Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has stuck with his guns and pretty much as expected gone for continuity, in selecting the same team as last weekend accept for two changes to the starting fifteen and one on the bench.
The two changes made to the Starting 15 were pretty much as expected as earlier reports coming through from the Bok camp, that Gurthro Steenkamp was back to full fitness and Juan De Jong was a definite starter in the 13 jumper.
What is somewhat of a surprise is CJ replacing Pat Cilliers on the bench as Pat made an excellent impact when he took to the field last weekend in that dramatic turn around victory by the Springboks.
Springboks: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp
Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morné Steyn, 22 Jaco Taute, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.
@ grootblousmile:bokke by 31 😆 just to put paid to the AB victory LOL
Rudi? make your SB predictions lol
22 @ Sharks_forever:
I agree, but he was not great with the defence against the ABs. Then nor were JdV or Taute so he had no chance really if they were not doing their job. Otherwise have no clue why he is not on the bench. He should have been. Also you know Meyer might want to give Morne game time before the England game, as he rates Morne so will want to see him before the England game, that could be it as well. Just can’t think why Elton is not there.
I know why,
24 @ grootblousmile:
Think we all fee the same, would had Cilliers there instead of CJ. Have no clue why they kept CJ and not Cilliers on the bench. Makes no sense.
35 @ Puma:
Fee whats that? Jeez I should check my posts first….hehehe. meant = feel
34 @ Sharks_forever:
Why?
30 @ grootblousmile:
Where are your SB predictions boet? Put it down on paper now………
I have Boks by 12 now with the Scots with their injuries think Bokke by 18.
My Picks for SB this weekend, Imma be a bit more positive re the Boks
7 Wales v Samoa
Cardiff, Fri 16 Nov
You picked
Wales by 18
8 Italy v New Zealand
Rome, Sat 17 Nov
You picked
New Zealand by 27
9 England v Australia
London, Sat 17 Nov
You picked
England by 12
10 Scotland v South Africa
Edinburgh, Sat 17 Nov
You picked
South Africa by32
11 France v Argentina
Lille, Sat 17 Nov
You picked
France by 11
29 @ Sharks_forever:
They should change it for the eoyt and just bring in one mid-week game. Think it would be fair on the players that don’t get a start. Also superb for the up and coming young talent we have. Best way to start them out is giving them a full game in a mid-week game. Can’t be called Boks then, not like we done the time with PdV on that eoyt and lost to a club over there and they said it was Springboks. So if we lose the Bok name is still okay, just nice to give the youngsers a game.
I remember those mid-week games with fond memories from years gone by.
Because he did not select him??? 😆
32 @ Sharks_forever:
I do SuperBru predictions the day before the games.
Still waiting for the rest of the sides for this weekend to be announced.
Wales should beat Samoa… but damn Wales was really pathetic this past weekend!
See All Blacks are playing Italy but both centres are out…. still, that should be a 40-point PLUS win.
England and Wallabies…. how shocking was the Wallabies against France… eish. Tempted to pick the Bleekbene for a win.
Day game for the Bokke vs Scotland… and I feel boyant… Bokke handsomely… and that means more than 20.
France takes on the plucky Pumas… France will win handsomely if the same freegin side pitches up… you never know with the bloody temperamental French.
38 @ Sharks_forever:
Who done those picks? Wow! someone think the Boks are gonna bliksem the Scots. I don’t think it will be that way, about 12 or 18 the most. Still a hiding of note I suppose.
41 @ Sharks_forever:
Okay….
😆 those are my picks, i have decided to be very positive 😆
42 @ grootblousmile:
Gbs, you make me laugh here bru, this not Super 15 where you have to know who will start or not, it makes a differenc there, here ou pal, just looking at the country playing you sort of know…. Don’t be afraid to lose go put in your picks…….
daft english, this is what you get when you blog and work…hehehe.
meant – differenc there ou pal…hehehe
Okay it probably makes a difference knowing the teams with France and Arg, but that is it. The rest is all straight forward. Gbs, go put your picks in….lol
46 @ Sharks_forever:
I see you’ve picked England for a handsome win… by 12….
Phweeew, that one I’m not sure about… Wallabies one day draws against the All Blacks, net one the get a smashing against the French.
I recon it’s going to be a squeeker…. 4 points either way
48 @ Puma:
still wrong….hahaha. 3rd time lucky! difference
48 @ Puma:
Flok you and Tjarkie…. I’ll do my thing when I’m good and ready….
Some very interesting Bru predictions for this w-end I see! 2 games look VERY tough to call.
52 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
Which ones do you consider VERY tough to call?
51 @ grootblousmile:
All that thinking not helping you…. Where are you sitting on the log? Go put em in bru…. 🙂
Eng-Oz and Fr-Arg. I was VERY tempted to pick the Argies.
54 @ Puma:
I’m giving all you okes a chance, before I run away with it….
52 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
For me the toughest is France and Arg. Think England will beat Aus. Then I am not good with this prediction thing.
56 @ grootblousmile:
hahahahahaha. It will be over in 3 weeks, you had better hurry up…. You can’t start slow here line in Super15. Have to be on the mark from the word go with this one… 🙂
Yeah – Fr/Arg the worst. Thinking clearly, logically, and based on form, Eng should handle Oz quite easily, but the margin may not be great.
Weather for Edinburgh the next 3 days is sun and cloud, but no rain!! If it stays like that it will suit us. Not too cold either, well for rugby, around 8 degrees.
Total 187 users including 0 member, 187 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,326,571 Page Impressions