England (3) 16 / Scotland (9) 12 (Final Score)
England and Scotland did battle in Auckland at 09:30 SA Time (20:30 NZ Time).
Scotland gave England a hell of a go, just running out of puff in the end and Chris Ashton was England’s tool to punish the brave Scotts, with a late try, securing a narrow win.
England:
- Penalties – Johnny Wilkinson (2)
- Drop Goals – Johnny Wilkinson (1)
- Tries – Chris Ashton (1)
- Conversions – Toby Flood (1)
Scotland:
- Penalties – Chris Paterson (2), Dan Parks (1)
- Drop Goals – Dan Parks (1)
England: 15 Ben Foden, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Manu Tuilagi, 12 Mike Tindall, 11 Delon Armitage, 10 Jonny Wilkinson, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 James Haskell, 7 Lewis Moody (captain), 6 Tom Croft, 5 Courtney Lawes, 4 Louis Deacon, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Steve Thompson, 1 Matt Stevens.
Replacements: 16 Dylan Hartley, 17 Alex Corbisiero, 18 Tom Palmer, 19 Nick Easter, 20 Richard Wigglesworth, 21 Toby Flood, 22 Matt Banahan.
Scotland: 15 Chris Paterson, 14 Max Evans, 13 Joe Ansbro, 12 Sean Lamont, 11 Simon Danielli, 10 Ruaridh Jackson, 9 Mike Blair, 8 Richie Vernon, 7 John Barclay, 6 Ally Strokosch, 5 Alastair Kellock (captain), 4 Richie Gray, 3 Euan Murray, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Allan Jacobsen.
Replacements: 16 Scott Lawson, 17 Alasdair Dickinson, 18 Nathan Hines, 19 Ross Rennie, 20 Chris Cusiter, 21 Dan Parks, 22 Nick de Luca.
Date: Saturday 1 October
Venue: Eden Park, Auckland
Kick-off: 09:30 SA Time (20:30 NZ Time)
Expected weather: Fine spells with a few showers. Max 16 C°, Min 12 C°
Assistant referees: Nigel Owens (Wales), Jérôme Garces (France)
TMO: Tim Hayes (Wales)
Morning lads, Please can we have the second upset of the morning and have Scotland hammer the poms – if nothing else, it would guarantee me my leg-over – and that would be a turn up for the books!
Well let the game of the begin, this will be a WAR
Ciao JFK. I second that. Moer the Poms, Scotland!
At least Scotland have won something – the toss, a bonus point for that?
What kak news to wake up to this morning that Fransie is out of the WC
3@ The_Young_Turk:Howzit boet
Scotland the brave!
@ The_Young_Turk:it is very kak, but I see Carter maybe as well.
Good morning all hoping for a great game, gonna be interesting this side we watching with an English fan at our place GO SCOTLAND!
Been reading about the Samoan racist tweets, very sad they have lowered themselves to that
Hellooooooooooo
All Stocked up on Kameeltjies & dop…
Moerrrrr hulle Skotland!
I feel it in my water that the Scots have something up their kilts for the poms. And I don’t think the poms are gonna like it!
My Bru pick is more conservative though, it says England by 13
Must say that New Zealand did a great job with the anthems, eliminating clowns like Rass Dumisani, this choir sings them bloody well
Ag no Turk thats really bad news about Frans Steyn!
I think the ridiculous media pumping up of them has something to do with it. They actually believed the media hype that they could beat the Boks and so think they were robbed.
Free Kick Scotland, early jumping by England in the lineout.
They put the bomb up
Blue Bird if you watch i will support you , come out you are not alone. Moer hulle Engeland
The All Blacks’ problems have deepened, with stand-in skipper Dan Carter suffering a groin injury at the captain’s run training session in Wellington today.
Carter had just been confirmed as All Blacks captain for the Pool A match against Canada tomorrow after regular skipper Richie McCaw was forced out with his ongoing foot problems.
Then the All Blacks management confirmed that Carter was forced to leave the final training run at Rugby League Park, Newtown, today with “a groin complaint”.
Carter was being assessed by team medical staff and an update on his condition is expected to be released later this afternoon.
Kellogg Rice Crispies, steals a lineout from the Poms
Traitor!
So by the way NO ONE in our pool had Tonga to win. But dont worry the whole Superbru did not, well almost
Picks for France 101010 (98.9%)
Picks for Tonga 997 (0.98%)
Picks for draw 122 (0.12%)
Jackson down injured… looks like he’s done a hammie too
Dan Parker on, Jackson off
Scotland not standing back for the Bleekbene
Those Tonga picks must have been all the Tongan team and their family members
Hahaha i always like to support the underdog
A lot of emotion amongst the Scots
Scots are fired up and playing lekker.