Lions (23) 59 / 8 (3) Barbarians (Final Score)
The British & Irish Lions and Barbarians did battle in the 1st game of the B & I Lions Tour 2013 at Hong Kong Stadium, Hong Kong
at 13:30 SA Time (19:30 Hong Kong Time, 12:30 UK Time, 11:30 GMT).
The match was broadcast LIVE on SuperSport 5 & SHD 3 on TV in SA.
- Penalties – Owen Farrell (3)
- Tries – Paul O’Connell (1), Mike Phillips (2), Jonathan Davies (1), Alex Cuthbert (2), Dan Lidiate (1), Alu Wyn Jones (1)
- Conversions – Owen Farrell (3), Johnny Sexton (2)
Barbarians:
- Penalties – Elliot Daly (1)
- Tries – Kahn Fotuali’i (1)
British and Irish Lions: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Sean Maitland, 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Toby Faletau, 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Paul O’Connell (Captain), 4 Richie Gray, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Mako Vunipola.
Replacements: 16 Tom Youngs, 17 Cian Healy, 18 Matt Stevens, 19 Alun Wyn Jones, 20 Jamie Heaslip, 21 Conor Murray, 22 Johnny Sexton, 23 George North.
Barbarians: 15 Jared Payne, 14 Joe Rokocoko, 13 Elliot Daly, 12 Casey Laulala, 11 Takudzwa Ngwenya, 10 Nick Evans, 9 Dimitri Yachvili, 8 Sergio Parisse (Captain), 7 Sam Jones, 6 Samu Manoa, 5 Dean Mumm, 4 Marco Wentzel, 3 Martin Castrogiovanni, 2 Schalk Brits, 1 Paul James.
Replacements: 16 Leonardo Ghiraldini, 17 Duncan Jones, 18 Andrea Lo Cicero, 19 Jim Hamilton, 20 Imanol Harinordoquy, 21 Kahn Fotuali’i, 22 James Hook, 23 Mike Tindall/Rowan Varty.
Date: Saturday 1 June
Venue: Hong Kong Stadium, Hong Kong
Kick-off: 13:30 SA Time (19:30 HK Time, 12:30 UK & Ireland time, 11:30 GMT)
Assistant referees: Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa), Angus Gardner (Australia)
TMO: Matt Goddard (Australia)
Players out on the pitch and we have the Hong Kong Anthem… the Chinese one
Heres hoping for a big Lions tour Down Under
The Lions Series 2013 is under way!
Warm up game for the BIL. Nothing game really. Will try and watch a bit though, as really looking forward to watching the BIL tour to OZ.
For this game my support is with the Baa-Baas…. but in total I will support the Lions in Aussie!
As much as I always support the Baabaa’s, the Lions need this one to set them on their way. So thats where my support goes
Owen Farrell gets the 1st points on tour, with a penalty.
Lions 3 / 0 Barbarians
2 @ Just For Kicks:
I think it will be great. Especially that the Aussie Super Teams are finally playing some really good rugby. Looking forward to watching the tests. So wish the BIL could tour more often. To think each SH country has to wait 12 years before hosting them again. We get them in 2021. Such a long time to wait to have them back here. BIL tours are fast becoming even more exciting to watch than the World Cup, because we have to wait so long to see them play our National Teams.
Knock by Schalk Brits
Remember our discussion about Marco Wentzel’s big feet, check it out bru!
He was the talk of the town during the Craven week, the schoolboy from Waterkloof High with the largest feet of any player in SA! I think no.16 back then.
He played one or two tests for the Bokke, I think…
6 @ Just For Kicks:
Yip for me too. For this game will support the BIL. Once they in OZ will support the Aussies being a SH team.
Not the strongest Baa-Baas side they could have picked.
Handbags….
Penalty Baa-baas, shot at goal
Farrellso overated, it’s gone to his head
Schalk Brits with a nasty punch…. he should at least get a Yellow… maybe a Red
10 @ Pietman:
Howzit Piet, How you doing Boet?
Ja remember us talking about it. Size 16 is bloody massive feet! hahahahaha.
Yellow it is…. should have been a Red
Penalty reversed
Very, very lucky. Good on Walsh
So close
Baa-Baas Free Kick at the scrum….
Sean Maitland almost gets a try.
Lions scrum penalty, 5m out
Scrappy game so far… to be expected I suppose
Bad miss by Farrell to goal
Baa-Baas penalty, after a good steal by Castrogiovanni
Lions 3 / 3 Barbarians
1st Of 2 water breaks per half, due to the Hong Kong heat, I believe