Lions (19) 42 / Sharks (6) 16 (Final Score)
The MTN Golden Lions hosted The Sharks at Coca-Cola Park, Johannesburg at 17:30 SA Time.
The MTN Golden Lions are the Currie Cup champions for 2011.
The MTN Golden Lions was clearly more fired up, from the word go and already led by 19 / 6 at Halftime.
It was after halftime though that they really put foot on the pedal and eventually demolished The Sharks by 26 points, the final score being 42 / 16.
Well done and a hearty congratulations go out to the MTN Golden Lions and their supporters.
- Penalties – Elton Jantjies (5), Jaco Taute (1)
- Drop Goals – Elton Jantjies (1)
- Tries – Michael Killian (1), Patric Celliers (1), Jaco taute (1)
- Conversions – Elton Jantjies (3)
- Penalties – Frederic Michalak (3)
- Tries – Willem Alberts (1)
- Conversions – Frederic Michalak (1)
Lions: 15 Jaco Taute, 14 Deon van Rensburg, 13 Doppies la Grange, 12 Alwyn Hollenbach, 11 Michael Killian, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Michael Bondesio, 8 Joshua Strauss (captain), 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Derick Minnie, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Wikus van Heerden, 3 Patric Cilliers, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 CJ van der Linde.
Replacements: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 Jacobie Adriaanse/JC Janse van Rensburg, 18 Warren Whiteley, 19 Cobus Grobbelaar, 20 Butch James, 21 Dylan Des Fountain, 22 James Kamana.
Sharks: 15 Patrick Lambie, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Stefan Terblanché, 12 Marius Joubert, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Frederic Michalak, 9 Conrad Hoffmann, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Keegan Daniel (captain), 5 Ross Skeate, 4 Jean Deysel, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Eugene van Staden, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Ross Cronjé, 21 Adrian Jacobs, 22 Lwazi Mvovo.
Date: Saturday 29 October
Venue: Coca-Cola Park, Johannesburg
Kick-off: 17:30 SA Time (15:30 GMT)
Expected weather: Not the greatest – a chance of thunderstorms with a 60 percent chance of rain, a high of 22°C, dropping to 15°C.
Referee: Mark Lawrence
Assistant referees: Stefan Breytenbach, Marius Jonker
TMO: Johann Meuwesen
Good luck to my Sharks.
Also well done to Lions on making the final. May the best team win. Hoping like crazy it is my Sharks. 🙂
Also really hope that Mark Lawrence has a great game and is fair to both sides. Really hope we don’t see any useless reffing like we done during the world cup this year. Seen enough bad reffing in the wc this year to last me a lifetime. From Mark we expect the best and hope both teams are treated with the same consistency through out the game.
Really looking forward to seeing a full Ellis Park. That alone is just magnificent for South African rugby.
Goooooooooooo Rugbyyyyyyyyyy!
Ditto
vandag cheer ek die leeue flat out.time to fear the beard
The clash of the Hwaera twins almost upon us. Lets hope it’s a great match
Nou vir die grote. Sterkte vir albei spanne, mag die beste baardspan wen.
Sorry – Hawera
Fark, I cannot bring myself to support either of these sides…. so I’ll just support good rugby!
India 120 for 9 in their allotted 20, England should walk this one, but with there previous performances in India, anythings possible
I’ll support the cheerleaders. And i promise to support them with all my strength!
Predictions?
8@ grootblousmile:Probably a good thing for you, that old ticker of yours (much like Superbul’s), probably wouldn’t be able to take much more
It’s not my ticker that’s gonna be doing the supporting, bru
10 @ The_Young_Turk:
Hey, they’re children!
… or as my wife, Handbriekie, would say… “Stout Dogters”….
You old filthy peadophile!
Afternoon All….So it is the last big game.
Suppose I will not talk to you lot again for M O N T H S now!!
Especially as I have NOT been invited to the golf day!! 🙁
14@ grootblousmile:I stand by YT, and if that makes me a paedophile too, then so be it – my ticker can handle it!
I promise, i’ll check their ID’s first! The old ladies are just jealous. Take no notice of them.
15 @ Blue Bird:
Hello,
You were invited, as was everyone else… you indicated you could not attend !
We won’t be closing, we’ll host some cricket, golf, the Baa-baas game, some Sevens Rugby… if if we really must some Northern Hemisphere rugby… but hey, that’s a last resort only… hehehe
It’s the Beast vs the Beard
11@ grootblousmile:
Heart say’s Lions, but the head is speaking with a tinge of sea breeze.
Copped out on Superbru and took the draw.
20 @ Scrumdown:
My Bru pick is in… it says Sharks by 4
Just For Kicks wrote:
hahaha the other day England crashed to about 80 chasing that type of score
I really like old “Stem-innie-bos” Josh Strauss.
Calm, collected, speaks well… good leader… and leads by example.
Possible Bokke captain for the future??
Hoert julle RT-hiere, hoe lyk die biere, skuim hulle al?
Jip, gaan n moosa showdown wees 🙂
Hoe lyk die weer in Egoli?
Ek het twee oud mede bloggers K9 en ED nou so pas op Facebook sterkte toegewens. Hoop daar kom n dag dat hulle ons weer join, hulle was lekker vol draadwerk en great fun. Sou nou met jul Hussy facination lekker op hol gegaan het.
Nou Superbru picks gecheck
R-Talkers reken dit is Leeuloop dag
11 kies Leeus
7 kies Sharks
1 sit draat
Guys, Enjoy the game. Chat later.
Go LIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Oooo en van die 9 wat nie eens gebodder het om te pick nie is daar 5 WP manne, obvious, hulle is heeltemal uit, nerens besig in die laaste week, sny gras en werk in tuin.
24 @ Pietman:
Hello Sultan Pietman!
Hoe gaan dit, ou frind?
Total 196 users including 0 member, 196 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,451,585 Page Impressions