Springboks (20) 44 / 10 (0) Italy (Final Score)
The South African Springboks and Azzurri from Italy did battle in the castle Incoming Series in South Africa at Kings Park at 17:15 SA Time (15:15 GMT).
- Penalties – Morné Steyn (3)
- Tries – Adriaan Strauss (1), JJ Engelbrecht (1), Bryan Habana (1), Jean de Villiers (1), Bjorn Basson (1)
- Conversions – Morné Steyn (4), Patrick Lambie (1)
Italy:
- Penalties – Alberto di Bernardo (1)
- Tries – Alberto Scarbi (1)
- Conversions – Alberto di Bernardo (1)
South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Arno Botha, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jan Serfontein.
Italy: 15 Andrea Masi, 14 Giovanbattista Venditti, 13 Luca Morisi, 12 Alberto Sgarbi, 11 Luke McLean, 10 Alberto di Bernardo, 9 Edoardo Gori, 8 Sergio Parisse (Captain), 7 Robert Barbieri, 6 Alessandro Zanni, 5 Marco Bortolami, 4 Antonio Pavanello, 3 Lorenzo Cittadini, 2 Leonardo Ghiraldini, 1 Alberto de Marchi.
Replacements: 16 Davide Giazzon, 17 Matias Aguero, 18 Martín Castrogiovanni, 19 Valerio Bernabò, 20 Joshua Furno, 21 Tobias Botes, 22 Luciano Orquera, 23 Tommaso Iannone.
Date: Saturday 8 June
Kick-off: 17:15 SA Time (15:15 GMT)
Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Expected weather: Sunny with a high of 28°C, dropping to 15°C,
Referee: Pascal Gauzère (France)
Assistant referees: Nigel Hennessy (Wales), Blake Beattie (South Africa)
TMO: Johann Meuwesen (South Africa)
Timekeeper: Paul Ackermann (South Africa)
GO BOKKE!
Really hoping to see us playing a far better game plan than we done last year. With the team we have we should be keeping more ball in hand. Just hope we not gonna play the kick and chase game. Come on Boks we can turn it on today and we should!
Bokke Bokke Bokke! Pass net die bal asb tog!
Goooooooooo Bokke!
Moer die Itai’s goed vandag!
2 @ Chief Wiggum:
hehehehehe. Chief I have been saying that as well. Hope we keep ball in hand and please pass and not skop it weg! 🙂
Thank goodness it has cooled down as well. Hoping to see a cracker from our Bokke.
5 @ Puma:
How’s the humidity today?
The Samoa win bodes well for the possibility of SA playing Samoa at Loftus eventually….
Eish Bobby “Langlip” Stinkgat irritates me no end… then again, not as much as Nasal Joel….
6 @ grootblousmile:
Was a lot worse earlier, though it is still here, just not as bad as earlier. Nothing like you get in the summer though. Just hot today, really hot for a winters day. When I drove to the shops earlier my reading in my car said 31 was supposed to be 28 according to the weather man. There was humidity though, but it has cooled down a lot now. So should be a good game and handling should be good. Rain forecast for tomorrow so hope it stays away for our game later.
9 @ Puma:
Sounds good!
8 @ grootblousmile:
We don’t have good commentators at all really. Well not the English commentators. The in-studio guests are okay sometimes. Mallett and Williamse are my favourites, though they don’t comment during the game of course. Also enjoy Mitchell in the studio.
11 @ Puma:
I’d make a good commentator… hehehe
10 @ grootblousmile:
We will be too good for Italy boet. Just looking forward to see how we go about it. Hope to see us kick less today. We have a good team and not need for all the kicking. I personally would have liked Serfontein to start. No game time with Boks or not. Taute and Coetzee both started straight up last year. I know we need a captain but we have a better captain in Strauss.
12 @ grootblousmile:
You may be like me and be too one sided………..
14 @ Puma:
Me one-sided?
Nahhhh!
Fark, many Alberto’s in the Azzurri squad….
Mallet is brilliant. What a rugby brain. Boks played the best rugby under Mallet.
17 @ Chief Wiggum:
Yes….he’s almost as astute as the commenttors here on Rugby-Talk!
I hope Flip comes on at some stage for Juandré Kruger, so that we can see how Eben goes when he moves to No 5
Crowd looks to be disapointing…. pity
15 Minutes till kick-off….
After this match there is still the Argentina / England match…. so stay with us, right here where it all happens…. on Rugby-Talk
OK, predictions time… let us have it!
I picked the Springboks by 30 on Bru!
I went bold!
Shortish locks for Italy, 1.95m and 1.96m respectively
I hope Jan serfontein gets a decent run as well… let’s see what he can really do on the big stage!
Very exciting back 3 for the Bokke!
This is it, hoek toe Willie!
Italy coming out onto the pitch
28 @ Chief Wiggum:
Onder die pale, Jan!
Total 148 users including 0 member, 148 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,225,262 Page Impressions