I am even though I have tried to see this in a positive light, of the opinion that Lambie is being set up here to fail.
Since joining the Bok setup Lambie has been coached to play differently, and also one can see his kicking style has changed, as well as his tackling, another thing of course as mentioned he now stands deep in the pocket.
Now for me it is no use telling one player he can play his natural style and not the rest of his team mates who are not used to the style Lambie normally plays, bar of course one or 2 of the players.
If one looks at the forwards it is easy to see why a plain running rugby style struggles as the ball in phases are always slow as the tight 5 are not hitting a ruck as they should.
The looseforward trio, although playing well and defending well as a unit, are very slow in getting to breakdowns thus most of the ball has already been slowed down or been lost.
In the previous matches, to take Juandré Kruger as an example and as I re-watched the matches again, where one is not all nervous as to who is going to win et cettera, it was interesting to see how little this player was doing, how many tackles he missed (7 in 2 matches) and also how poor his attention to what his job was at the broken play.
By the way, on 3 of the 7 missed tackles it was Lambie who had to make the cover tackle for the tackle missed by Juandré.
Now getting to the backline, who again are nowhere and this is where my biggest concern is and why I have this feeling Lambie is being set up to fail.
Firstly the players in the backline are not honed in to play an attacking running game as has been seen so far, and all one has to do is break up the backline into individuals.
Zane Kirchner, all be it he has been secure on defense and the high ball, is not even an integral part of the backline. He never joins the backline and he never runs running lines to create overlaps, he never hits the line at pace thus leaving the backline a man short whenever they attack.
Wings cannot be blamed here, as it comes not due to the lack of coaching and although JP Pietersen does do this, one hardly sees Francois Hougaard do anything besides defend, who by the way is very poor under the high balls.
Centre play is a huge problem and it matters not how many passes Lambie makes, but if the ball is not passed further that the No 12, no move will be successful, Jean de Villiers just does not pass.
I do not really want to lay blame at the feet of Juan de Jongh here, as even though he is known as a ball hog too. He had his first match and actually played well but never received the ball to be able to pass it to the next player.
Now to scrumhalf, where Ruan Pienaar also seems to be under some form of coaching and under instruction to play a kick-and-chase game or who knows what. Ruan, when he came on as a substitute in the English tour to South Africa series in June was in the situation that his service was snappy, yes he had faster service than Francois Hougaard and his option taking was good.
Suddenly Ruan is slow behind the srums and rucks and kicks 90% of possession away – and a kick one must remember is only as good as the chaser – and in the case of the past two Test matches it became an attacking weapon for our opponents against us.
Lambie is clearly very unsure as to his role and has looked out of place, something we don’t see when he plays for his provincial team, this also does not help towards flow in the backline.
There is also the problem of forwards in the backline and it is probably the biggest problem we have, as our forwards do not try attacking with off-loads and creative play, they all run to steam roller the defense in front of them, where they go to ground and ball is taken off them or slowed down.
I am sure if one looks more closely you would find more issues in our play, so how will one man in our team be able to make us a running rugby attacking team if it is not entreched in the whole team’s mindsets, and not an integral part of their style of play and drummed into them or being the style they play at their provinces?
This is the reason for saying Patrick Lambie is being set up, be it on purpose by the coaching staff or not, and to be very honest one can say the same for a few players in the Bok setup as one can’t see Juan de Jongh weave magic if he never gets the ball for example.
@ ashley:
😆 Ash, moenie worry nie,Rudi knows the article is to be a bit controvercial, I have discussed it with him,
Look dont for one minute think I actually believe HM was our or is out to make Lambie fail.
what i do believe is the rest of the article where systems and issues that i pojnt out in the side is not right, LAmbie can have a blinder as he did in the final, did the sharks win?? NO the team failed Lambie and themselves, Lambie is not responsible for the loose forwards being whipped on the day,
He is not responsible for passes not held onto, Lineouts being lost all the time?? etc etc. and this is what i am referring to.
Now the same can happen saturday, Lambie lets say has a brilliant game and we lose??? is he still to blame??
sharky @ 151
no probs bru
just made me think (eina my kop)
To continue, the reason the AB’s are succesful is because there style of play is the same, they think the same, they all have the same objective, when one coach leaves, the next one for them just continues with a small change here or there,
With us its like a total new style and game. thats where we are lagging far behind.
Yes I know some will shout as I use the Sharks as an example, but they have only recently embraced their new style of play. which happens to be the one we should be looking at in this country, is it perfect NO, they have a long way to go to get it working properly.
Does the Sharks just play running rugby? NO they play the situation and infact most of their tries come from turnover ball and broken play, they are the best counter attacking team in the country.
Of coure they make mistakes etx, hell the final is proof of that,(how that still hurts lol), But if you watch their forwards?
They get to the rucks and most of the time win the collusion points, they offload in the tackle, their one weakness is BIsmark being injured, that meant no Fetcher as he plays that rols as the Sharks do not have an out and out fetcher in their ranks.
Also remember the Sharks still have their fair share of tactical kicking, with a few up and unders and a few kicks to the corners behind the defence, agaqin it comes down to playing the situation and the freedom to do so.
And this is where I am hoping and praying HM will see the light and move towards a total game, dont throw away smaller players, they have their place in the game,
Also people should stop Blaming the Bulls though for the Boks problems, Blame HM yes, he is no longer a Bull or a coach there 😉
@ ashley:
Juller blerrie Kaapse softies
Praat van Rudi? hy kruip weg die bogger, he knew we were gonna chune him today 😆
BTW here is an article from taoday with Smitty handing the team their Jerseys,
John Smit hands out Springbok jerseys
The most capped Springbok of all time, John Smit, delivered a strong message to the Springboks when he handed out the jerseys ahead of Saturday’s Test against England at Twickenham.
Smit, who led the Springboks a world record 83 times, currently plays for Saracens in London. He made his debut for South Africa in 2000 and played in his 111th and final Test in 2011.
Smit’s message to the Springboks on Friday morning was to embrace the pressure of playing at the top and to enjoy the opportunity they have of representing a great country like South Africa.
“People don’t understand what pressure does to you,” said Smit.
“Don’t pretend it’s not there – rather embrace it. When you see your knee jumping nervously, like mine used to do before Tests, you realise the privilege you have of pulling that green and gold jersey over your head and representing millions of South Africans.
“When you understand that, the pressure becomes a reward for all the hard work you’ve put in to get here and all the time you’ve missed out with your family and friends, just to be in this great position of representing your country.
“Pressure is like having butterflies in your stomach. The key for me was never to try and get rid of it, but rather to ensure they all fly in the same direction. That is what you get right when you win.”
Under Smit’s captaincy, the Springboks lifted the Webb Ellis Cup in 2007, won the Tri-Nations twice (2004 and 2009) and defeated the British & Irish Lions (2009).
Here is some news re the Mujati application, and it has been declined
Cape Town – Sports Minister Fikile Mbalula has refused to grant the South African Rugby Union (SARU) a special concession to allow prop Brian Mujati to play for the Springboks again.
According to the Eyewitness News Sport website, in a written letter to SARU, Mbalula advised that the only way for Mujati to play for the Boks is if the correct process is pursued.
The Ministry said Mujati should be formerly naturalised and carry a national passport as all sportspeople representing a national team are required to do by law.
Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer had requested that Mujati be allowed to join the team on their current European tour.
Mujati, 28, was born in Bulawayo and played 12 Tests for the Springboks in 2008.
Mujati is now a British citizen and is currently playing for English club Northampton where he has received rave reviews.
now that sharky got me thinking,
i’ve figured something else out
EVERY
60 seconds in AFRICA,
a
Minute passes!!!
…
amazing,
isnt it?
sharky aangesien ons 2 sikke dik tjommies is, ka djy ma samet my ga om my se nobel prys te gat hal!!
@ ashley:
158 @ ashley:
Howzit ash gosh thats really deep thinking from you mate
thank you bullscot
i was inspired!!
Reading Sports24 and see John Smit handed out the jerseys to the Boks. Good speach from Barney too. What a brilliant Captain Barney was. Hope what he said inspires them.
Go Boks!
Hiyas all RTs!
I watched the Scotland match again last night (for the 4th time!)
Lambie played bloody well (and so did Kirchner. What else could Lambie have done better, or any flyhalf for that matter, given the situation?
The problem is not our flyhalves,it is up front.
We bash the ball up and lose it on the floor(with JdeV, Alberts, Duanne the main culprits), and when on the odd occasion we manage to string more than 2 phases together it ends either in a penalty or a turnover…no offloads, no support runners.
And Ruan’s recycling of the good balls that we do get is waaaayyyy to slow! We need crisp and snappy passing from the ‘go forward balls’ to the backline on their front foot….Jano Vermaak and Nick Groom style passing, that is.
Once we achieved that, start blaming the flyhalf by all means.
164 @ Pietman:
Howzit Piet,
Yes I watched that game again late today. Our forwards have to play for 80min otherwise their backs just won’t see much ball. Agree I thought Lambie played well especially in the first half. Meyer has said so himself.
Again agree, Ruan is too slow and no fh will do well with that kind of service none. Groom, Reinach are our future. Hope to see them play some great rugby in Super Rugby next year that they grab the attention of Meyer. Also don’t count out Hougaard once he only playes at sh for Bulls next year and plays his natural game think he could be back as well. For the game tomorrow would have been better to have started with Vermaak.
You know in the first test at the Tank against England when Ruan and Lambie came on in the 2nd half they were superb. Ruan was fast and none of this taking forever to get the ball out, also most of the passes are going to Alberst, Struass or Jean. He has to sometimes be passing to his fh. Tomorrow there will be rain for the whole day in London. Not sure if we going to play a up tempo game now.
Lambie is not a kicking fh and I agree he does need to work on some of his kicking. He knows it though and he will get it right, because that will be the game we will mostly play under Meyer. So he will have to fit in, but he has to be allowed sometime during the games we play to play his natural game. That is if he gets to play fh for the Boks again. For now it seems he will and so will Goosen. That is the feeling I am getting who Meyer will be taking through after this tour.
Amen boet, well said, tis what i been saying all along
167 @ Sharks_forever:
Howzit Bro,
How you see us doing tomorrow? See rain forecast for the whole day in London.
Hey Bro, for real?? shit man i have us to win by4, but now we will have to revert to the kicking more,
Well it is a part of rugby, so we will have to do whatever it takes to win
Hey, you two “Lambie worshippers”!
Howzit?
No boys, we need to take the ball up three or four times and let fly!
Flippit, Juan de Jong was as close as the width of a pubic hair to cutting through that lot on two occasions, but he received lobbed balls and had to hesitate and check….can’t do that a full speed.
Lambie will come good, watch.
We have to play more smart though, when kicking vary it, kick to corners behind defenders, challenge the line outs, I mean EE is like Matfield, he must target their throw in’s
Yup, corners and behind, as you say.
hiyas Brudda, gaan dit boet daar in sand wereld??
169 @ Sharks_forever:
Think I have us to win by 7. Put mine in early think Tuesday so have forgotten what I put, well think it is 7.
Damn rain, then remember how much rain our Sharks played in, we should be okay. Rain we still never kicked as much as the Boks though. We can be sure if it is rainging that will be the game, it will be tight. Pity as was hoping to see how we do IF we could open it up.
Anyhow for now not that bothered. I just HATE losing to England so hope we win, any type of win will do for now. Also hope all our players come back injury free.
So no news on JPP then? He was carrying a groin injury and they were going to wait until today to call on it. He never train all week I think. So no news now must mean he is okay to start.
meant = raining
@ Pietman: Piet my maat van yster en plaat wat skiet sy saad in die arabiese staat
JPP is fine boet, It aint the Sharks playing though boet, and not all the players used to the rain. Only Debben has been like the damn UK with it’s continuous rain 😆
170 @ Pietman:
Lambie is a class player Piet. JdV has said so himself. It is the kicking he is not used too, he will get it right, I have no doubt about it. He was exceptionally good in the rain at the Tank, so playing in that rain might have been for a good cause….lol. Seems it will be rain the whole day in London tomorrow.
Did you see John Smit handed out the jerseys? Go read on the England thread, I posted it there. Was on Sports24 and Rugby365.
Gaan goed dankie….kan vokkol verkeerd gaan hier want hier is vokkol
Oor 10m dae sit ek in my agterplaas in SA en kitaarspeel en dopmaak saam met my pa innie tuin, so ek is reg, dis net kwessie van tyd.
(Ek het email addie probeer aflaai op Outlook, kom nie reg nie, ek het net Oulook Express 2004. Sal more 2010 probeer kry. Maar mail my man,
Pooms it is posted on here too, I posted it long ago, also posted the article re Mujathi
Total 73 users including 0 member, 73 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,234,916 Page Impressions