Chiefs (13) 37 / (3) 6 Sharks (Final Score)
The Chiefs and The Sharks did battle in the Final of Super Rugby 2012 at Waikato Stadium, Hamilton, New Zealand at 09:35 SA Time (19:35 NZ Time).
Chiefs:
- Penalties – Aaron Cruden (3)
- Tries – Tim Nanai-Williams (1), Kane Thompson (1), Lelia Masaga (1), Sonny Bill Williams (1)
- Conversions – Aaron Cruden (4)
- Penalties – Frederic Michalak (2)
Chiefs: 15 Robbie Robinson, 14 Tim Nanai-Williams, 13 Andrew Horrell, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Kane Thompson, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Craig Clarke (captain), 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Mahonri Schwalger, 1 Sona Taumalolo.
Replacements: 16 Hika Elliot, 17 Ben Afeaki, 18 Michael Fitzgerald, 19 Sam Cane, 20 Brendon Leonard, 21 Jackson Willison, 22 Lelia Masaga.
Sharks: 15 Patrick Lambie, 14 Louis Ludik, 13 JP Pietersen, 12 Paul Jordaan, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Frédéric Michalak, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Keegan Daniel (captain), 5 Anton Bresler, 4 Willem Alberts, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Steven Sykes, 19 Jacques Botes, 20 Jean Deysel, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Riaan Viljoen.
Date: Saturday 4 August 2012
Kick-off: 09:35 SA Time (19:35 NZ Time, 07:35 GMT)
Venue: Waikato Stadium, Hamilton
Expected weather conditions: Partly cloudy with a few showers, easterly breezes with a high of 16°C, dropping to 6°C.
Assistant referees: Craig Joubert (South Africa, Keith Brown (New Zealand)
TMO: Garratt Williamson (New Zealand)
355 @ sharky_forever:
Yes expected this, but was hoping like crazy we just might. However, it ended the way we all dreaded. We need next year to try and get oursleves in a final at home. We have done the impossible already, this one was just going a strech too far.
361 @ Puma:
Stretch
Craig Clarke very good speech…
Jinne look at whatshisname’s brown shoes with a dark suit…. fokkie toggie!
Okay out of here now.
Cheers everyone.
Klink woes!
Ek moet ook begin, nog klomp goete doen by die werk en dan nog vrou dokter toe vat en kar laat diens,,,,so ek waai ook.
Thx all, it has been good as usual.
PS, Oscar just finished second in the 100 m.
Chiefs receive the Cup and jubilation for them…
Sorry, 400 m.
366 @ Pietman:
Vrou DIENS en die kar doktor toe vat….. eish!
366 @ Pietman:
Well done to Oscar, the Bionic Man!
Chiefs celebrate with a Haka… or as Loosehead would say… “A Little Dance”
370 @ grootblousmile:
Hope Oscar does not get banned for using a banned substance…. Q-20
OK, Junior Bokkies won the Junior World Cup, New Zealand wins Super Rugby….
SA 1 / 1 NZ
It is such a massive achievement to win the Super Rugby Competition…
But the Competition is flawed in many respects!
The Conference System is a kak idea, the short turn-around travel times is a big negative… the refs were quite kak this season…
But hey, let’s give credit, the Chiefs were full value this season!
Even the Lions put up a better fight than the Sharks
375 @ Spooony:
You sometimes come accross as someone who is desperately looking for attention…
The Sharks did well, reached the Final… they don’t deserve to be slagged off like you have done here…
The aim of this blog is not for Users to be controvertial, rather to be cordial and talk sense, in the spirit of competative rugby.
Take it as you may…. just my feelings on the issue!
Know it’s a bit late but congratulations Chiefs and commiserations Sharks.
370 @ grootblousmile:
Oscar came 2nd in 400m heat Gbs and so will be in the semi final tomorrow, what an achievement it will be if he gets to the final!
378 @ Bullscot:
Yip, will be massive for Oscar and SA!
Its called banter and I did tell you I am bad luck. I just call how I saw it. Which was the truth in the end. If you don’t finish 1 or 2 in this competition its very hard to win. There you have your proof. No need for excuses as they can only blame themselves. Meyer Bosman had a bad game he is Vodacom Cup material. But how much pressure was Michelak under? How many balls were turned over? Too many guys running away from their support. This is almost a NZ vs SA dress rehearsal and it looks bad. So call me what you want but it will not stop me bringing up reality in the end mate
Ok tyd is min mus get outta here good to see Cook is out he is very good batsman cheers vir eers
380 @ Spooony:
All I’m saying is there’s a marked difference between Banter and desperately trying to be Controvertial.
The VRYSTAAA AAAAAAAA AAAAAAT would have snot klapped the Chiefs today.
371 @ grootblousmile: another reason why I am the moer in with the Sharks.
384 @ Loosehead:
There are few out there who hate a Haka more than you do…. hehehehe
Should they have played Alberts at lock?
He took no lineout ball and was ineffectual around the field.
385 @ grootblousmile: The Haka danceis ok. When the Kiwi’s got the IRB to give it protected status is when I started to hate it. Why the fuck MUST the opposition be forced to stand in a prescribed manner in a prescribed place to watch a song and dance routine?
What happened to the Sharks lineout? Kankowski was about the only player to win the ball.
Bresler was MIA
Surely the Sharks will poach a scrum half for the next season?
Mcloud is terrible.
Total 67 users including 0 member, 67 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,197,285 Page Impressions