Reds (6) 18 / Crusaders (7) 13 (Final Score)
The Reds hosted the Crusaders in the Final of Super Rugby 2011 at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, Australia at 11:40 SA Time (19:40 Brisbane Time). This was the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1, SHD & M-Net on TV in SA.
In a truly super Super Rugby Final, the Reds emerge as worthy champions.
What a tournament we’ve had!!
Reds: 2 Penalties & 1 Conversion Quade Cooper, 1 Try Digby Ioane, 1 Try Will Genia
Crusaders: 1 Conversion & 2 Penalties & 1 Try Dan Carter
Reds: 15 Jono Lance, 14 Rod Davies, 13 Anthony Faingaa, 12 Ben Tapuai, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Radike Samo, 7 Beau Robinson, 6 Scott Higginbotham, 5 James Horwill (captain), 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Greg Holmes, 2 Saia Faingaa, 1 Ben Daley.
Replacements: 16 James Hanson, 17 Guy Shepherdson, 18 Adam Wallace-Harrison, 19 Jake Schatz, 20 Liam Gill, 21 Ian Prior, 22 Will Chambers.
Crusaders: 15 Tom Marshall, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (captain), 6 George Whitelock, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Replacements: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Luke Romano, 19 Matt Todd, 20 Kahn Fotuali’i, 21 Matt Berquist, 22 Ryan Crotty.
Date: Saturday, July 9
Venue: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Kick-off: 19.40 (09.40 GMT)
Expected weather: Clear skies. Low of 5°C, high of 20°C
Referee: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Stuart Dickinson (Australia), Vinny Munro (New Zealand)
Hello, on this bitterly cold Saturday…
brrrrrrrrrrrrr
Go Reds!
Difficult to choose who to support. I like the way both teams played this year, but my support will go to the underdogs today.
2 & 3@ Snoek:
Heyyyyyyyyyyy STINKVIS!
Long time, no see!
I don’t support either, but I am indeed a very interested observer. Should be good rugby either way… looking forward to the game.
1@ grootblousmile:
Well here I’m sitting in the office with the sun streaming through the window, and I must say it’s quite pleasant.
Now if I could watch the Rugby as well it would be close to perfect. Alas Multichoice speak with forked tongue in relation to some of their services, so F All Rugby for me this am.
Morning Boys….
So our last Super 15 Saturday Morning 🙁
Probably will have trouble finding the game so please keep the commentary up here so me and others outside the TV coverage area can follow it.
Here we are at the final after a looong and injury-ridden S15 season.
Two excellent sides playing tonight. While I will support the Aus side, the Reds, much respect to the premier NZ side, the Saders. Champions like McCaw, Carter, SBW, Thorn et al will be hard to beat.
I find the SANZAR decision to appoint Bryce Lawrence as referee tonight astounding. A big occasion like this needs a neutral referee. A RSA ref should be de rigeur tonight. I say this before kick off, so I don’t display any prejudice against the ref – I hope he has a great match.
Spare a thought for Queensland’s Beau Robinson: at the beginning of the season he didn’t have a club to play for. He jumped into his old and battered Holden Commodore and left Sydney and headed north to his old coach Ewen Mackenzie. Ewen said if you back yourself we might give you a game; no contract, just match payments. The rest is history, Beau excelled, although he apparently still drives that same old battered car.
Go well, Beau Robinson and the Reds!!!
http://myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=122058&part=sports
http://kostatz.webs.com
@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
I hope he shows some loyalty to the Reds when other franchise’s come calling.
Hey Scrumdown mate, I thought of you today when I braved the cold weather and went to my local rugby match, Terrigal Trojans v The Entrance Rams. Good to see the youngsters having a go. Terrigal won on the day 25 nil. Running rugby was the big winner, although forward play would have put a smile on Loosehead’s face.
Indeed, it will be interesting to see how Beau’s contract status goes in the future. I hope he stays with Ewen. He also is a strong chance for inclusion in the Wallabies 40 man train-on squad which is announced in the morning.
10@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
Good to hear you enjoyed the club game. I was hoping to get to see my old club this afternoon, but between work deadlines and a house full of Family visiting from Oudtshoorn and Carnarvon it seems doubtful.
Trying to see where I can watch the game online at the moment but between this steam powered pc and my IT ignorance I’m not having too much luck.
Guess I’ll have to try to find a live radio steam and watch the recording together with the Captain this evening.
Barra Bing Ting Ting!
Are you guys ready for the match?
11@ Scrumdown:
Loskoppie gave a stream at comment No #8
Much respect to you Scrummie. I’ll try and keep you up to date with the scoring if you like??
Big crowd, likely to be a 52,000+ sell out; lots of colour and excitement. My neice is at the game and tells me the atmosphere is electric.
Hello to the regular friends here… Oldie, Scrumdown, Loskoppie, Blue Bird
Saders running out!
Howzit oracle? Looking forward to a big one!!!!
VRY STAAAAAAAAA REDS!
Reds running out!
13@ grootblousmile:
Trying to download software to get on one of the links at the moment but the boiler needs more coal for the steam powered pc! Vasbyt Mindae!!!!!
Actually I think the Crusaders will win.
17@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
Yeah, looking forward… good to see Suncorp filled to the rafters!
Hey Loosie, howzit??
I am hoping Pappie has forgotten to do his bru pick!!
Hello GBS!
The BIG one is ON!
First scrum to the Reds……….lets see what happens.
25@ Loosehead:
Hello you old battered prop…
Reds seem all fired up
hello all , just in time hope it is a good game, go Reds
Total 202 users including 0 member, 202 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,298,521 Page Impressions