Springboks (6) 22 / (6) 17 England (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and England did battle in a Test at Mr Price Kings Park, Durban at 17:05 SA Time.

The match was broadcast LIVE on SuperSport 1, SHD  M-Net on TV in SA.

• Penalties – Morné Steyn (4)
  • Tries – Morné Steyn (1), Jean de Villiers (1)

England:

• Penalties – Owen Farrell (4)
  • Tries – Ben Foden (1)

Springboks: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jean de Villiers (captain), 12 Francois Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis (vice-captain), 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Keegan Daniel, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Patrick Lambie, 22 Wynand Olivier

England: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Manu Tuilagi, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 Ben Foden, 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Ben Morgan, 7 Chris Robshaw (captain), 6 Tom Johnson, 5 Geoff Parling, 4 Mouritz Botha, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Dylan Hartley, 1 Joe Marler
Replacements: 16 Lee Mears, 17 Paul Doran-Jones, 18 Tom Palmer, 19 Phil Dowson, 20 Lee Dickson, 21 Toby Flood, 22 Jonathan Joseph

470 Responses to Internationals: South Africa vs England – Live Game Article

1 2 3 16

Goooooooooooo the NEW BOKKE!

Come on Bokke! Moer hulle stukkend, klap die poms laat die snot spat en die bloed vloei. Send them home crying to their mommies like little babies.

Good afternoon all.

A flying visit while trying to get some work finished before the game.

I really fear for the Boks. A nasty feeling in the water about this game.

I’ve realised that SA sides just can’t adapt on the field.

If the opposition manage to read our game plan (which isn’t exactly rocket science), and can counter it effectively, we’re essentially onto a potential loss.

This problem isn’t just apparant at this level though, it’s throughout SA Rugby. It seems almost as if all creativity and the ability to think on the field is coached out of our top players.

Hope I’m wrong about this afternoon, but with rain forecast in Durban anything’s possible.

I feel a lot like I did when we played the Irich in Jake White’s first game in Bloem. Different, but the same if you get my drift.

Did you ever find out how much RAM we can stick into that notebook of mine?

Struggling a bit with some of the models now. Currently got 4 Gigs in. Probably need at least double that if possible.

Well put Scrummie, I think a lot of us fear the same thing. Our rugby just seems to be going backward….

4 @ Scrumdown:
    Model Number again?

6@ grootblousmile:
    Q1585N

5 @ The_Young_Turk:
    We have 3 teams in the top 7 of Super Rugby and not a SINGLE minute of Test Rugby has been played under Heyneke Meyer and his staff… how can you say now already that our rugby is going backwards.

Let’s see what this Test offers first.

Strong Bokke side,OK some newbies in the locks and on openside, but they’ve been THE FORM LOCKS in Super Rugby and Marcell Coetzee has had a blinder of a Super Rugby Season so far!

There might be some unhappiness about the choice of Zane Kirchner at fullback and not Lambie…. but Zane has been a cool customer in Super Rugby this season.

Our bench is exciting and strong… who else would you have chosen in place of Coenie, Adriaan Strauss, Flip van der Merwe? Keegan Daniel has been in good form, Ruan Pienaar’s played Europe alight, Lambie is versatile as a backline impact player…. and Wynand Olivier can play 12, 13 and either wing (although I would not have had him on the bench).

So before WE go negative and backward ourselves, let’s rather go positive and forward!

7 @ Scrumdown:
    2 Slots which can take a maximum of 4Gb per slot, so 8Gb Maximum Ram.

It takes DDR III Notebook Ram… easy as pie to obtain and not too pricy at all. We’re talking of about R 235.00 per 4Gb Module, so to put 8Gb in will cost you R 470.00.

8@ grootblousmile:
    I don’t say we’re going backwards, but in the las few years, even at SR level, our teams have struggled to adapt when things haven’t gone our way.

The two most glaring examples I can think of was the RWC loss to the Aussies, and the Baby Boks loss to the Irish on Monday.

There are also a plethora of examples in SR, but because they’re actually of a little less consequence because of the length of the competition, they don’t spring to mind as easily.

I guess a prime example could also be the Stromers loss to the ‘Saders last season in the KO stages, but may have been “vreesbevange” as well.

The problem has nothing to do with HM, and everything to do with coaching structures in general.

I believe HM is a VERY good coach, whether he’s great or not, the next 2 – 3 or maybe even 4 years will tell.

The question is, HAS HE GOT A PLAN B IF THE RAIN AND THE ENGLISH PREVENT HIS PLAN A FROM BEING EXECUTED?

That’s what I’m getting at.

9@ grootblousmile:
    Can I do it myself without launching some ICBM’s somewhere in the middle east, or should I just leave it to an expert in such matters like you?

Good afternoon Scrumdown, gbs, just listening to build up to the test on radio 5live here, just been an interview with Englands forwards coach Graham Rowntree sounds like a good rugby man.

Both Rowntree and now BBC commentator speaking highly of debut flanker Johnson, while Rowntree also praised prop Marler

BBC commentator Ian Robertson interviewing Chris Ashton, speaking about last time he played Boks, didn’t last long – getting knocked out, Ashton expects a tough challenge form Boks back three. “Bryan Habanna best winger in the world, am going to have my work cut out”

11 @ Scrumdown:
    Anyone can do it, takes a minute to click them in… you want me to get you 2 x 4Gb Modules on Monday, when I send BonzaiGBS to Midrand on my behalf?

You’re already running Windows 7 64-Bit as Operating System, so no changes needed.

Chris Ashton sounds quite funny when Robertson mentioned Habanna also being flamboyant and being someone who races Cheetahs and asked Ashton if he does this too Ashton poker faced says “I don’t race Cheetahs but have raced my cat” Another anecdote is that when Ashton was knocked out against the Boks last time he played us and the doctor asked Ashton when he came round to count backwards from 10 his response was something along the lines of he can’t even count forwards to 10 when he is ok anyway 🙂

12 @ Bullscot:
    Interesting Bully….

Werather forecast for Durban not too bad….

Will be somewhere around 18 or 19 Degrees C, 10% chance of Rain, and a bit of a wind…. probably a wind of about 10 – 15km/h

8@@ grootblousmile:
    It’s the mindset that I feel is so limited and backward. Your points are valid but so are Scrummies @10. We can’t judge HM yet, that’s quite correct but we can gather what he’s views and intentions are and so far they seem to be in accordance with the prevailing mindset dominant in SA rugby that we must play according to our so-called strengths with little variation on the crash and bash, kick and chase. It is not just HM but has been and is the dominant view in SA coaching circles for the last 10 years now. It comes off more often than not because we are blessed with such great rugby talent in this country but many of lament it because when we come up against really good teams that can match us physically, we seem totally lost. It is more a lament on what Bok rugby could be and the backline play that we traditionally used to play in the decades past. Lately there has only been this one overwhelming focus that has spread now also to our youth teams, that is so frustrating to observe. Yes, we may comfortably beat England, but since when has Bok fans been reduced to hoping and fearing England at home? Our benchmark has always in the past been the All Blacks and we are supposed to surpass or at least match them. In the modern era we are even battling to match Australia! And the mentality doesn’t seem to be accepting this. That is what I mean by going backward. doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result.

15@ grootblousmile:
    That would be great thanks.

I’ll arrange to collect them during the week sometime.

Hello Young Turk, sorry didn’t see you here as well, must be the eye infection. Respect the opposition, we may quite rightly measure ourselves against the world’s number one team, but they haven’t been the only ones we have needed to surpass or match, remember a long period where we just couldn’t buy a win against England. At least that trend has been reversed in more recent times.

19 @ The_Young_Turk:
    Look, we have to be practical…

Whilst we share the sentiment that Bokke & SA Rugby could be so much more, I also believe that it’s to be achieved in small steps, rather than changing the style of play radically from a certain cut-off date.

We have to evolve to a better product… and the results will follow.

Considering that the turn-around between Super Rugby and this Test is so short… we have to expect basic rugby… with a glimmer, a slight glimmer, of what’s to come…. but 6 Tests later, my expectations WILL be different…. and maybe your attitude will be different too.

20 @ Scrumdown:
    Remember that I’m leaving for Cape Town on Thursday morning for some R & R…

Whoop Whooop!

I’ve moved into No 1 spot on Rugby-Talk Winter Tours 2012 SuperBru pool for now!

Our rugby history is divided into two periods – up to around 1980 and then the period after re-admission. In the early period we had the edge over the All Blacks and then when we were re-admitted we found ourselves far behind the top teams. We have been playing a desperate catch-up ever since. It’s been over 20 years now in the modern era and till today we don’t seem to have caught up yet. Lets hope it will change under HM, and the Boks finally regain our rightful place at the top of world rugby. Rightful because we have the players as can be seen if you look all around the rugby world, we produce great players like from a factory in SA. And now we have expanded our population base too.
    Respecting your opponent is correct, that is a truism appropriate to life in general but that doesn’t mean the Boks should be doubtful about our ability to beat England. To expect us to beat England comfortably at home, that is not an insult to England, currently a struggling team under a new coach that did well to come 2nd in the 6 nations! The period where we lost to England coincided with a low point in our rugby shortly after readmission and when England were on a high where they ended up winning the World Cup!

23@ grootblousmile:
    FFS, you’re permanently on R&R!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I wish I had the amount of “free” time you have. I expect RT will go to pot while you’re in the Cape. Bring us lot’s of nice wine back. Not that sweet stuff you prefer. Some decent Chardonnay.

I’ll make sure I’m there well before you depart. The I really must think about a decent high powered desktop. Min 16Gb RAM.

Gents got to shoot.

Gonna go pick up a couple of hot chicks before the game.

Nando’s is on the way home, so shouldn’t be too difficult, unlike tomorrow when I’m visiting the links in GBS’s stomping ground of Varkpan.

Chat during the game.

16@ Bullscot:
    Just a typical League player then?

26 @ Scrumdown:
    Noooooooooo, kak… I go away faaar too little.

Will only be away for 3 work days and a weekend… so I might need you to run next week’s Bokke Game Thread

25@ The_Young_Turk:
    Yes I remember those early days after re-admission and thinking like an arrogant young man that who were the French rugby team anyway and we should easily walk over them, if memory serves me correct we got our arses handed to us by France, so that was a quick growing up lesson to me than and a stark reminder of how our time out of rugby had affected us. England were certainly on a role that time that culminated in them winning the World Cup which they did already 10 years after our readmission. We first one the ’95 World cup then I think it was from around ’98 that England started that period of dominance, combination of them being at their best for many a period and us sinking back having just done so well in that years Tri nations only to beaten by young Jonny Wilkinson and England on end of year tour. Things just seemed to go from bad to worse for quite some time, some questionable coach choices made, clearly remember being gutted not only at Boks losing at Murrayfield on 2002 but how much money I had paid to watch such a dire performance. Then eventually Jake White stepped in and things started building up again…

1 2 3 16

Total 185 users including 0 member, 185 guests, 0 bot online