Crusaders (13) 36 / Sharks (5) 8 (Final Score)
The Crusaders hosted the Sharks at Travalgar Park, Nelson at 09:35 SA Time. This was the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1, SHD & M-Net on TV in SA.
This was the last of the two play-off matches to decide who will be in the semi-finals. No 3 on the Combined Log (Crusaders) at home against No 6 on the Combined Log (Sharks).
With a little bit of help from a poor performance by Bryce Lawrence as well as some poor Sharks handling, the Crusaders eased into the semi-finals.
The Crusaders now travel to Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa to meet the Stormers in the one semi-final whereas the Blues travel to Queensland, Australia to meet the Reds in the other semi-final.
Crusaders: 5 Penalties & 2 Conversions Dan Carter, 1 Conversion Matt Berquist, 1 Try Sonny Bill Williams, 1 Try Kieran Read, 1 Try Ben Franks
Sharks: 1 Penalty Patrick Lambie, 1 Try Willem Alberts
Crusaders: 15 Tom Marshall, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Kieran Read, (captain), 7 Matt Todd, 6 George Whitelock, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Replacements: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Luke Romano, 19 Jonathan Poff, 20 Kahn Fotuali’i, 21 Matt Berquist, 22 Ryan Crotty/Brent Ward.
Sharks: 15 Pat Lambie, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Stefan Terblanche, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Frederic Michalak, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Willem Alberts, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Gerhard Mostert, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 John Smit, 17 Eugene van Staden, 18 Ross Skeate, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Jacques Botes, 21 Adrian Jacobs, 22 Louis Ludik.
Date: Saturday, June 25
Venue: Trafalgar Park, Nelson
Kick-off: 19.35 (07.35 GMT)
Expected weather: Mainly fine, odd shower possible. Southerly breezes. High 12°C, low 2°C
Referee: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Keith Brown (New Zealand), Vinny Munro (New Zealand)
TMO: Garratt Williamson (New Zealand)
Go Sharks! Going to be a tough one to win, looks like a strong Crusaders team. Enjoy the rugby superBul, I owe I owe so its off to work I go, will maybe keep an eye on score through mobile.
Moer hulle, Shaaaarksssss! Skeur hulle stukkend!!!!
Good luck Sharks.
Hellooooooooooooo!
4 minutes late by me… sorry!
Saders 3 / 0
Sharks are absolutely error-ridden in these first minutes.
Another penalty Carter, missed.
Morning All
Actually where is everyone, still tangled in their duvets?
Tut Tut, this is the SHARKS, bro not a Bulls match. Late starting is not acceptable 😉
Tryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy Alberts!
WOO HOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!! Savage them Sharkies!!!!!!!!!
Lambie shanks the conversion attempt badly!
Sharks 5 / 3
OK, out with it… what was your Bru predictions?
I said Saders by 13
Sharks 5 – 3
Carter misses another penalty…. Mr perfect not so perfect today
Saders by 10…..
Who is this Pappie bloke btw? He is the only thing between me and the RT Star Prize for superBru.
I have a place in my cupboard for the can of condensed milk and the last of GBS homemade biltong!!
So Pappie come and blog with us, unless you are here under a different name!! 😆
Very hard game, the tackles are brutal
Sharks should have gotten a penalty there, after the take from the air… in stead the Saders get a penalty…
Come on ref!
Sharks forwards really coming to the party….
What a KAK penalty call. FFS, now i’ve heard it all. What a ridiculous ref call!!!
Justice as the Sharks steal a lineout after a Saders penalty
Good counter-rucking by the Sharks!
Come on Sharks, step up that final gear!
What a shit ref.
Sharks forwards are playing with the same intensity as against Bulls and they are rattling the Saders!
At last , i can watch Rugby. Inlaws coming for a month tomorrow so i had a BIG list of must do’s, did 6 of the 8 tasks pefore rugby , missed the first half hour and looking at the scores maybe not much. What is happening who is controlling this game?
Try Sonny Bill Williams
Saders score a deserved try after the Saders scrum demolish the Bok front row on their own put in. Disaster for the Boks!
Saders 10 / 5
Freegin hell, Sonny Bill milked a penalty there…. Carter goes for posts
Hollywood!
Saders 13 / 5
Total 107 users including 0 member, 107 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,370,075 Page Impressions