France 47 / Japan 21 (Final Score)
France and Japan did battle in Auckland at 08:00 SA Time (18:00 NZ Time).
Job done for France but not until after Japan gave them a good run for their money and a massive scare in the second half.
France:
- Penalties – Dimitri Yachvilli (3)
- Tries – Julien Pierre (1), Francois Trinh-Duc (1), Vincent Clerc (1), Lionel Nallett (1), Julien Bonnaire (1), Morgan Parra (1)
- Conversions – Dimitri Yachvilli (4)
Japan:
- Penalties – James Arlidge (3)
- Tries – James Arlidge (2)
- Conversions – James Arlidge (1)
France: 15 Cedric Heymans, 14 Vincent Clerc, 13 Aurelien Rougerie, 12 Fabrice Estebanez, 11 Maxime Médard, 10 Francois Trinh-Duc, 9 Dimitri Yachvili, 8 Raphael Lakafia, 7 Imanol Harinordoquy, 6 Thierry Dusautoir (captain), 5 Lionel Nallet, 4 Julien Pierre, 3 Nicolas Mas, 2 William Servat, 1 Fabien Barcella.
Replacements:16 Dimitri Szarzewski, 17 Jean-Baptiste Poux, 18 Julien Bonnaire, 19 Pascal Papé, 20 Morgan Parra, 21 David Skrela, 22 David Marty.
Japan: 15 Shaun Webb, 14 Kosuke Endo, 13 Koji Taira, 12 Ryan Nicholas, 11 Hirotoki Onozawa, 10 James Arlidge, 9 Fumiaki Tanaka, 8 Ryukoliniasi Holani, 7 Michael Leitch, 6 Takashi Kikutani (captain), 5 Toshizumi Kitagawa, 4 Luke Thompson, 3 Kensuke Hatakeyama, 2 Shota Horie, 1 Hisateru Hirashima.
Replacements: 16 Yusuke Aoki, 17 Nozomu Fujita, 18 Hitoshi Ono, 19 Itaru Taniguchi, 20 Atsushi Hiwasa, 21 Murray Williams, 22 Alisi Tupuailai.
Date: Saturday 10 September
Venue: North Harbour Stadium, North Shore (Auckland)
Kick-off: 08.00 SA Time (18.00 NZ Time)
Expected weather: Fine, evening cloud. Freshening northeasterlies. High of 17°C and a low of 11°C
Assistant referees: Alain Rolland (Ireland)), Stuart Terheege (England)
TMO: Giulio De Santis (Italy)
Hey….Japan doing alright!!!
That try has taken the pressure off France now. Bonus point too. They will feel relieved…hehe.
Doubt this French side will worry the ABs much.
Never underestimate France
89 @ Loosehead:
I try… but the couple of Cheetah supporters, Sharkies, Lions and WP okes know less than I do…. hahaha
Try Nallett.
35-21
Hey los ons GetroueBlouSmilingBul uit , wat hy van rugby vergeet het moet jy nog leer.
IRB Rules say that if you live in a country for 3 consequetive years and have not represented another country at senior 15 a side Rugby you qualify to play for your adopted country. NOTE, you can still qualify if you’ve played at age group 15’s or 7’s for your country of birth.
Hence Hendrie Fourie plays for England etc…..
Of course you can also qualify through Naturalisation and / or marraige and heritage.
@ Loosehead:89 – 😆
France just might get up the dander to go close in this world cup, because they cocked the last one up so badly.
These first few games have all been huge wake-up calls for the bigger sides, so far!
And to think, Aldridge missed two relatively easy kicks.
What happens if you have two passports and then go and live in the original country again can you go back to your original international team?
Al die sletsap wat hy drink, maak dat hy so baie vergeet.
For the sake of my Bru France must score again, Japs cant win anyway
So it was GBS that attracted the slet at Hooters then??
@ Scrumdown:97 – Knew that but thought the made it to 5 years. 3 years is just a shame really. They should make it 5 years living in a country to play for that country. Otherwise next we will see so many Saffas playing for Japan. Cause they probably will pay them to play there for their clubs and give them citizenship to play for Japan after 3 years. Think players earn more playing in Japan than anywhere else. So hope we don’t lose any saffa players to Japan.
Think they may be looking out for 2019 when they hold the world cup. I won’t be surprised to see many more from other contries playing for Japan by that time.
TRYYYYYYYYY FRANCE.
HUGE quedos to Japan. If the results continue thus it may show that Rugby Union is indeed developing.
As I said earlier, the French should score a couple of tries in the last 10.
OK and they do oblige thanks Frogs, my pick was by 20 , it will be close now
103 @ Loosehead:
Eishhhhhhhhhhh
Ek drink maar min…. hehehe
That’s it, France score again… it’s over for the brave blossoms!
The Japanese population is shrinking so fast that they need some more young people there to make babies….they reckon in 30 years time it will be down to 50 mil!!!
I LOVE TALKING TO MYSELF….FEEL INVISIBLE…..AND SMALL!!!
@ 4man:102 – No. Once a player plays for a country he can’t go and play for another again. The reason we Barritt can’t play for South Africa.
@ 4man:
Just think of his poor wife and children.
106@ Puma:
IRB rules dicitate that you don’t need citizenship to play for your adopted country.
The case with Beast was that SA law says a person cannot represent SA at national level in any sport unless you are a SA citizen.
Ah someones talking to me now….Barritt hasn’t played for England yet…..only Saxons?
Now the blog is moving… come fellas, let’s talk te hind leg of a donkey!
105 @ 4man:
Hello, jou Ou Slet!
ha ha ha just hypothetical….only John Allan came close to doing anything like that!
TRYYYYYYYYY PARRA.
Morning Cappie, het jy lekker geslaap?
Total 190 users including 0 member, 190 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,326,732 Page Impressions