Georgia winger Lekso Gugava was on Monday suspended for five weeks after being found guilty of making a ‘dangerous tip tackle’ in his team’s final World Cup pool game against Argentina.
Gugava was cited by Independent Citing Commissioner Achille Reali from broadcast footage of the match, won by the Pumas 25-7 in Palmerston North on Sunday.
The suspension takes effect immediately and Gugava is free to resume playing on November 8
Mmmmm, I did not see the tackle….
… but let me say this, Paul Williams was RED CARDED for a blatant punch on Heinrich Brussow and the Citing Commissioner let him off scott-free… and this oke gets 5 weeks?
Where’s the consistency and the justice?
Any word on the dirty, eye-gouging Italian?
2 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
Have’nt seen anything on that yet, but yes, that was super kak!
awful!!! I could not believe he got away with it!!! especially after it was broadcast on the bigscreen at the stadium as well as all over the world!!!!!
They just follow the latest directives. If the directives say “crack down on tip tackles”, that’s what they do. If the directives say “crack down on kissing your granny”, expect a 6 week suspension!
Am I following you Tripples? or are you following me? Or do we both just have too much spare time on our hands?
You can only imagine how mal I was going – already had a few pints by then! It was disgusting. Hope he gets a long ban from ALL rugby.
hahahaha I am sooooooooo not interested in working at the mo’ and enjoy talking sh1t much more
@ Ooh yes, I so agree……sunamabits!!!!!
#9 was for #7
@ Tripples:
So tru, the same here.
ok gotta go…..just been handed a rather laaaaarge friggin job, damn!!!!
@ Tripples:
Seemed to be the worst week of the WC as regards dirty play, citings etc?
11 @ The_Young_Turk:
Commisserations that your Itai’s fell out of RWC.
Did you have a lekker pomp… I mean kuier at “friends” yesterday?
13 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
Yip, was a deadly week!
Seems to have been the teams scrambling to make it into the next round, or, without anything left to play for.
16 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
At the end of the day, the TOP 8 IRB Ranked countries made it through, no surprises.
Just glad the early morning games are now out of the way… no more getting up at 02:00 or 04:00!
Missed a lot of sleep…. hahaha
Hahaha – yeah, agree – I did feel a bit bad drinking at that time of the morning.
Was moerse disappointed in the Itais hey. But at least the delightful company, food and location made up for it.
Total 156 users including 0 member, 156 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,347,728 Page Impressions