Maties (21) 23 / UJ (0) 0 (Final Score)
The Maties and UJ did battle in the Varsity Cup at Danie Craven Stadium, Stellenbosch at 17:30 SA Time.
Maties advance to the Final of the Varsity Cup, against a very ordinary effort by UJ.
Maties:
- Penalties – André Kemp (1)
- Tries – André Smith (1), Rob Herring (1), Grant Hattingh (1)
- Conversions – André Kemp (2)
UJ:
Maties: 15 André Smith, 14 Ryan Nell, 13 Wessel Coetzee, 12 Louis Jordaan, 11 Dean Hammond, 10 André Kemp, 9 Boela Abrahams, 8 Grant Hattingh, 7 Helmut Lehmann (capt), 6 Sam Mabombo, 5 Hugo Kloppers, 4 Reniel Hugo, 3 Os Hamman, 2 Rob Herring, 1 Brummer Badenhorst.
Replacements: 16 Alfred Ries, 17 Alistair Vermaak, 18 JP Swanepoel, 19 Nicholas de Jager, 20 Donald Stevens, 21 Jarryd Buys, 22 Clearance Khumalo, 23 Hein van der Merwe.
UJ: 15 Worsie Kotze, 14 JR Esterhuizen, 13 Justin St. Jerry, 12 Divan van Zyl, 11 Chrysander Botha, 10 Guy Cronjé, 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Justin Wheeler (capt), 7 Wendal Wehr, 6 Johan van Deventer, 5 Sebastian de Chaves, 4 Marnus van Huyssteen, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Francois du Toit, 1 Wessel du Rand.
Replacements: 16 Shaun Malton, 17 Jaco Vermeulen, 18 Shane Kirkwood, 19 RJ Liebenberg, 20 Jacques Pretorius, 21 Luan Steenkamp, 22 Aubrey McDonald, 23 Heinrich Terblanche.
Hellooooooooooo
Kick-off is only at 17:30
Howzit GBS, hope you had a good day off, before more rugby, took the wife out, wined and dined her, did the washing and dishes, and generally got back into her good books, so you can focus on rugby again!!!
Go Maties!
Good crowd in Stellenbosch
Going to be an interesting game, but Maties should win going away. They have the mental and home field advantage.
5@ TexasBul:…..and Os Hamman (Afrikaans for ‘human tank’!)
Are they going to kill the anthem again?
3 @ Just For Kicks:
Worked like a galley slave, like usual.
I’m persona non grata here at home… but I’ll focus on the rugby anyway!
….Yup, do they even practice?
Players out on the field and the Anthem is butchered beyond belief!
8@ grootblousmile:I got that impression on Saturday – as long as everyone knows what comes first.
Damn, that was kak… should be drawn and quartered.
I would sing better and I don’t even sing in the shower!
Game On!
I think they make them sing as a punishment, its the only thing I can think of to make them stuff it up so
Tamaties with a kickable penalty and of course they go for… touch
UJ steal the Maties lineout, and kick a good touchfinder
61 kg scrum difference
There is no way 130kg Os Hamman is going to make the whole match – he looks knackered already!
I would have thought in the semi’s and final the teams would take ANY points they can… no bonus points at stake here
Penalty advantage to Maties, against the UJ tighthead
Try Smith, the Maties fullback
That was class, brilliant try Maties
Maties 8 / 0 UJ
Maties all over the johnnies at the moment
My Bru pick was Maties by 5.
Think I’m way conservative.
Maties penalty, easy one, taken to touch again
Maties forwards maul try!
Try time again, from a driving maul this time
Try was by Rob Herring
I’ve got the Maties by 15, they better not let me down this week!
Maties 16 / 0 UJ
Total 230 users including 0 member, 230 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,238,765 Page Impressions