I am even though I have tried to see this in a positive light, of the opinion that Lambie is being set up here to fail.

Since joining the Bok setup Lambie has been coached to play differently, and also one can see his kicking style has changed, as well as his tackling, another thing of course as mentioned he now stands deep in the pocket.

Now for me it is no use telling one player he can play his natural style and not the rest of his team mates who are not used to the style Lambie normally plays, bar of course one or 2 of the players.

If one looks at the forwards it is easy to see why a plain running rugby style struggles as the ball in phases are always slow as the tight 5 are not hitting a ruck as they should.

The looseforward trio, although playing well and defending well as a unit, are very slow in getting to breakdowns thus most of the ball has already been slowed down or been lost.

In the previous matches, to take Juandré Kruger as an example and as I re-watched the matches again, where one is not all nervous as to who is going to win et cettera, it was interesting to see how little this player was doing, how many tackles he missed (7 in 2 matches) and also how poor his attention to what his job was at the broken play.

By the way, on 3 of the 7 missed tackles it was Lambie who had to make the cover tackle for the tackle missed by Juandré.

Now getting to the backline, who again are nowhere and this is where my biggest concern is and why I have this feeling Lambie is being set up to fail.

Firstly the players in the backline are not honed in to play an attacking running game as has been seen so far, and all one has to do is break up the backline into individuals.

Zane Kirchner, all be it he has been secure on defense and the high ball, is not even an integral part of the backline. He never joins the backline and he never runs running lines to create overlaps, he never hits the line at pace thus leaving the backline a man short whenever they attack.

Wings cannot be blamed here, as it comes not due to the lack of coaching and although JP Pietersen does do this, one hardly sees Francois Hougaard do anything besides defend, who by the way is very poor under the high balls.

Centre play is a huge problem and it matters not how many passes Lambie makes, but if the ball is not passed further that the No 12, no move will be successful, Jean de Villiers just does not pass.

I do not really want to lay blame at the feet of Juan de Jongh here, as even though he is known as a ball hog too. He had his first match and actually played well but never received the ball to be able to pass it to the next player.

Now to scrumhalf, where Ruan Pienaar also seems to be under some form of coaching and under instruction to play a kick-and-chase game or who knows what.  Ruan, when he came on as a substitute in the English tour to South Africa series in June was in the situation that his service was snappy, yes he had faster service than Francois Hougaard and his option taking was good.

Suddenly Ruan is slow behind the srums and rucks and kicks 90% of possession away – and a kick one must remember is only as good as the chaser – and in the case of the past two Test matches it became an attacking weapon for our opponents against us.

Lambie is clearly very unsure as to his role and has looked out of place, something we don’t see when he plays for his provincial team, this also does not help towards flow in the backline.

There is also the problem of forwards in the backline and it is probably the biggest problem we have, as our forwards do not try attacking with off-loads and creative play, they all run to steam roller the defense in front of them, where they go to ground and ball is taken off them or slowed down.

I am sure if one looks more closely you would find more issues in our play, so how will one man in our team be able to make us a running rugby attacking team if it is not entreched in the whole team’s mindsets, and not an integral part of their style of play and drummed into them or being the style they play at their provinces?

This is the reason for saying Patrick Lambie is being set up, be it on purpose by the coaching staff or not, and to be very honest one can say the same for a few players in the Bok setup as one can’t see Juan de Jongh weave magic if he never gets the ball for example.

303 Responses to Has Patrick Lambie been set up to fail? Come give your view!

1 3 4 5 6 7 11

If Lambie fails just remember this is his 20th test, and he has been with the Springboks since 2010, even if you wipe out the 10 he played as a reserve, wake the hell up. He is not a rookie.

It will be Lambie’s fourth start at flyhalf in an international – he had one last year against New Zealand and the last two Test, against Ireland and Scotland.

The young player, who made his Test debut against Ireland in November 2010, has had six starts at fullback and 10 more caps off the bench.

Now all the excuses the Shark supporters put forward here “for the expected failure they predict/anticipate” could also be used for any other flyhalf, there cant be two sets of rules. Whats good for Lambie is the same to Morne, Jantjes… Goosen.

One thing is sure, Morne immediately made a HUGE difference from the moment he came onto the field in his first Test, he did not have any previous “experience” he just grabbed the opportunity.
    And dont come tell me he played in a settled team, the Boks where under the hammer against the BIL.

this current Bok team is well settled and a lot of continuity was created by HM. This is according to the SA coaching staff the best SA has at the moment and that is who any flyhalf must play with. This is the team where our #10 must ADD his value. And just like many other Springboks had to take their chances and seize the moment , so Dear Patric Lambie and all his supporters must stop blaming others and take responsibility.

tDerf • 16 hours ago

hope Lambie can bring his a-game on saturday. It seems there is no HM gameplan to hide behind this week. So no more excuses. He was atrocious against Scotland.
    I like him as a player and want him to succeed but another game like last week and he has had his “shot” that we have been begging for. He better blooming use it!

wjb tDerf • 16 hours ago

Agree. He has had time to settle, he has the freedom to play his natural game. The only thing he could ask for was replacements at 9 and 12, but would that really be fair to MS. He had to play with Ruan and Jean. The only guy who looked like he had what it takes to set the backs alight was Johan Goosen. And he had to deal with both Ruan and Jean, so no excuse there. Then we only have Elton who can say he did not have a fair go, but next year he gets to play S15 with Jean, so time will tell.

If Lambie does have a great game, I will be thrilled. I am hoping for a try fest, or atleast some venom in the backline, so not hoping Lambie fails, just saying that he had his fair go, and there should be no more questions left to answer after the weekend. One way or the other we will have seen if Pat can handle the highest level at number 10, or if he should go back to warming the bench

Chris_PN wjb • 15 hours ago

You nailed it mate when you stated “The only guy who looked like he had what it takes to set the backs alight was Johan Goosen”. If Johan can, so should Lambie. No more excuses.
    8 2

raggatooth Chris_PN • 15 hours ago

Ja, time to shine for the Lamborgini and he won’t find a better place than Twickers against a pasty pasty pom called Toby. Willem just needs to soften him up to start and Lambie will be able to run at him all day long.

S15champs raggatooth • 8 hours ago

Lambie could’nt overtake a bus on the beach,we need a flyhalf with imagination and pace……………….Well lets see on saterday.
    1 1

Energize Trokis S15champs • 8 hours ago

…. and his name is?

Fog_Ducker wjb • 15 hours ago

A try feast? This Saturday? Do you watch any Super Rugby?
    D day rugby for all those Chris K, Gav , Mav 261259, Sharky, and a whole many more on 365…
    2 4

261259 Fog_Ducker • 12 hours ago

are we the Allies or the Axis ?, serving or receiving , attacking or defending , D day bud , just want to make sure we have all the facts for such an important event

Chris K , Gav , me , Sharky AND a whole lot more on this pinko website .

what evil wicked plans have you got for us should you win (and how will we know )………..sentenced to another 3 years of HM

UGGGHHHHH , a fair treaty with honourable terms sir ……………………….

but then again Lambie has the “freedom of the park”…and that doesnt mean he doesnt have to pay the parking meter .

based on his talent I would expect a try , drop and host of penalties by this fine young man winning the game for the Boks and going some way to reclaiming much ground lost to the current holders of the World Cup..

They will sing his praises in the valleys in Wales , U2 will write a hit about him and Scotland will name there finest Whisky after him , but you and your china’s on the bonny banks of the Jukskei will just be dikbek.

GOOOOOOO LLLLLLLAAAAAMMMMMBBBBBIIIEEEE , you enforcer!

Fog_Ducker 261259 • 11 hours ago

No Sista, we won’t be dikbek as if he does perform and maybe
    does a little more than passing we can say well done and give him the
    congratulations he deserves and Maybe you and your band of merry men can do the
    same for HM, for one showing support for lambie and trying to bolster his
    confidence and ensuring everyone knows that he has given him cart Blanch to do
    what he thinks is right.

All i am asking is for some sanity with HM getting all the
    flack for players failure and him having to kop the blame when he is clearly
    sticking to his guns and giving evetryone fair chance and believing in them
    even doing his best to show support and belief in them even after they have
    done nothing to warrant automatic selection.

But i fear that this may just be a sober day for your band
    of brothers and us sitting on the banks of the Jukskei. Well at least i will be
    thinking of them banks from the Box at Twickenham!

All the best Lambie, either which way you look at it you cannot
    fail. As HM will be to blame as will you 9 and 12. Mediocrity is not having the
    discipline to accept responsibility for own / individual inadequacies. Take
    Note merry men, and be sure to stand up and be counted.

When i am alone here on RT i love to read what you and others had to say, here is a few few things i read and i share a lot of this thoughts.

Another comment or 2

Im with Cayman on this one peter… the game has not even started and your already blame shifting or getting ready to do so. we know you dont like HM but this is taking it a bit far boet. come now. we all are under the impression that HM has told Lambie to kick and now he is under instruction not to… hells bells how much more do you want from HM water into wine…. walk on water…. come now boet really

What do you want a whole new team around Lambie? Why.? So he can perform….I would rather find a 10 who can make our backline look good like Mitchelack. Than have players in the backline to carry our 10 who ever he is.

Do you honestly believe HM ever told Lambie not to attack?
    What HM is doing here is highlighting to all those cynical supporters right through out from 365 blogger to Super sport panel Mallet included that now you can not hang PL inability to attack on my head. There is no mistaking it.
    Not wanting him to fail he never has succeeded. I am not wanting another stop gap sitting in the 10 position till another prospect comes along. It is more the unfounded miss guided praise and elitism pressure from those surrounding Lambie which have furthered his career to heights which never would have had it not been for cards played by grandparents powers that be…. Come Chris you can not be that blind.

I understand you Sharks have such a belief in your players that as soon as they show some glimps of skill they’re are the best thing since rugby was invented. Ie R Piennar, Cocket, Russle, F Steyn, And all we had to hear for ages was this persons needs to be a BOK now and forever. All I am saying a little more perspective and a little less Sharks tainted glasses. Good luck for Saturday as I think you and fellows are going to need it.

Well, Poor super went on a whole Sharks supporter attack this AM, did not take much to reel him in 😆

A New Zealander asked this on Voldy,

“Why is this such good news for the Bokke the guy has scored 15 odd tries in nearly 50 tests, Savea 10 from 7 tests. JPP is not a game breaker”

Anyone wants to discuss his plus points without, giving the game plan a dig.
    Keep facts in mind
    Dont blame HM,….PdeV,… who else JW, maybe?

First Test: 9 Sep 2006 Age:20 Full Back against Australia at Ellispark, Johannesburg
    Last Test: 17 Nov 2012 Age:26 Right Wing against Scotland at Murrayfield, Edinburgh

This is another comment,
    in SA wing play is not about tries; but about “chases”…

In 28 games since his last double hit vs Argentina he scored a whopping 4 TRIES.

One of our old friends here WvZ
    willievz:

@NZINCHINA-307:

Very good question which us Saffas need to consider in honest fashion.

JPP, for one, has been guilty in the past of not looking for work.

But more fundamentally, stats like that shows the inability of the Boks to score five pointers.

On his Profile
    Top 50 Boks: 36 – JP Pietersen by SARugby.com

Pietersen earned his first call-up to the Springbok squad at the tender age of 20 against Australia in the Tri-Nations Test in Johannesburg on September 9, 2006, where he started in the No 15 jersey. He subsequently established himself as a winger due to his sheer pace, unpredictability and nose for the try line.

This dig is now aimed at one of the first players I WOULD pick for my Springbok team.
    Just show how little we are happy with.
    He wont make the All Black team, not even nearly.
    I can dig up many NZ wings with half his experience with more than double his tries.

James Mortimer 31.Dec.2010
    Rarely throughout history have the All Blacks not had a verifiable squadron of wingers to choose from, and heading into a World Cup year realistically both spots are up for grabs.

The selectors will need to omit two or three test quality wingmen when they name their squad for the 2011 tournament on home soil, meaning that competition for spots will intensify as the season progresses.

Yet as important as it will be for the individuals to put their hands up, the All Blacks coaching staff will assess what the job requirement of their outside men will be in a World Cup year.

This season saw a shift of what a wing needed to achieve on the rugby field.

Two years ago the classic mould of a wing gave way to a multi-purpose wing cum fullback style player. For the All Blacks this was encapsulated by Cory Jane, whose well rounded skills saw him cement his position on the wing.

Elsewhere in world rugby players such as James O’Connor and Mark Cueto became prominent.

Wings needed not only to finish attacks and run hard, but also needed to kick, catch and defend in a manner that saw them less as individual scoring machines, but balanced players who could fulfill a myriad of roles.

But kicking, pressure and pragmatic game plans gave way to ball in hand attack, as the new law interpretations made their mark.

And again the role of a wing changed.

The ball carrying, hard running, always involved in attack type player again became required, and by the end of the year the embodiment of such a wing was Hosea Gear.

The game may adapt again in 2011, with a shift away from the attacking strategies seen throughout the season past. The all out attacking wing may need to take a step back and again have the all round skill set required two years ago.

One thing to note though is that World Cups, despite the fact that they see teams play a more pragmatic style, are often tournaments where a wing can make their mark irrespective of how a team plays.

John Kirwan, Jonah Lomu and Bryan Habana all made the global tournament their own in the past.

As it stands, it is probably fair to say that the two front line wings in New Zealand rugby are Hosea Gear and Cory Jane.

Gear deserves this status after a stand out Telecom Backing Black tour, which saw him score five tries in four tests, and earn high praise from the coaches who described him as arguably the “stand out” and a “most exciting” player.

Jane, who watched on the sidelines as Gear took his opportunity, gives balance to the All Blacks wing arsenal and before the end of year tour was all but unchallenged as New Zealand’s premier outside man.

Options only abound from there.

Two test veterans in Joe Rokocoko (68 tests) and returning Sitiveni Sivivatu (43 tests) will want to stamp their claims.

The Rocket man has had a testing time in recent seasons, always being there or there about, but never able to cement a position which he called his own for so many years.

Sivivatu will want to put a disappointing 2010 behind him, where shoulder surgery meant he was out of the game for five months, before suffering a knee injury to rule him out of the end of year tour.

Yet the languid wing was considered an automatic selection before he was sidelined, and if he makes a successful return during the Investec Super Rugby season, he will form a compelling case.

Isaia Toeava is a different case of his own, long considered a special project by the All Blacks selectors, and the chameleon of the New Zealand backline throughout the years saw him emerge as a wing contender on tour in Europe.

While Ice has his critics, there can be no doubting that he offers potential x-factor as well as a wide ranging skill set that could see him challenge for a berth.

Recent All Blacks Israel Dagg and Rene Ranger will also push for spots.

Both players offer utility value, and Dagg offers the multi-purpose fullback style highly regarded of late, while Ranger is one of the more damaging ball carriers in world rugby.

They are at the very least players for the future.

There are also players such as test capped wings Zac Guildford and Ben Smith.

While Sean Maitland and Julian Savea are among a stacked rank of wings which may not feature this season in the test arena, but will challenge for berths in years to come ensuring the famed All Blacks wing production line continues.

superBul wrote:

one of the first players I WOULD pick for my Springbok team

This is also aimed , to show you how unfair you all write of Morne, Morne never sinned that bad. He paid for a few missed kicks, and rightfully so. Just like Ruan was axed in the BIL series for missing his sitters so has Morne paid the price.

The fact is “work rate” of any Springbok must NEVER be questioned. Why do we tolerate it?

Eish now i must go and work again, hope i get a chance to take on these Shark, fin, blinkered , biased comments here one day.
    I would love to tear into your comments, and hopefully GBS and BDB will take revenge too. The-Incredible-Hulk
    No way did any of our Blue tinted supporters ever went so cocky over our players, we at least had some greats to defend.

PS. just think how you abused Vic, Spies, how hard it was for Danie to win you over…. nee wat die slagveld le vol van vertrapte Blou Bul Springbokke. Tired

Everyone capable of distinguishing a rugby ball from an omelette knew the All Blacks hierarchy would omit some spectacularly good wings in finalising their squad for next month’s World Cup on home soil, but when the deed was done – when Graham Henry and the rest of the New Zealand coaching staff finally revealed their hand a few hours before deadline – it was still hard to believe there was a team on earth capable of ignoring players as sensational as Hosea Gear and Sitiveni Sivivatu. Their demise made Matt Giteau’s rejection by the neighbouring Australians seem humdrum.

Chris Ashton, the most talked-about wing in England, will be more than happy to see the back of Gear, against whom he experienced a seriously uncomfortable half-hour or so at Twickenham last autumn. Yet Henry, utterly ruthless when it comes to selection, had questioned the Wellington player’s application in the weeks before that tour and while he was made to eat at least some of his words during the course of it, a series of lukewarm performances just lately resurrected the coach’s suspicions.

Sivivatu, the fastest slow-motion runner in international rugby, has had his injury problems, but he had been pushing hard for a World Cup place. In the event, the likes of Zac Guildford and Cory Jane – not to mention the exhilarating back-three strike runner Israel Dagg – beat him to the punch. “The team has been selected on current form,” Henry remarked, by way of explanation.

Oh hell Rudi, Poor old Super totally got roped in with this article, it was like taking candy off a blind charo 😆

hey wat skinder jy , ek watch nog so bietjie

😆 more jong man, lekker dag verder.

Good Morning Pietman bro, we missed you yesterday, this thread was buzzing at one stage

bdb @ 77
    lmk broetsie
    nie geweet jy kan jokes maak nie!! Overjoy

the problem is not heyneke
    the problem is the players
    now that jsmit and vmatfield have retired
    theres no good coaches left among the current playing squad
    hence the kick and hope tactics on display
    maybe we should get jwhite to coach the bokke from behind the bossies again?

maybe i should write an article about the coaching pedigree of the current playing squad? Thinking

did i say article? i meant conspiracy theory!! Ssshh

btw
    i’ve heard from someone close to the camp (hehehehe) that sharkies’ assesment is actually true!! Conceited

skryf hom Ash @ ashley:

sharky @ 145
    ga djy my support, broetsie? Approve

Seeing all these humorous videos, I am surprised no one has come up with a little poem about Lambie, along the lines of ‘Mary Had A Little Lamb’ But start it off with ‘Meyer had a little Lambie…’ and take it from there, we seem to have many talented jokers out there, so maybe see what you can do?
    Not that easy, I have been trying to think one up but everything I come up with is pretty lame, I sure someone can come up with decent one

@ ashley:
    Djy wiet mos bra, 😆 Wink Who-s-the-man Approve Overjoy

ok, on a more serious note: i’ll have to agree with gbs, no coach in his right mind would actually select someone only to ruin his career.
    BUT
    sharky’s article made me ask the question:
    were there coaches that through different circumstances (desperation, arrogance etc etc) selected players and because of that circumstances set them up to fail?
    now i need pieta for this, i’m sure he’ll come up with plenty of examples:
    players that come to mind are:
    1. gaffie du toit and dave von hoesslin. mallett gambled on these talented youngsters against the might of the all blacks and it backfired. its a shame that because of this we’ll never know how good these youngsters couldve been. mallett never had the guts to admit to destroying their careers.
    2. i think the jwhite-meyer bosman scenario could almost fall into this, although it wasnt as bad as that of gaffie and dave.

now i’m not for one moment suggesting that heyneke is doing the same (gbs, bdb julle ka ma wee julle panties aantrek), but i think that heyneke should never have told the media that he asked pat to play his natural game. it’s causing unnecessary pressure and expectation.

o, and not having the guts to back a player … ruan under pdv, brent russel under strauli and jw, etc etc etc
    the only exception maybe is fransie steyn is his f*ck you attitude jw, but in a bigger sense to pdv

1 3 4 5 6 7 11

Total 102 users including 0 member, 102 guests, 0 bot online