Lions (7) 33 / 17 (12) Cheetahs (Final Score)
The MTN Lions and Toyota Cheetahs did battle in a MTN Lions Challenge and Super Rugby wrm-up game at Ellis Park, Johannesburg at 17:05 SA Time.
- Tries – Ruhan Nel (1), Stokkies Hanekom (2), Anthony Volminck (1), Lionel Cronje (1)
- Conversions – Marnitz Boshoff (4)
- Tries – J P Nel (1), Raymond Rhule (1), Hennie Daniller (1)
- Conversions – Francois Brummer (1)
Lions: 15 Marnitz Boshoff, 14 Ruhan Nel, 13 Stokkies Hanekom, 12 Alwyn Hollenbach, 11 Anthony Volminck, 10 Guy Cronje, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Derick Minnie, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Hugo Kloppers, 4 Gavin Annandale, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Francois du Toit, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg (Captain)
Replacements: 16 Robbie Coetzee, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 JJ Breet, 19 Claude Tshidibi, 20 Michael Bondesio, 21 Lionel Cronje, 22 Andries Coetzee.
Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Jannie Boshoff, 13 JP Nel, 12 Robert Ebersohn (Captain), 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Boom Prinsloo, 7 Tertius Daniller, 6 Marnus
Schoeman, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Lodewyk de Jager, 3 Rossouw de Klerk, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Caylib Oosthuizen.
Replacements: 16 Hercu Liebenberg, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Ligtoring Landman, 19 Waltie Vermeulen, 20 Tewis de Bruyn, 21 Barry Geel, 22 Hansie Graaff..
Date: Saturday 26 January
Venue: Ellis Park, Johannesburg
Kick-off: 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT)
Referee: TBA
Assistant referees: Local
TMO: TBA
With JC Janse van Rrensburg off subbed by the Lions, Lions scrum not so good anymore
Nooooooooooooooooooooo!
Lions score again through Lionel Cronje
Who saw this coming – Bru looking no better than last year!
120 @ Loosehead:
… and your team is EMPTY…. hehehe
Lions 28 / 17 Cheetahs
Jeez what a brilliant kick that was.
Is that phenomenon back, how the weaker scrum wins a penalty is beyond me
Is Nyakaplaying tighthead?
124 @ Just For Kicks:
Janee, wragtig!
124 @ Just For Kicks:
Howzit JFK,
Well if I had waited to see the Teams then would have gone with the Lions. Cheetahs without far too many of their top players. I put my picks in around Monday. Next time I will wait for teams to be announced.
125 @ grootblousmile:
As soon as the S sieries starts we will be somewhat more civil.
Maybe better to lose warm up matches, and come out grounded, but firing when serious hostilities begin. Rather than win, and get a bit too cockahoop. Don’t quite know what is better lol
129 @ Loosehead:
hehehe.
133 @ Cheetah4eva:
Win the games in S15 that what counts.
@ Puma:Ho Pums, yup, but to be fair, the game was advertised for Wednesday night, and I didn’t see the change over here until it was too late
Okay back later. Back to tv.
Oh bliksem, well at least Naka will know who not to pick now he he
10 Minutes to go in the match… can the Cheetahs claw back an 11-point deficit?
Glad to have you rooting for us for the opening match Puma, It’s very touching!
Stokkies Hanekom in for his 2nd try… all against the run of play
Can I be the first to apologise for the shit display by the Cheetahs, and then start getting the excuses in.
140 @ Cheetah4eva:
NO WAY boeta……… HEHEHEHE. I have to be honest am nervous for my Sharks for that game. Want us to start winning from the first game this year and it will be tough against Cheetahs first up.
I think Lionel Cronje was offside….
Try awarded… no way back now for the Cheetahs
Lions 33 / 17 Cheetahs
136 @ Just For Kicks:
Well we both did then. I thought it was Wednesday as well. Had my picks in on Monday should have known something was wrong as there were no teams announced yet. We will learn by this…hahaha.
By the way how you doing in Scotland? You must be well and truly settled there now. Tell Beanie we say hello.
Okay back to tv otherwise I miss too much of the rugby sitting at my pc.
Back later.
I blame the ref.
And FNB.
And the ANCYL.
And global warming.
And Luke Watson.
Just goes to show how long it takes for a team to form a unit, you can’t just gooi a few guys together and voila, it time to rock and roll.
How many times have we seen star laden Barbarians teams cop a serious hiding despite have a top notch line up
How did the Cheetahs manage to fark these last chances and quick penalties up so badly…. eish!
Total 135 users including 0 member, 135 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,233,317 Page Impressions