Reds (3) 13 / Stormers (17) 23 (Final Score)

The Reds and DHL Stormers did battle in Super Rugby at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane at 11:40 SA Time (19:40 Brisbane Time).

• Penalties – Ben Lucas (1), Mike Harris (1)
  • Tries – James Horwill (1)
  • Conversions – Mike Harris (1)

• Penalties – Peter Grant (3)
  • Tries – Gio Aplon (1), Peter Grant (1)
  • Conversions – Peter Grant (2)

Reds: 15 Luke Morahan, 14 Rod Davies, 13 Ben Tapuai, 12 Mike Harris, 11 Dom Shipperley, 10 Sam Lane, 9 Will Genia, 8 Radike Samo, 7 Beau Robinson, 6 Scott Higginbotham, 5 James Horwill (captain), 4 Rob Simmons, 3 James Slipper, 2 James Hanson, 1 Ben Daley.
Replacements: 16 Albert Anae, 17 Greg Holmes, 18 Van Humphries, 19 Jake Schatz, 20 Liam Gill, 21 Ben Lucas, 22 Nick Frisby.

Stormers: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Bryan Habana, 12 Juan de Jongh, 11 Gio Aplon, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Duane Vermeulen (captain), 7 Rynhardt Elstadt, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 De Kock Steenkamp, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Steven Kitshoff
Replacements: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 Frans Malherbe, 18 Nick Koster, 19 Nizaam Carr, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Burton Francis, 22 JP du Plessis.

Assistant referees: Angus Gardner (Australia), Rohan Hoffman (Australia)
TMO: Steve Lesczcynski (Australia)

244 Responses to Super Rugby: Reds vs DHL Stormers – Live Game Article

Blues are going to give the Reds a hiding next week – I know because I can read G Henry’s mind, and he is a god

Well, congrats Stormers… and thank you for the Bru margin!

If… and I say IF the Guppies can now just beat the Chiefs… and the Bulls manage to take a bonus point win against the Brumbies, the Bulls could lead all the Logs….. here’s hoping!

Volgende week ‘n 5 punt wen teen die Force wat uitmekaar val, dan het die Stormers ‘n baie goeie toer gehad, 14 punte. Bulle moet nog wen more en nog gaan toer. Stormers lĂŞ baie sterk op die log ongeag die gebrek aan bonuspunte.

210@ Just For Kicks:
    Howzit JFK bit late I know but congrats on Stormers win, although doesn’t sound like you’re too chuffed with they way they played. Bit late I know but multi tasking here today not much idle time like you oaks who been chatting rugby all morning Wink

Janee … die Stormers het gewen, maar hulle nie die opportunity gegryp nie. Dink steeds hulle was te los. Teen ‘n ‘scrambling’ span is dit risky (en morsig) as jy nie jou bal solid secure nie. Dit gee ook nie jou agterlyn bal op die voorvoet en in space nie … dis hoekom hulle nie score van set phases nie … my 2cents …

Stormers scrums and lineouts were abysmal today…. but apart from that they still impressed with their defence.

214@ Bullscot:Howzit bull-in-a-kilt, glad to see there are some blokes who can multi-task – theres hope for the male species yet!. Yup, a win is a win, but hell, the Stormers were ordinary today. Their defence was spot on, but apart from that, it was completely directionless, with poor scrums, poor line outs and poor handling in between!

216@ grootblousmile:I’m sticking my head out here, but no South African side would have lost to the Stormers today – and that doesn’t bode well for the boys next few weeks!!!!

218 @ Just For Kicks:
    Stormers still winning, apart from last week’s blimp on the radar… so just be happy.

So, here’s the current Super Rugby Log…

Stormers 33
    Chiefs 31
    Highlanders 30
    Bulls 29
    Hurricanes 25
    Brumbies 24
    Crusaders 23
    Then the rest….

Sharks would be doing themselves a massive favour if they can beat the Chiefs… and at the same time will be doing both the Stormers and Bulls a favour too

News just in, Bjorn Basson has extended his Bulls contract to October 2014

jfk @ 211
    lmao

@ grootblousmile:Basson is really maturing into a really useful wing, great to see him secure his future

Well done Stormers and to their supporters here.

Just so busy today never saw any of the rugby.

ok guys
    havent seen ANY of the game, but caught a comment here and there
    .. saw that the reds had to use samo at centre because of injuries, other comments stated how poorly the reds were playing etc etc etc
    now
    this is a competition that reward teams that get bonuspoints for tries scored … it seems that IF the stormers get into the play-offs that they will have to travel … really not the situation you want to be in!!
    btw
    everone who moaned about heyneke’s assistants earlier this week … would you have utilised toettie coetzee as one of your assistants (ie backline coach) if you were the springbok coach?

puma @ 225
    thanks pums

jfk @ 218
    was it THAT bad?? Sad

217@ Just For Kicks:
    Ag but there’s always been hope for our species 🙂 , at least you guys got the win and it was away in Australia, its a long competition and teams can’t always be functioning at their optimum best throughout most teams I think will have a rough patch, also sounds like you had some big players out as well so think for Stormers to win in spite of playing ‘badly’ surely is a good thing for you.

It is looking more and more to me that Stormers can win this tourney. They have so far had a fantastic tour and should finally get a 4 try bonus point next week. There after once at home they really don’t have tough games, except against Bulls at Loftus and Sharks at the Tank. Cheetahs could beat them too, but for now think their only two tough games left are against Bulls and Sharks.

Bulls are on the same points as Stormers, but they still have to travel. So for now it looks like Stormers are favourites to win this tourney if they can get a home final I think they will win it. Still a long, long way to go but it is looking that way to me for now.

If Sharks win tomorrow we are in the hunt too.

227@ Ashley:
    Never saw your Stormers game to day boeta, but see the results. They doing very well.

Sharks could do Stormers and Bulls a massive favour tomorrow if we win. BUT most of all we will do ourselves a damn big favour if we win. We then for sure are still in this thing.

220@ grootblousmile:
    Thanks for the log update and thats the Bulls in 4th with a game in hand over Stormers and Highlanders, don’t know about Crusaders, I find it difficult with this silly 4 points that all get for a ‘bye because when you look at the log quickly you don’t know which team has already got their “pasella points” and I thought the very reason of them introducing it was to make it easier to judge the actual position of each team, oh well one things for certaing it would have been better for the Highlanders to loose, pity the Blues couldn’t hold on.

222@ grootblousmile:
    Hello Mr double nelson there 🙂 Thats great news, along with Hougaard yesterday!

pums @ 230
    ag maybe its just the thought that after tomorrow’s bulls/brumbies game,
    they (the bulls) will be (lying) on top of us (AGAIN!!!!)
    maybe that’s whats freaking me out!! (jiggggggggg) Crazy

233@ Bullscot:

It would have been better for the Blues to have won this morning. Also never saw the game but see the score so it must have been close.

Sharks have not had their bye yet, so we have not got our bye points either. Think Bulls get their 2nd bye next week. Not sure think they do.

Daft these bye points really. If no teams picked up any points on a bye it would equal to the same.

235@ Ashley:

hahaha. The way it goes boet. But remember Bulls still have to travel. So far Stormers have picked up two wins and a losing bonus point. They have done well on their tour. Also should beat the Force as well.

226 @ Ashley:
    I don’t think Toetie Coetzee was a miracle man as Assistant Bok coach under Jake the Snake… the Bokke backline at the time was a bit bleak and stoid at times… and it took Eddie van der Jones to spark a few things.

However, Toetie’s side (your side) defends like deamons.. and a number of youngsters are coming through nicely.

To me it’s about who is best out there and I’m not sure Ricardo Loubsher is a better backline man than Toetie.

What I do think is that there are better backline coaches in the world than Toetie, but often those attack-minded coaches do not have a very good dedensive record. For example, look at the situation at the Cheetahs or Lions… great backline attack, often, but also often enough leaking tries like a sieve.

Meyer wanted Toetie, but Toetie chose not to make himself available… so what to do?

Okay I am off. Catch up later or tomorrow.

Cheers all.

Go Sharks… 🙂

pums @ 237
    yes boet. maybe i should wait for the bulls to also finish their tour to make a better assesment of where we (the stormers) are
    i’m just a bit frustrated with the lack of try scoring oppertunities we CREATE
    but
    (sigh) a few years back i wouldve taken a win anyday
    soooooo Who-s-the-man well done stormers
    just
    score flippen more tries next time!! Bully

Total 206 users including 0 member, 206 guests, 0 bot online