England (3) 13 / Argentina (6) 9 (Final Score)
England did battle with Argentina in Dunedin at 10:30 SA Time (20:30 NZ Time).
Argentina made England sweat and work very hard for their win.
The worst aspect of this match was poor goal kicking by both sides.
England:
- Penalties – Johnny Wilkinson (2)
- Tries – Ben Youngs (1)
- Conversions – Johnny Wilkinson (1)
Argentina:
- Penalties – Filipe Contepomi (1), Martin Rodriguez (2)
Argentina: 15 Martin Rodriguez, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Gonzalo Tiesi, 12 Santiago Fernandez, 11 Gonzalo Camacho, 10 Felipe Contepomi (captain), 9 Nicolas Vergallo, 8 Juan Martín Fernandez Lobbe, 7 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 6 Julio Farias Cabello, 5 Patricio Albacete, 4 Manuel Carizza, 3 Juan Figallo, 2 Mario Ledesma, 1 Rodrigo Roncero.
Replacements: 16 Agustin Creevy, 17 Martin Scelzo, 18 Mariano Galarza, 19 Alejandro Campos, 20 Alfredo Lalanne, 21 Marcelo Bosch, 22 Juan Jose Imhoff.
England: 15 Ben Foden, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Manu Tuilagi, 12 Mike Tindall (captain), 11 Delon Armitage, 10 Jonny Wilkinson, 9 Richard Wigglesworth, 8 Nick Easter, 7 James Haskell, 6 Tom Croft, 5 Courtney Lawes, 4 Louis Deacon, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Steve Thompson, 1 Andrew Sheridan.
Replacements: 16 Dylan Hartley, 17 Matt Stevens, 18 Tom Palmer, 19 Tom Wood, 20 Ben Youngs, 21 Toby Flood, 22 Matt Banahan.
Date: Saturday, September 10
Kick-off: 20.30 (08.30 GMT)
Venue: Otago Stadium, Dunedin
Expected weather: There is a 30 percent chance of rain with a high of 15°C, dropping to 6°C
Referee: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Romain Poite (France), Simon McDowell (Ireland))
TMO: Matt Goddard (Australia)
84@ Loosehead:
Amazing you can have a neck op and 3 days later get discharged.
Technology advancements.
When I was a kid an appendix op meant 6 weeks off school!
@ 4man:
C5, gone.
Modern medicine is amazing.
The surgeon is about 38. The grizzled old matron told me never to go to an old surgeon, she says that they are just not up to speed with the new technology.
VAMOS PUMAS!
@ Loosehead:86 – Thought you said you had to load your bakkie with flowers, or rather take flowers to your bakkie. Might have got it wrong.
Anyhow all the best to your wife after her op.
I have a slipped disc in my C6. But had traction 3 times and it is fine now. Hurts only if I use my lap top for a long time. Keeping your head down puts pressure on the neck. The reason I hardly ever use my lap top.
Argies 9 / 3
Johnny misses a penalty again…
.. nad now the Argies gets another penalty on Halfway…. just inside actually
Quality of goal kicking in this game is SH1T to say the least!!!!!
Missed to the right
Lost count now how many penalties Arg have missed. They should have been up by so much more. They lose this they only have themselves to blame.
England get 2 penalties in rapid succession, the last one kickable for Johnny Be Good
Johnny come lately for poles again.
Wrong side for the southpaw.
Misses again.
Johnny boy left his kicking boots at the Hotel
How many times have you seen JW miss so many kicks at goal?
I like it when the blog is busy like this!
Youngs looking better at Scrummie than Wigglesworth for England.
Penalty Argies, far too deep in their own half
The Argies on the field and in the crowd absolutely fired up!
Damn, the Argies miss yet another penalty to posts
Ugly Maorie streaker!!!!
Eish!!!!!!!!!!! Another penalty missed. I feel so bad for them just want to run on there and take their kicks with my kak knees. Think even I would get em bloody over….hehehe.. 😆
110@ Scrumdown:
He was faster than the England centres!
Poms are going lose this one?
The Bleekbene absolutely rattled by the Argies…
Why don’t they just kick for touch? None of their kicks are going over.
Very possible if they don’t start to play some Rugger soon.
F All cohesion in the team.
Only 19 minutes left on the clock
2 Sudden subs on for England, in the front row
I always feel the English are too clinical and are rarely able to raise the passion levels when they need to.
Kiwi Hartely on for Thompson.
Total 259 users including 0 member, 259 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,329,895 Page Impressions