Wallabies (6) 6 / Ireland (6) 15 (Final Score)
The Australian Wallabies did battle against Ireland at Eden Park, Auckland at 10:30 SA Time (20:30 NZ Time).
In the first real upset in Rugby World Cup 2011, Ireland upset the apple cart and beat the Australian Wallabies.
No tries in the match, just hard, uncompromising rugby!
Wallabies:
- Penalties – James O’Connor (2)
Team Name:
- Penalties – Johnathan Sexton (2), Ronan O’Gara (2)
- Drop Goals – Jonathan Sexton (1)
Australia: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 James O’Connor, 13 Anthony Fainga’a, 12 Pat McCabe, 11 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Radike Samo, 7 Ben McCalman, 6 Rocky Elsom, 5 James Horwill (captain), 4 Dan Vickerman, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Sekope Kepu.
Replacements: 16 Saia Fainga’a, 17 James Slipper, 18 Rob Simmons, 19 Wycliff Palu, 20 Scott Higginbotham, 21 Luke Burgess, 22 Drew Mitchell.
Ireland: 15 Rob Kearney, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Brian O’Driscoll (captain), 12 Gordon D’Arcy, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Eoin Reddan, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Sean O’Brien, 6 Stephen Ferris, 5 Paul O’Connell, 4 Donncha O’Callaghan, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Rory Best, 1 Cian Healy.
Replacements: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Tom Court, 18 Donnacha Ryan, 19 Denis Leamy, 20 Conor Murray, 21 Ronan O’Gara, 22 Andrew Trimble.
Date: Saturday 17 September
Venue: Eden Park, Auckland
Kick-off: 10:30 SA Time (20:30 NZ Time)
Expected weather: Overcast with showers expected and a few heavy Westerly winds. Max 16° Min 11°.
Referee: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Dave Pearson (England), Stuart Terheege (England)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)
Penalty Ireland.
O’Gara steps up to take it.
Aussies are k@kking in the scrum!
Ireland penalty… middle of the field…
O’Gara going for posts, this time round
@ Scrumdown:Ha ha, never had that problem, always went in sober, and was carried out at the end of the evening
O Gara scores…
Hak hak die Aussies is in die kak.
Ireland 12 / 6
Very smart move to bring old o Gara on to try close out the game!
Wobblies need to score a try or 3 for my Superbru!
@ grootblousmile:drop me an email – justin@highlandsroadestate.co.za, we can sort something out
You dont like wine…
Mr Setslappes and condensed milk cocktail man!! 😉
Genia’s been a fumble-butt today
123@ Just For Kicks:
I’ve been somewhat inebreated there myself on more than a couple of occasions, but normally when I was staying there.
129 @ Just For Kicks:
A-Hoy… will do so!
Go on Irelaaaaand
Ireland playing bloody well.
Is this the Banana-skin game for the Aussies?
Aussies is properly rattled by Ireland. Would love to hear PdeV if they dont win. Lets see of what metal they are made.
Would be nice for the Irish to win for the sake of the competition, but it will really screw a lot of people’s Superbru.
Ireland is going to win this.
Would be great tos ee Ireland get a try here..
Penalty Ireland, right in front….
Penalty Irieland.
Aussies in the POOOOOOO?
Penalty to Ireland, in front of the posts.
Ireland 15 / 6
My superBru is SO bad our Captain Superbul must be dispairing with me…
OGara AGAIN…Yeee
Aussies have been suckered in to playing too tight by the Oirish.
They needed to play a high tempo open game.
8 minutes to go and 2 scores behind. Eish.
You guys know what this means…. it means the Bokke would play the Wallabies in the quarters…
Don’t know if that is good news!
Australia where the hell is your composure
6 minutes to go… 9 points deficit
i thought when i looked at your poor showing , let it be a lesson for you. Why so scarce here.
Total 534 users including 0 member, 534 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,827,372 Page Impressions