Springboks (3) 9 / Wallabies (8) 11 (Final Score)
The South African Springboks and the Australian Wallabies did battle in the Third Quarter Final in Wellington at 07:00 SA Time (18:00 NZ Time).
The match was broadcast LIVE on SuperSport 1 & 4, SHD & M-Net on TV in SA.
And so, the Springboks exit Rugby World Cup 2011….
- Penalties – Morné Steyn (2)
- Drop Goals – Morné Steyn (1)
Wallabies:
- Penalties – James O’Connor (2)
- Tries – James Horwill (1)
South Africa: 15 Pat Lambie, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Willem Alberts, 19 François Louw, 20 François Hougaard, 21 Butch James, 22 Gio Aplon.
Australia: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 James O’Connor, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Pat McCabe, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Radike Samo, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom, 5 James Horwill (captain), 4 Dan Vickerman, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Sekope Kepu.
Replacements: 16 Tatafu Polota Nau, 17 James Slipper, 18 Nathan Sharpe, 19 Ben McCalman, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Berrick Barnes, 22 Anthony Fainga’a.
Date: Sunday 9 October
Venue: Regional Stadium, Wellington
Kick-off: 07:00 SA Time (18:00 NZ Time)
Expected weather: Fine with light winds. High of 10°C, low of 6°C.
Referee: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Dave Pearson (England, Romain Poite (France)
TMO: Giulio De Santis (Italy)
One hundred and forty seven tackles to forty seven – how do you normally win a test match with those statistics.
What a stressful match, glad to see the end of it. I feel sick!!!
301 @ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
Congrats Oldie…. you march on, we feel dejected!
Man of the Match should go to Pocock
Bokke had this in their grasp… and let it slip
Nader as dammit aan vloek…
Ag man!
Button in the lead
Thanks GBS, but I feel hollow. We have won the game but my mates’ team is going home early.
Boks performance was enormous; how could they possibly lose that game? Quade Cooper – the worst match anyone has ever played in a Wallaby jersey.
We won the game because of David Pocock, what a champion.
Commiserations men. I know it is tough, your team did you proud.
How about Pat McCabe’s effort? Shoulder was gone but he kept on going.
Oh well… such is life
Well, that is life.
Go Wales!
Button in the lead, 2.8 sec over Vettel
307 @ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
Someone had to lose…
Thanks for the humility, friend!
Snor gracious in defeat
Would love to see Wales win now, would be great for rugby
Why didn’t we take the penalty in the first half.
Pocock indeed Man Of The Match
A couple of observations from my side.
1. The Boks inability to adapt on the field (again) was a major contributing factor to the loss.
2. There will be MANY articles on the web over the next few days lambasting the ref’ and his poor game. The truth is, the Boks couldn’t adapt or raise their game sufficiently to make him irrelevant.
3. The Boks weren’t good enough to win. If you have the amount of territory and possesion that they had, and fail to make the points, you’re not good enough. End of story.
4. The time has come for a major clean out in management. Div and his team has had 4 years to get things right, and with weeks to go before this tourney they were still scratching for solutions. As the old guard of players are moving on, unfortunately so must Messrs de Villiers, Gold and Muir and the rest.
5. South Africa has a wealth of talent coming through. They need to be blooded NOW and build for the future. This Aussie side was the YOUNGEST they have ever played in a knock-out game at a WC, the Bok side was one of the oldest. Must say something.
Guys, I’m bitterly dissapointed and I’m sure the whole country is, for me it doesn’t feel as bad as when the Proteas lost to the Aussies in the 1999 Cricket WC semi, in a way I think we all knew that this game could go either way.
Try to relax for the rest of the day gents. I can’t see anyone stopping the AB’s now, but let’s hope. Rather the Taffy Bastids than the Wallabies or the AB’s.
If’s, but’s maybe’s…. it’s all over… the fat lady has sung
Would like to see Wales win too, but don’t think they can. Only team that could stop NZ is France. Definitely don’t want Oz to win! I’d rather the Blacks won it than Oz.
@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
Well done, congrats!
Well a fond farewell to Victor, Bakkies, John Smit, Fourie du Preez, Danie Rossouw…
You’ve served South Africa well!
Guys we’re all gutted, especially as we were so extremely dominant. I wouldn’t have felt quite as bad (probably not true) if the Ozzies had outplayed us. We lost this game, that’s the reality.
See you all on the next thread
Yes, goodbye to the legends. Well done and thanks for the show. You guys were awesome!
321 @ The_Young_Turk:
Yip, we lost it, with massive possession and territorial stats favouring us.
WAT DRINK ONS?
We dominated the lineouts, the scrums, territory, possession… yet we lost just one or 2 too many on the ground.
325 @ Loosehead:
Drowning our sorrows… hehehe
I could do with some Edelvrot off the Wynboer’s vines….
We’ll have to settle for a Wimpy Cup, in stead of the World Cup!
I think the Wallabies will be stunned that they won this one for a day or 2….
They took their meagre chances with correct options, that’s what it boils down to.
Oh, and a fond farewell to Gurthro Steenkamp too
Go well Old Shrek!
You had a good game today!
Total 393 users including 0 member, 393 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,828,781 Page Impressions