Tuks (13) 29 / Maties (13) 21 (Final Score)
The University of Pretoria – Tuks and University of Stellenbosch – Maties did battle in the Varsity Cup Final of 2012 at Tuks Sports Grounds, Pretoria at 19:00 SA Time.
The match was broadcast LIVE on SuperSport 1, SHD & SCN on TV in SA.
Our proud champions for Varsity Cup 2012 are Tuks…. it’s Tuks or niks!
Tuks:
- Tries – Jerome Pretorius (1), Basil Short (1), Lohan Jacobs (1), Franco Mostert (1)
- Conversions – Weslet Dunlop (3)
Maties:
- Tries – André Smith (1), Hugo Kloppers (1), Hein van der Merwe (1)
- Conversions – Donald Stevens (1), André Kemp (1)
FNB UP-Tuks: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Deon Helberg, 13 Jerome Pretorius, 12 Dabeon Draghoender, 11 Hayden Groepes, 10 Wesley Dunlop, 9 Lohan Jacobs, 8 Jono Ross, 7 Jacques Verwey, 6 Okkie Kruger, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Mike Williams, 3 Grant Kemp, 2 Zane Botha (Captain), 1 Sabelo Nhlapo.
Replacements: 16 Kurt Haupt, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 Sthembiso Mlongo, 19 Wiaan Liebenberg, 20 Rudi van Rooyen, 21 Willie du Plessis, 22 Courtnall Skosan, 23 Basil Short.
FNB Maties: 15 André Smith, 14 Ryan Nell, 13 Wessel Coetzee, 12 Louis Jordaan, 11 Dean Hammond, 10 André Kemp, 9 Donald Stevens, 8 Grant Hattingh, 7 Helmut Lehmann (Captain), 6 Sam Mabombo, 5 Hugo Kloppers, 4 Reniel Hugo, 3 Os Hamman, 2 Rob Herring, 1 Alistair Vermaak.
Replacements: 16 Alfred Ries, 17 Brummer Badenhorst, 18 JP Swanepoel, 19 Nicholas de Jager, 20 Boela Abrahams, 21 Jarryd Buys, 22 Clearance Khumalo, 23 Hein van der Merwe.
Date: Monday 9 April
Venue: Tuks Rugby Stadium, Pretoria
Kick-off: 19:00 SA Time (Live on SuperSport 1)
Referee: Rasta Rashivenga
Assistant referees: Tiaan Jonker, Ben Crouse
TMO: Johann Meuwesen
176 @ Loosehead:
Mmmmm, did you have anything to do with the unfortunate closing of the Res?
Hehehehe
179@ Just For Kicks:
I am of the considered opinion that there was only ever one good thing to come out of Scotland, and it definetly wasn’t whisky.
It was the road to England!!!!!!!!!!!
Good English Naval Rum is my poison of choice, and I will gladly share my supply with any true fan of Henry James Morgan.
180@ Just For Kicks:
Did you see the umpire taking evasive action? Classic!
179@ Just For Kicks: you have never met me, but know me so well!
181@ grootblousmile: the legal records have been sealed.
182@ Scrumdown: I like a bit of the with lotsof ice and milk.
177@ Scrumdown: dik swak.
Steyn on fire, brilliant aggressive bowling sees the end of Levi, 183@ Scrumdown:Yup, and the way Steyn was so cool!
182 @ Scrumdown:
Iemand wat Rum kan drink kan lieg en steel ook…. hehehehe
I haven’t had a rum and coke for about 20 years – think it’s time to re-initiate myself!!!!
189@ grootblousmile:
But of course.
The pirate heritage and all that.
186@ Loosehead:
Double Captain, whisky tumbler, Coke Light, no ice.
Drink for effect, not for pleasure!!!
Time to light the fire, sirloin with garlick butter.
189@ grootblousmile:
Hulle kan ook motorfiets ry op net een wiel!
192 @ Loosehead:
Flok… I want some too!
191@ Scrumdown: I like the spice with milk.
193 @ Scrumdown:
Hehehehe
@ Loosehead:I’ve got a bottle of Swedish whiskey for for you to try – the first Swedish distillery. Be interesting to hear your thoughts – can’t stand the stuff myself, and my very Scottish wife won’t touch anything but the real thing!
OK, balle oppie walle… predictions for the Final
192@ Loosehead:
Wife declined the invitation to get the Blits out and went for Debonairs instead.
I swear she’s forgotten her vows.
These days when I ask her what she’s making for dinner, she invariably replies “Reservations”, and I’m the prat that ends up paying.
My Bru pick was Tuks by 3
198@ grootblousmile:
Tuks by at least 10.
199 @ Scrumdown:
Bwahahahaha
195@ Loosehead:That sounds like something my grandmother would drink!!!!
202@ grootblousmile:
It’s what happens when you spoil them!!
Barefoot, pregnant and in the kitchen is the best course of action.
Keep the wench in a state of submission.
Hello all YEAH TUKS!
Fark, how do they know my electricity usage is too high?
…. but they are perfectly right… and I have secretly considered sabotaging the tumble dryer and BonzaiHandbriekie’s monster TV… and a few other items….
Maties by 10, Goooo Boys
204 @ Scrumdown:
O flok, my Handbriek sal JOU hard moer vir daai uitlating!
205 @ Bullscot:
Hellooooooooo Bully!
199@ Scrumdown:Hahaha, thank god we live to far away from any restaurants!!!!
208@ grootblousmile:
Howzit going Gbs?
Total 199 users including 0 member, 199 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,261,786 Page Impressions