Cheetahs (17) 35 / 20 (6) Griquas (Final Score)
The Toyota Free State Cheetahs and GWK Griquas did battle in the Currie Cup, Premier Division at Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein at 14:00 SA Time.
The match was broadcast LIVE on SuperSport 1, M-Net on TV in SA.
- Penalties – Nico Scheepers (3)
- Tries – Ross Geldenhuys (1), Robert Ebersohn (1), Hennie Daniller (1), Raymond Rhule (1)
- Conversions – Nico Scheepers (3)
Griquas:
- Penalties – Francois Brummer (2)
- Tries – Marnus Schoeman (1), Jannie Boshoff (1)
- Conversions – Francois Brummer (2)
Free State Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Nico Scheepers, 13 Raymond Rhule, 12 Robert Ebersohn (captain), 11 Rayno Benjamin, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Phillip van der Walt, 7 Pieter Labuschagne, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Izak van der Westhuizen, 4 Francois Uys, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Hercu Liebenberg, 1 Marcel van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 AJ Le Roux, 17 Brummer Badenhorst, 18 Carl Wegner, 19 Hendro Scholtz, 20 Tewis du Bruyn, 21 Andries Strauss, 22 Philip Snyman.
Griquas: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Jannie Boshoff, 13 Jean Stemmet, 12 Walter Venter, 11 Rocco Jansen, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Marnus Hugo, 8 Leon Karemaker, 7 Wesley Wilkins, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Martin Muller, 4 Rynhardt Landman, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Ryno Barnes (captain), 1 Janro van Niekerk.
Replacements: 16 Matt Dobson, 17 Ivann Espag, 18 Edwin Hewitt, 19 Justin Downey, 20 Jacques Coetzee, 21 Marnitz Boshoff, 22 JP Nel.
Referee: Jason Jaftha
Assistants: Marius van der Westhuizen, Francois de Bruin
TMO: Gerrie Coetzee
Hmmm now this one is a dilemna do us Bulls fans hope for a Griquas win which keeps up off the bottom of the log but further away from the 4th place for semi-finals or do we want Cheetahs to win to put us at bottom of log for now but keeps us closer to the 4th place??? Oh well not great to be in a position where you are hoping for other teams to help you out but hey maybe a draw will be the best result for us. GO CHEEQUAS!!!
1 @ BullscotBok:
Meant to elaborate …maybe a draw with NO bonus points for four tries by either team will the best result, its that close that if both teams go away with 3 points from the game it would be no good and possibly worse than one of them getting all 4 or 5.
@ BullscotBok:
I think Cheetahs will be on a roll here today.
@ Piet-Springbok-Jan:
…after last Saturday’s unfortunate and narrow loss against the Bulls (I meant to add).
Cheetah4eva will be your Captain for this one.
Hello all, I have been dumped in the deep end to keep all you passionate rugby lovers, and bloggers in line lol.
Enjoy the game and all I can say is Goooooooooooooo Cheeeeeeeeetahs! Oh and as an afterthought, thank you God that I live in Nelspruit, and not in Dirtbin!
Yesterdays match was as close to mud wrestling as you would ever see. As Loosehead would say VRYSTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT!
6 @ Cheetah4eva:
Sink or swim… sink or swim…. hehehe
Following reports in the media, that Cheetahs talisman and local hero, Juan Smith, is probably going to end his illustrious career in France, all I can say is, that Juan has been a great servant to Cheetahs and Bok rugby. He is a legend, and has always been a role model. Respect Juan! I would have loved to see you lead my beloved Cheetahs into battle again, but I guess, the new young brigade are moving in? Thank you to your years of loyalty and dedication. A scarcity in modern pro sports indeed!
I’ll be leaving for Pretoria at about 14:10, so will only see the 1st 10 minutes… but the PVR is set to record this match, the Bokke Test, the WP / Lions game… and of course don’t forget the Pumas / All Blacks clash at 01:10 tonight late!
Cheers GBS,
Nothing a snorkel, goggles and a few cold frothies can’t fix lol.
Enjoy your trip to Moftus, at least with Cheetahs Wunderkind at 10, you can look forward to a great match lol
10 @ Cheetah4eva:
Looking forward to the Test at Fortress Roftus!
Griquas players out on the field
Staat also on the field.
VRYSTAAAAT!
15 @ Loosehead:
You and Cheetah4eva must talk the hind leg off a donkey here…. some running commentary would be good
Howzit Loosehead, glad to have you as a wingman, vs the hordes lol
Go Griquas!!!
Score you bastards!
Try Staat…
Ross Geldenhuys
TRY!
17 @ Cheetah4eva: Howzit? I must leave by 15h15.
My dstv signal has gone all Blue Bull on me! Loosehead, can you run the gig for me a tad, whilst I moer my decoder please!
Great counter ruck, advantage Cheetahs.
OK fellas… I’m off to Loftus, see you on the Bokke thread a bit later
No sweat, you have already inspired the troops lol!
Oh, Cheetah4eva… remember to update the scores and the minutes as they score (On the Edit Article thing, not only in the comments)
7-0 to the Champs in waiting.
Scrum penalty to the States, going for touch.
I’m BACK!!!!! Cheetahs 7 Kwas 0
Total 153 users including 0 member, 153 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,237,116 Page Impressions