Lions (23) 43 / 20 (6) Cheetahs (Final Score)
The MTN Golden Lions and Toyota Free State Cheetahs did battle in the Currie Cup, Premier Division at Coca-Cola Park, Johannesburg at 17:05 SA Time.
- Penalties – Butch James (5)
- Tries – Derick Minnie (1), Andries Coetzee (1), Hendrik Roodt (1), Ruan Combrinck (1)
- Conversions – Butch James (3), Guy Cronje (1)
- Penalties – Riaan Smit (2)
- Tries – Raymond Rhule (2)
- Conversions – Riaan Smit (2)
Golden Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 JR Esterhuizen, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Waylon Murray, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Butch James, 9 Michael Bondesio, 8 Derick Minnie, 7 Josh Strauss, 6 Cobus Grobbelaar, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Hendrik Roodt, 3 Jacobie Adriaanse, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg (captain).
Replacements: 16 Francois du Toit, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Willie Britz, 19 Warren Whiteley, 20 Ross Cronje, 21 Guy Cronje, 22 Ruan Combrinck.
Free State Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Nico Scheepers, 13 Robert Ebersohn (captain), 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Riaan Smit, 9 Pieter van Zyl, 8 Davon Raubenheimer, 7 Pieter Labuschagné, 6 Johannes Prinsloo, 5 Izak van der Westhuizen, 4 Waltie Vermeulen, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Hercu Liebenberg, 1 Trevor Nyakane.
Replacements: 16 Elandre Huggett, 17 Schalk van der Merwe, 18 Francois Uys, 19 Lucas Floors, 20 Sarel Pretorius, 21 Sias Ebersohn, 22 Phillip Snyman.
Referee: Marius Jonker
Assistant referees: Joey Salmans, Cobus Wessels
Great try Cheetahs! Oh brother! Get well soon Goose! Lol, Cheetahs just don’t have the same zip without him.
This is not going well for the Cheetahs.
Oooops, meant Lions
88 @ Bullscot:
Hello Bully… this one is ebbing and flowing, one way then the other
Andries Coetzee…Heynecke take note, this oke has been playing well consistantly.
Lions 20 / 6 Cheetahs
Eish, Cheetahs fading badly at the moment
91 @ Cheetah4eva:
Agreed – just not the same umph!
….and we need some depth at full back
Mixed emotions here, I am very happy for the Lions and especially Ackers after their recent woes, but ‘on dhu udder hend Derrin’, I hate watching the State playing so kukkas.
Ebersohn back from the Dilly Bin
Lions just getting stronger, and it ends in an easy penalty chance
Penalty Lions, easy one fom the 22
Lions 23 / 6 Cheetahs
94 @ grootblousmile:
Howzit GBS thanks just popped in for a bit to see whats happening with this game, completely neutral on this result although seeing as we are in a league the best result would be a draw with no one getting bonus points for tries, hows that for wishful thinking
Lions in complete control now. TMO, but a knock on
No, Staat scrum…
Hell, the Staat has fallen off the bus here… completely
Cheetahs with a relieving penalty on the H/T whistle
Staat playing the wrong game plan, this kak skop en jaag, dosn’t suit our style of play. Keep the farking ball in hand, and build the phases. Force the Lions to defend. Man I miss Goosen, the team, has been a shambles since he went down, the aura, and self belief is moer toe. Lions are playing very well indeed.
Bankrupt Lions scoring 2 tries. But 17 point lead is not safe against a unpredictable Cheetahs side. Butch James controlled the game well but Cheetahs giving away possession too easy
Cheetahs just not finishing, over 70% possession but 17 points behind, Lions scrum looking good, can but see what happens second half
86 @ Cheetah4eva:
Hello Cheetah thats both you and Loosehead off my Christmas card list now sies manne skaam julle you need to show more respect to the mighty Bulls and Loosehead you even badder man saying the Cape weather is like summer in Scotland, no rain anywhere in the whole country at all today and its been dry for days now where I live, also parts of NW Scotland, mainland and islands, experienced very dry conditions this summer with some water restrictions needed
Come on Cheetahs we need you to stop Lions getting bonus points for tries!
Ons tjop af met die Superbru picks…self Carol wat nog nie eens ge-pick het nie gaan ons verby met ‘default’!
On RSG news now, Chapmans Peak Drive closed, Newlands probably also flooded.
First dop of the day.
115 @ Pietman:
Bru is ‘n gamble hierdie kompetisie jong!
Half the squatters camp got relocated on to the N2……
116 @ Loosehead:
Why?
Hahahaha
@ Cheetah4eva:
I have the Cheetahs by 17, exactly the diff right now, but the wrong team, eishhh!
Jou manne sal moet flippin vingertrek bru, of hier kom n outydse ‘#$@!%%pak’.
Total 53 users including 0 member, 53 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,235,226 Page Impressions