me.

“I understand that a report has been filed with the SAPS for investigation, but I have no knowledge of its contents or the accusations against me. I deny any wrongdoing.

“I must stress that the discussions that took place related to events prior to my appointment as CEO of the South African Rugby Union and do not relate to any activities of SARU. I advised my employers that I had been called to interview as part of the Stellenbosch audit and they were fully aware of the process.

“My main concern now is that this report does not affect the operations of SARU and that the matter is cleared up as soon as possible.

“With that in mind it would not be helpful in either cause to say anything further at this time.”

SARU, in a statement on Wednesday, said: The South African Rugby Union (SARU) has been advised that a Stellenbosch University administrative report handed to SAPS refers to Jurie Roux, CEO of SARU. – from rugby365

The glaring mistake in this team is having Coenie at tighthead. He isn’t and will never be a tighthead. If we get donnered in the scrums it will take any advantage that we have away.

It was also against France

Look at the Boks faces, it is priceless

Close of play day 1 in Brisbane in first Ashes test a good one for England as Aus end the day on 273/8 with Broad getting 5 wickets

Haddin has 78 not out, Johnson got 64 and these two rescued Australia who were 132/6 when Johnson joined Haddin at the crease and put on more than 100 partnership!

23 @ superBul:
    Jeeez, still angry at Ras Dumisane for butchering our National Anthem!

What a chop!

Good looking team, not too many controvercial choices there, maybe the lack of a starting specialist TH as has been said above, but Meyer obviously has faith in Coenie in that position, and there is Adriaanse on the bench so he’ll get a cap at last.

BTW howzit all haven’t been around much, hope all is well.

27 @ Stormersboy:
    Howzit,

Good this side… thought you had done a runner from R-T for some or other obscure reason.

Nope. Here to stay.

Been busier than a prozzie on payday though…..

Total 231 users including 0 member, 231 guests, 0 bot online