Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has stuck with his guns and pretty much as expected gone for continuity, in selecting the same team as last weekend accept for two changes to the starting fifteen and one on the bench.
The two changes made to the Starting 15 were pretty much as expected as earlier reports coming through from the Bok camp, that Gurthro Steenkamp was back to full fitness and Juan De Jong was a definite starter in the 13 jumper.
What is somewhat of a surprise is CJ replacing Pat Cilliers on the bench as Pat made an excellent impact when he took to the field last weekend in that dramatic turn around victory by the Springboks.
Springboks: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp
Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morné Steyn, 22 Jaco Taute, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.
55 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
Argies side mostly consists of Argies players applying their trade in France… so I think the French will klap (well maybe not klap) the Pumas…
I think France is busy rising up to be a dominant force in Europe, on a similar footing with the Southern Hemisphere sides.
I mean they lost by 1 point agains the All Blacks in the 2011 Rugby World Cup… and should to rights have won that game… then they now go and bliksem the Wobblies silly… Bokke can be glad they don’t have to play those temperamental French on this tour.
France will take the Six Nations in 2013 as well… watch my words.
England over Aussie, and France over Argentina. France looking the best of the NH bunch at the moment. Don’t see them losing to the Deigos.
Bwahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa @ Puma:
59 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
Yip the France and Arg is a difficult one, seeing most of the Arg players play their rugby in France as well. I just went with the home team there. England should take Oz, then you just never know what you get from Oz these days. My margins are mostly always out, sometimes hit the jackpot with a correct one, but not many times. Super15 is the toughest, just never know. When you think a team is a cert to win they lose. Was fun this year, but difficult.
Ag nee man! Then my glorious Ireland have no chance next year!
But I agree – they played very well over the weekend and look to be a once-again, rising force in Europe.
63 @ Sharks_forever:
HVDM should have kept his place, with Gurthro and Pat on the bench.
Coetzee should start in place of Alberts, who looks tired. We need speed in our loosies.
I am still not convinced about JDJ, he like Kankowski, is being hailed as the saviour after 1 good game.
Zane, well does not much wrong, but not much right either.
62 @ Stormersboy:
France playing some great rugby. Damn pleased we never played them on Saturday, we would have got klapped for sure.
Saying that it is a pity ABs are not playing France this year, always makes for good rugby to watch, watching those two countries playing.
I recon we might see 2 injuries for the Bokke during the game on Saturday… Jean de Villiers and Doc Jannie.
They’ve been playing on borrowed time in the 2nd half of this season.
67 @ Loosehead:
Juan will be better than Taute though. He does play outside centre where Taute does not really. So it makes perfect sense to start Juan.
Agree on the faster loosies. I too would have liked to see Coetzee start. Whether for Alberts or Vermeulen. Coetzee certainly added a injection of pace to that loose trio on Saturday.
I would have tried out Taute at fullback in this game. Would have had Cilliers on the bench and I would have started with Steenkamp, he carries the ball similar to Beast and will add there more so than Heinke. Steenkamp was the right move, well I think so, have not seen him since he last played in the wc last year.
@ grootblousmile: Well Jannie would be a massive loss, Not many people is giving the doc Credit for his performances, and he has improved big time.
This is why i actually hoped HM rested him for this game and started with Pat
70 @ grootblousmile:
Get out of here with you injurie curse…. 😛
If Jannie’e ankle gets any worse I will be sommer so angry with Meyer for starting him. Sharks will be without his boet at the start of S15 next year and who knows we might not have Beast. Need to see how he goes with the heart problem. So NO injuries this Saturday. Jannie actually could have done with a rest, has played almost non-stop since Feb and also went on that world tour with the Sharks at the end of S15. Should have been rested for the England game. Cilliers would have handled th just fine for this game.
73 @ Puma:
meant – injury
72 @ Sharks_forever:
I think Pieter de Villiers is doing sterling work with the Bokke scrum and the props in particular and I think Jannie has stood up to be counted this year… even let go of his sometimes overly stupid and ill-diciplined play (Heyneke is big on internal dicipline).
He’s just clearly looked worn down, ice packs everywhere… and that’s a recipy for a possible disaster waiting to happen.
Hope I’m wrong
72 @ Sharks_forever:
Feel the same. Just hope Jannie makes it injury free back home after the England game. Should have been rested for this game without a doubt.
Yes I thought the same thing watching them…..
71 @ Puma:i must honestly say that I cannot remember Taute ever playing at 15.
78 @ Loosehead:
Altzheimers is a bitch… hahaha
78 @ Loosehead:
I do feel the same, I hardly remember him there this year, I do remember him there last year in the CC final. He was brilliant. Then that was then, so have no idea how he will play there now. Have also said it here, not sure how Taute will play at fb as have not seen him there for a long time now. A player just can’t lose it totally, if he was good there before he should be again. This is a time he probably should have been given a chance. He will though I have no doubt about it, Meyer rates him there and will probably give him time there. Unless he intends bringing him on later when Jean goes off. Jean may go off rememeber he has a hammie problem.
79 @ grootblousmile:
thought that statement was only reserved for me…………… Please carry on though………………
77 @ Stormersboy:
For sure. Just wish we could use our backs more, would enjoy to see us playing a more up tempo game.
Bring on Super15… 🙂 Think your Stormers are going to be cup contenders next year boet. They have started to get it right in the CC. Just need to stick with the youngsters, also with Elton at fh and probably Taute at fb they going to be one hell of a team. Though thought Joe was fantastic at fb in the CC final.
Here’s hoping we can cross the try-line a few more times, we make it very hard for ourselves on occasion.
If we can go one better, who knows, maybe even an all SA final??
Fingers crossed. A lot will depend on injuries.
Figured out some E-Mail addresses for you guys… go look at the E-Mails Article, comment no # 24
84 @ Stormersboy:
For sure, injuries play a huge part in S15. Though if your team can go injury free and AC selects the youngsters, you have a magnificent team. With those youngsters playing believe me your Stormers will wonder how you never scored tries before, your team will score plenty with them.
With Sharks just hope we don’t have Jannie out injured after these two games, also we waiting on Bissie who I read will only be back mid-April. He is a big player for us and without him we gonna struggle a bit. None of our hookers are in his class. Just pleased we do have Kanko coming back as our lineouts was a complete mess this year before he came on board. He too was out injured for most of the S15. Only started against the Bulls in the 2nd last game before we went on to play the play offs. Also we have Fransie for next year, so that is all good. We just can’t afford to lose Jannie, Beast now as no Bissie. You guys were smart in getting Cilliers, he is a great player and covers both sides of the scrum. Rate him a lot. Rhodes will be good too. We most definitely will be seeing better rugby than we seeing now bud. So something to look forward too after the Boks tour is over.
We will also get PSDT next year, he will most certainly help our lineout woes as well.
Yes you have said before that you are vulnerable to a lack of depth in the front row, I guess when you have the starting Springbok front row then everyone else seems inexperienced by comparison.
You guys have Franco Van der Merwe and he will make a big contribution at the line out and in the tight stuff, I really rate him.
Bressler, PSDT, Van der Merwe, Kanko, Alberts, you guys will be OK I think.
87 @ Stormersboy:
We should be, but we truly struggled with our lineouts the whole tourney. Only came right when Kanko started, he was superb though.
Looking forward to seeing what Van der Merwe brings to the team next year. I also rate him. Most definitely looking forward to seeing what PSDT can do. Has huge potential. Herbst is fine, but not in the same class as Jannie. Chadwick well, he is MOST certainly not in the same class as Beast. Wish we got Cilliers back, I rate him. Stormers done well to get him.
Yes the extra (decent) tighthead will come in handy for sure, we now have Brok, Malherbe and Pat.
Loosehead is Kitshoff, we need an extra one there. Brok has played a few times but it doesn’t work.
PSDT and Juandre Kruger are both from here, would have been nice to keep them.
Total 202 users including 0 member, 202 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,326,449 Page Impressions